4 DC reviews in 5 or less sentences each.

Sorry on the lack of full reviews, and lack of images even in this post.  I just want to get in a few reviews here, but don’t have the energy with the holiday hustle to do a full review for each comic.  So instead I’ll be doing short paragraph reviews for the following issue 4s: Batman, Birds of Prey, Green Lantern Corps, and Nightwing.

Batman:  Like usual, Snyder’s work is amazing.  Not only does this dwell further into the Court of Owls, but we get a glimpse of some of the things Bruce went through shortly after his parents’ murder.  Grayson also makes another cameo, expressing concern for both him and Comissioner Gordon to Bruce in how he has been dealing with this case.  Highly recommended read.

Birds of Prey:  First Duane and Jesus good job on creating Starling; she’s a great character.  The injuries they are taking like bandaged hands and bruised faces (which I feel often get ignored for things that are easily hidden under clothes) seems like a nice change of pace to me.  The story in this progresses nicely, though I’m wondering a little just how much force the Birds are using here.  With guns, swords, and lots of blood I’d almost guess lethal force is being used which seems odd.  Oh and Batgirl makes a cameo, though unless its for events in the next issue she felt a little tossed in for no good purpose here.

Green Lantern Corps:  After the first issue its been a little miss with me as a new reader and only knowing Guy and John.  Did not feel lost reading this one with it’s nice pacing  Tomasi sets and no overload on characters in the issue.  Martian Manhunter does make an appearance too, and seemingly Guy does not know who he is so apparently J’onn either had little activity with the JL, or did mind wipes afterwards.  Personally I’m not digging the Stormwatch thing, but J’onn’s appearance in this issue was really enjoyable.

Nightwing:  Another cameo by Babs and now she’s in Miami?  Her cameo here is far better than BoP, and that matter the interaction between them is far better and feels more true to the characters than from Batgirl #3.  Besides the great interaction between Dick and Babs, the development with Raya is also very good.  More importantly, I felt like I was actually reading the Dick Grayson I grew up enjoying again, and that I felt the last two issues were lacking.

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

2 thoughts on “4 DC reviews in 5 or less sentences each.

  1. These reviews are too wordy! Hahaha.

    I have a lot of issues still to read this week (a new baby in the house has a way of limiting opportunity), but I’ve read all of the above.

    Snyder’s run on Batman is very impressive in terms of its patience. Each issue isn’t a huge splash, but it just keeps building and building. I have HUGE hopes for where this title is going. (Expect an abridged version of this for my OSR hahaha).

    I have been very impressed with BoP. And, while I haven’t enjoyed the new direction for Poison Ivy that much (not that it’s bad), Starling is probably my favourite new character in the New 52. I love every scene she’s in, but I can’t really articulate why.

    As for GLC, I was a little thrown by some of the MM stuff too. I did like the reveal of more back story for the Keepers. I like them as villains. I do have to say, though, that it bugs me that Isamot wouldn’t just make construct arms and legs for himself (if he really felt the need to have them), but I was very glad to see him stop using his ring with his tongue.

    Nightwing isn’t really doing it for me. I’m a big fan of the character, but am not finding the circus mystery very compelling.

    • I know they are wordy, but I didn’t want to take your thunder away 😛 Terms of BoP, Starling is amazing. Maybe its for she seems so human?

      Nightwing admittedly wasn’t really hitting the spot for me until this issue. I mean, I enjoyed how the first one was handled to get him back into the Nightwing persona, but it wasn’t until this issue that I really felt like I was reading the Dick Grayson I’ve enjoyed before this relaunch. I also have to say it felt almost sad to me that I enjoyed the Batgirl portrayed in here better than what I’ve been seeing in Batgirl…

Leave a Reply

