DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 14

By the time you read this, there’s a good chance I’ll be a dad for the second time … but I still found some time to read some DC comics and write some one sentence reviews.

Each comic is scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain.

I have also reviewed the mini-series issues but they aren’t included in the leaderboard.

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

 

Resurrection Man #4

The mysterious journey of Mitch Shelley kicks into overdrive this issue, with Darryl getting his Transhuman on, a big confrontation with the Body Doubles, some startling revelations and the return of Suriel (the angel from #1) – 4

 

Batman and Robin #4

This title continues to be an outstanding addition to the Bat-stable … arguably the best of the bunch, as Batman and the shady Nobody face-off in a metaphorical tug-a-war for young Damien’s loyalty – 4

 

The Ray #1 (of 4)

Many moons ago I read the ongoing series featuring the second Ray, so part of me was resistant to an all-new hero with the same name … but this was an excellent origin story with a lot of new, interesting ideas and a nice helping of humour – 4

 

Batwoman #4

Williams’ artwork is always a pleasure to look at and the developments in this issue will have some serious ramifications for Kate Kane (and her young cousin, Flamebird) going forward – 4

 

The Shade #3 (of 12)

Being Australian, I was sceptical, nay fearful, with the way this issue was heading in the beginning (it’s amazing how much Crocodile Dundee and Steve Irwin have done to skew the rest of the world’s perception of our country), but – despite the occasional cringe – Robinson spins a unique and enthralling tale – 4

 

Green Lantern #4

If Johns is trying to redeem Sinestro in the eyes of the readers, he is doing a surprisingly good job – the Korugaran has been more likable than Hal in this story arc … here’s hoping the writer pulls the rug out from under us, though, because Sinestro’s too good a villain – 3.5

 

Batgirl #4

I haven’t particularly enjoyed the Mirror storyline, but its conclusion was pretty good as a stand-alone issue, with a strong scene between Babs and her new roommate being a highlight – 3.5

 

Demon Knights #4

A fairly entertaining – although sometimes confusing – issue focusing on the Shining Knight’s back story, #4 unfortunately does very little to progress the overall story – 3.5

 

Suicide Squad #4

It’s not Secret Six, but I’m still enjoying this title and I liked the doublecrossy villainy served up in this issue – 3

 

Grifter #4

Good action makes this the best issue for this title so far, and guest star Green Arrow is more cool and interesting here than in his own title  – 3

 

Frankenstein – Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #4

This was a slightly disappointing conclusion to the Monster Planet story arc, albeit with some good tension in places, and the prospect of an O.M.A.C. crossover next issue isn’t overly appealing – 3

 

Deathstroke #4

The strength of this title so far has been its fairly relentless action, but this issue is too unevenly paced to keep up the break-neck momentum, as Slade finds out something interesting about his son, Ravager, and takes on a Blackhawk – 2.5

 

My Greatest Adventure #3 (of 6)

This would have been a fairly entertaining issue for this anthology series if the third instalment, written and drawn by Maguire, wasn’t so wordy and boring … I was skim reading before the end  – 2.5

 

Superboy #4

I still contend that Lobdell’s New 52 books feel more like Image comics than DC ones (and the obvious Gen 13 links don’t help), but this was an okay issue, in which Superboy ponders on the meaning of freedom and power, but it didn’t really rock my world  – 2.5

 

Legion Lost #4

Failing to carry on the momentum from a much-improved previous issue, #4 regressed to the kind of story that I assume would only really appeal to diehard Legion fans – 2

 

Mr Terrific #4

This issue was extremely wordy – to the point I started skim reading – and the whole inter-dimensional prison break story wasn’t one I was particularly interested in – 1.5

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and those from earlier this month here:

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

 

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

 

LEADER BOARD

1.  Swamp Thing  4.38  (4.5)  4

2.  Animal Man  4.13  (3.5)  4

=3.  Aquaman  (4)  3

=3.  Batman and Robin  4  (4)  4

=5.  Batwoman  3.88  (4)  4

=5.  Resurrection Man  3.88  (4)  4

=6.  Justice League Dark  3.83  (3)  3

=8.  I, Vampire  3.67  (4)  3

=8.  Justice League   3.67  (4)  3

=10.  Batman  3.67  (3.5)  3

=10.  Birds of Prey  3.67  (3.5)  3

=10.  Wonder Woman  3.67  (3.5)  3

13.  Green Lantern Corps  3.67  (3)  3

14.  Batwing  3.62  (4)  4

=15.  Blue Beetle  3.5  (3.5)  3

=15.  Demon Knights  3.5  (3.5)  4

=15.  Green Lantern  3.5  (3.5)  4

=15.  Supergirl  3.5  (3.5)  3

19.  Detective Comics  3.5  (3)  4

20.  Stormwatch  3.38  (4)  4

21.  Blackhawks  3.33  (3.5)  3

22.  Batgirl  3.25  (3.5)  4

23.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.25  (3)  4

=24.  Suicide Squad  3.17  (3.5)  3

=24.  Teen Titans  3.17  (3.5)  3

26.  Nightwing  3.17  (2.5)  3

27.  Action Comics  3.13  (3)  4

=28.  Batman – The Dark Knight  3  (4)  3

=28.  Catwoman  3  (4)  3

30.  Captain Atom  3  (3.5)  3

=31.  Deathstroke  3  (3)  4

=31.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  (3)  3

=31.  Justice League International  3  (3)  4

=34.  The Flash  (2.5) 3

=34.  Superboy  3  (2.5)  4

36.  Static Shock  3  (2)  4

37.  Red Lanterns  2.88  (3)  4

38.  Men of War  2.75  (3.5)  4

39.  O.M.A.C.  2.75  (3)  4

40.  Mister Terrific  2.75  (1.5)  4

41.  Voodoo  2.67  (3)  3

42.  DC Universe Presents  2.67  (2)  3

43.  The Fury of Firestorm  2.5  (3.5)  3

=44.  All Star Western  2.5  (2)  3

=44.  Superman  2.5  (2)  3

46.  Legion Lost  2.38  (2)  4

47.  Grifter   2.25  (3)  4

48.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.17  (2)  3

49.  Green Arrow  2.13  (2.5)  4

50.  Hawk and Dove  2 (2)  4

51.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.67  (1.5)  3

52.  Savage Hawkman  1.67  (1)  3

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

9 thoughts on “DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 14

  1. Legion Lost I haven’t gotten to yet, and your review makes me worry about it 😦

    Batgirl I’d have rated lower, as you’d probably guess from my review of it. There were quite a few good points, but the information given in that talk between her and the roomie just threw me off, and I could not stop thinking how it all works while reading the rest of it.

    Superboy I rather enjoyed, and thought it was better than last month’s issue.

    Deathstroke I really enjoyed. Even if it jumped around a bit, I thought it did a good job at that. More so, the reveal of what was in that suitcase really grabbed my interests. The action was entertaining and all, but now that I know why Slade is going through all this, well it gives it meaning and makes it interesting. Really, because of this issue I’m going to keep going with this series for a while.

    • I know where you’re coming from with Batgirl, but the parts that irritated you kind of washed off me. I noted it as I was reading it, though.

      I didn’t dislike Deathstroke … I just didn’t like it as much. Agreed about the reveal, but I did think that you’d have to have a decent amount of familiarity with Slade to fully appreciate it.

  2. I’m surprised you don’t like the Frankenstein comics better. It’s one of my top 10’s from the relaunch. It’s such an eclectic mix of horror,sci-fi and fantasy there’s really nothing else like it that jumps to mind. The art is really compelling in it’s own weird way, the shot of that machine that came out of the “toybox” running into the ogre titans knees was particularly nasty. Looking forward to seeing how they one-up this first four issues arc in terms of an antagonist after they literally just defeated an entire planet consisting of thousands of monsters and three mountain sized baddies.

    I’m going to go ahead and add Batman and Robin to my subscription list after reading some of your reviews too, feel like I might be missing out on one of the best of the new 52.

    • I WANT to really like Frankenstein, but it just isn’t hitting the mark for me.

      I thought Lemire’s take in the Flashpoint Frankenstein mini was pretty good. I liked the characterisation in it more. I’m a Lemire fan in general (Animal Man led me to check out Sweet Tooth and I was very impressed).

      I’m not sure what it needs to do to win me over, but with an average score of 3.25 it’s far from bad in my eyes … maybe my expectations were/are too high for it.

  3. Pingback: Picks of the Week – January 11, 2012 « My Two Cents

  4. Give Superboy # 4 a second read. I love Lobdell since he started to write Generation X (I loved it!), and, even if he didn’t keep the quality standard he had at those times, he’s still a writer deserving more than 2,5.

    • Generation X was one of the first comics I bought (I started with comics relatively late … I was 18). I liked a lot of Lobdell’s X-books. I just didn’t love this issue of Superboy. It’s just a matter of taste. A lot of people around here are loving Superboy.

      • 18 as late? phhhhhhhhh!

        But yeah, I may be the biggest fan of Superboy in the read/RANT group. Lobdell misses some points, or certain areas feel weak, but I’ve generally found it consistent and one of the better 52 titles.

      • Yeah, I never really grabbed trades even until 22 or so, and single issues not until about 2 years back myself.

        In terms of Superboy, as stated I like it enough to keep up with it, but I can understand it not being for everyone. Issue 6 against Supergirl I’d at least say would be the biggest issue with flaws so far. That confrontation really did not make sense, I thought.

        Also, what be this? Have I started a trend in at least mostly giving up DC and moving over to Marvel? Or should I give that trend to Cal as he did a few reviews on some Marvel #1s?

Leave a Reply

