Batman Inc: Leviathan Strikes!

Stephanie Brown kicks butt as Batgirl!  Dick Grayson is Batman… Wait what??

Some neat things in no random order:

  • This confirms (despite Didio earlier claiming there have been only 4 Robins) that Stephanie Brown still has been Robin
  • Apparently it is cool to buy a charm and put it on a gun
  • Supposedly shooting a gun at Superman’s and GL’s crotch will be effective…?
  • Oracle is still in this, which I’m taking to mean Babs as Oracle still is canon

Okay, so this takes back about a month ago and even though we are in our fourth month of the “relaunch”, I think its safe to assume this one shot is taking place a little before the starting events of the relaunch.  So a little before Stephanie stops being Batgirl, a little before Dick tosses back on the Nightwing suit, and just before Tim Drake changes his Red Robin outfit apparently.  No reasoning is given to Stephanie’s departure as Batgirl, or Barbara’s return as Batgirl.  Considering this just confirmed Oracle is still part of cannon in this relaunch (or at least, that is how I’m seeing it), well it only makes Batgirl #4‘s news on her “cure” taking nearly a year even more confusing to me.

Besides all of this, Leviathan Strikes! pulled me back into wanting to read more of Batman Incorporated.  After around issue 4 I think it was, I just found the stories to be growing more lackluster and filled often with characters I did not find interesting.  This one really picks it up first starting with a story involving Stephanie Brown as Batgirl – a personal favorite of mine.  That is followed by Bruce teaming up with Dick (as Batman), Tim, and Damian entering what they thought was the core of Leviathan and ends with a few twists that have really hooked me back into the Batman Inc. storyline.

Morrison, you pulled me back in with this comic.  Still, I can’t help but feel that I was reading a pre-relaunch comic while going through this.  I don’t know if it was the direct return to the Batman Inc storyline that started before the relaunch, Steph still as Batgirl, Dick still as Batman, or just what the costumes look like that they were wearing.  Personally, I enjoyed the feeling that this gave me of coming off as a pre-relaunch comic though.

read/RANT

20 Responses to Batman Inc: Leviathan Strikes!

  1. Alastor says:

    Mmm, I think this comic happens in the Old DCU ‘verse. It can be matched to the new continuity by moving some elements and slashing others. But it serves as a “These are the books of Batman INC that we couldn’t publish because of… TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES…”

    I agree with your review. In the end, it felt like a trippy voyage of sorts. And Batman “I’M SO SCR$”#D” faces were a funny change from the gambit mode.

    I give it a 10. It has everything, from nostalgia to deaths, to an absurdly “senseful” reveal, to an screw of new continuity, to a normal Morrison read (A.K.A Snail Pace Sherlock Read). I’m staying tuned to the upcoming war. Mostly to see how they fix it in the new continuity. Or if they leave inc in the past.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      The main reason I’m counting it as part of the relaunch continuity is that Batman Inc. has been said in interviews and comics to still have happened. In fact as far as I know, its one of the few things that apparently everyone in DC agrees to having happened still. So between that and the “to be continued” at the end, I’m counting this as cannon. At least until I see good proof inside the comics that this isn’t (currently I do not trust what DC people state in interviews).

  2. Eric says:

    It says in the book that it takes place BEFORE The New 52.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      First, I must have missed that specifically stated within the book. Second, I was assuming that this “takes place BEFORE The New 52″ anyways as noted in the review, so do you have a point to this comment of yours?

  3. HellBlazerRaiser says:

    “Oracle is still in this, which I’m taking to mean Babs as Oracle still is cannon”

    Canon, not “cannon.”

  4. guglio08 says:

    Batman Incorporated still exists in the new 52. NoBody targets Bruce for Batman Inc (killing the Russian Batman in Issue #1), while Bruce offers Batwoman a spot on the team in Issue #1 of her series as well. Finally, Batwing is a series that spun out of Batman Inc. It is unquestionably part of the new continuity. The only thing that has changed is the timeline compression and Batman’s costume.

  5. ikeebear says:

    Sorry. I don’t think you can assume or surmise anything about New 52 continuity based on a comic that’s clearly labelled as occurring before the events that changed continuity.

    It’s another confusing move by DC, since there’s no way of knowing what they have retained and what they have ditched. For me, that’s annoying.

    I don’t key into Morrisson as much as much as others here and, while I enjoyed parts of it, overall I didn’t like Inc.

    I enjoyed the first chapter about Steph, but some of the later stuff bored me a bit.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      The latter got a bit confusing to me for a while. But I still overall enjoyed this trade/one shot a lot. In terms of Batman Inc, I was interested in it a lot at the start, but after Nightrunner and the Japan guy (name escaping me) I thought it then started to spiral worse and worse until I just kept going to complete the series.

      And yeah, I was thinking about that a bit after some discussion in a message board over this issue. Still, I’d like to cling (until proven otherwise – which could easily happen) to hopes that Leviathan Strikes means what I’m assuming up there. Despite how messed up DC and the relaunch has been recently, I find it hard to believe they’d “finish” and publish a pre-relaunch story this far into the relaunch, unless it was meant to be taken as still part of the timeline. More so when they end it with a ‘to be continued’ line.

      But then again, I would not be shocked at this moment if the continuation of Batman Inc or other comics proves some of what I’m assuming here wrong.

  6. Alastor says:

    Well, maybe they entered the new continuity by means of the “White Hole” (uuuiuiuiuiuiuiuiiuuuiuuuu!!).

    I think they will tweak some things. And I suppose Netz didn’t finished all the INC. members, or Batwing would be doomed by canon. As they say, if the body is not on page, it’s not certainly dead. (And even if is, it’s not permanent still…)

  7. lebeau says:

    I just finished reading the Batgirl segment. Good golly, I miss Steph as Batgirl. Even Gail Simone can’t sell me on Babs as Batgirl.

    Sadly, I don’t think this is canon. At least not entirely. It’s like a leftover of the old DCU. But I’m glad it surfaced!

    • xxadverbxx says:

      Yeah yeah. All just confusing and this “leftover of the old DCU” only makes the confusing timeline even more confusing. Really doesn’t help that it had to end with a promise to continue on next year…

      • ikeebear says:

        I think The Joker has taken over DC Comics … it’s nucking futs.

      • lebeau says:

        It really, really is. Joker = DiDio? I wouldn’t be surprised.

        I’ve been playing a lot of DCU Online since it went free to play (and worth every penny!). This confuses matters even more since the game seems to be set in the DCU post 52. I can’t keep my continuity straight any more.

        I’ve spent the last couple days catching up on comics. I plan to post something soon. But is it weird I’m really enjoying Suicide Squad? I won’t say it’s good. But it’s consistently entertaining. And I think each issue has been marginally better than the one before it.

      • ikeebear says:

        I haven’t played DCUO since it went free. Hahaha. i just haven’t had an opportunity and now I’m playing Arkham City (when there’s opportunity for that).

        I feel the same about Suicide Squad. It’s not amazing, nor deep, but it’s a fun, easy read every month. I’ve always liked Deadshot.

      • HellBlazerRaiser says:

        “All just confusing and this ‘leftover of the old DCU’ only makes the confusing timeline even more confusing.”

        I don’t get what’s confusing.

        The DCU’s timeline has been compressed and some things modified. As far as Batman and his Family of Characters are concerned, not much has changed. Even Babs as Batgirl-Oracle-Batgirl fits, including Cass and Steph each being Batgirl during Babs time as Oracle.

        All of Morrison’s work on Batman – 
        JLA: CLASSIFIED, 52 Week 30, BATMAN, BATMAN AND ROBIN, THE RETURN OF BRUCE WAYNE and BATMAN, INCORPORATED – fit quite seamlessly within the DCnU.

        A little imagination goes a long way.

      • Alastor says:

        I believe the confusion is mostly due to “I don’t know the facts (I want to know them) AND, I am VERY afraid that they will “ruin” a lot of things in the meantime they are disclosed (AND when they are disclosed), AND maybe maybe this is not permanent (so it’s a waste) AND maybe I like more my version, because X was better as X, and I can’t see how the could make that choice, AND we have little patience to see this universe develop AND this universe has some inconsistences because A) I believe I know the facts, B) I compare one continuity with the other or C) I believe one of this not to be trusted camps: DC or Old Diehard Fans, in extreme.

        Of course, there is people besides this. And this post is more of a joke than an attack. It’s not an attack in fact…

      • xxadverbxx says:

        It is also confusing when some DC upper-end people will go out and say that event X took place while another DC big wig is saying said event X never took place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

