review/RANT: Batgirl #4

Fell a bit off with semester’s end in reading comics (I have a small stack from the last 3 weeks now I haven’t gotten to), and to be honest, I wasn’t planning on reviewing any of them until I got a little into this issue.

So the start I thought seemed like an interesting point.  Then it goes a little into Bab’s “cure” which apparently started precisely a year ago.  This threw me off completely.  Really, it did.  Three years back and she was put into a chair.  Issues 1-3 sort of made it sound like it was only recently that she got the use of her legs back.  This issue has it with one year ago she was sent to Africa to be cured?  I suppose that could still have given her two years as Oracle, maybe longer if she still did work while in Africa.  Still, that would be a year of stuff with her not around Gotham, and even more stories that she would suddenly fall out of.  At least a lot of previous stories since Dick became Batman would need to be changed considering Barbara would not have been around to be in them.  Personally, I’ve spent some time on this now trying to figure out how this works and I’m not coming up with much.  I wanted more info on how she got out of the chair, and I got some more.  All it did was confuse me more though, and wonder even more how DC expects all these changes fit in when a good amount of past history is still suppose to be the same.

On a bright note, Mirror gets finished off in this issue, and we see Batgirl pass a little holiday cheer.  Both of those were pretty nicely done, and I don’t have much to complain on there.  We meet a bit more of the roommate, get a little more of her background.  No matter what though, I just could not get pull myself out of the confusion that “cure” in Africa bit happening a year ago gave me.  If someone can better think of how this all works, please comment and let me know.

more on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

2 thoughts on “review/RANT: Batgirl #4

  1. The explanation and time frame of her cure threw me off guard as well. Like you, I was assuming her rehabilitation had occurred just before issue number one, and we were reading the immediate aftermath of her sudden ‘cure.’ The explanation seemed rushed and placed oddly; I would have rather preferred a Lazarus Pit cure or something more mystical, with a solid build up, than a quick cut away with a mundane (but confusing) response. Good review!

    • Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. I think I could have actually really enjoyed this issue had it not been that one part, but it left that sour taste with me the rest of the issue. A few months to get better may have been understandable (or a more ‘miracle cure’ like a laz pit), but that entire year really did throw me off.

Leave a Reply

