DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 12

Okay, so I’m majorly late with Part 12, but since there aren’t any ongoing New 52 comics this week I thought I’d just roll last week’s and this week’s reviews into a single article.  So, without further ado, here are some one sentence reviews.

Each comic is scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain.

I have also reviewed the mini-series issues but they aren’t included in the leaderboard.

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

Aquaman #3

This is going to out me – for the second week in a row, I’m rating a Johns written comic as the best of the week, so I guess I’m a fan … I’m digging the continuation of the Trench plot and especially enjoyed seeing Mera kick some ass – 4

I, Vampire #3

The introduction of a new narrator – essentially a human sidekick for the father-of-all-vampires-who-kills-vampires hero, Andrew – gave this issue a fresh perspective and helped address some of the problems I’ve had knowing who was saying (or narrating) and doing what, making this a very enjoyable issue – 4

 

The Shade #2 (of 12)

Following on from a thoroughly enjoyable #1, this issue is equally entertaining and is a bit different to your usual comic book fare, as you follow the dapper anti-hero on his quest to find out who behind his attempted assassination last issue – 4

Batman – The Dark Knight #3

In the first two months of the New 52, I thought TDK was far and away the weakest of the Bat books, but this issue was an all-round improvement, with decent action, pretty artwork, an increasingly interesting plot and a fun guest-star appearance – 4

 

Blackhawks #3

While far from my favourite book in the New 52, Blackhawks has been surprisingly entertaining over its first three issues and #3 keeps the ball-rolling nicely … I can’t think of anything bad to say about this issue – 3.5

 

Teen Titans #3

The stuff I really enjoyed in this issue – the Kid Flash double-page spread (actually all of the Kid Flash stuff), the character design for Detritus, and the fact Bunker’s “flamboyance” wasn’t as annoying as I thought it would be – outweighed the stuff that bugged me – Bunker’s awful character design, the clichéd fight when Red Robin and Bunker first meet, and Wonder Girl in general – so I have to say this was one of the more enjoyable issues of the week – 3.5

The Fury of Firestorm #3

This issue introduces a new adversary for the Firestorms (man, that’s weird to write) in the form of the obviously crazy nuclear hulk, Helix, and while that drags up one of my least favourite aspects of the new direction for FS – namely Fury – I found this the most readable and entertaining issue so far … I know, I’m a paradox wrapped in a contradiction – 3.5

Justice League Dark #3

It didn’t feel like much really happened in this issue, but that might have been a bit deceptive since we see the heroes start to come together (both literally and tantrically in the case of Constantine and Zantanna), Deadman do some acrobatics, and Shade set about recruiting someone into this fledgling team whom he thinks is wholly unacceptable for membership – 3

Green Lantern – New Guardians #3

Last month, I was pretty pissed off with this title because I had high hopes for it after #1 … this issue is better than #2, even if it’s not outstanding, and features some cool ring-slingin’ action and more Guardian douchebaggery, which I expect will feed into the wider GL continuity (and inevitably the next GL crossover) – 3

Voodoo #3

It’s pretty straight-forward … the most notable thing in #3 is the appearance of Kyle Rayner (although it annoys me that what we see here completely contradicts what DC is showing us in all the GL-related titles), but “simple” is often synonymous with “effective” and this is a better than average issue – 3

The Flash #3
I’m starting to feel like The Flash is on that Cosmic Treadmill thingy … stuff is happening but it’s not really going anywhere, and – while there are some cool ideas in this issue – I now think the title needs a stronger writer (or at least co-writer) to draw these ideas together and push the plot forward – 2.5

 

Diablo #1 (of 5)

Having played Diablo and Diablo II (albeit almost a decade ago), I didn’t have too much trouble following this okay-but-nothing-special issue, which introduces and provides some back story for Jacob, whom I assume will be the protagonist of the upcoming Diablo III game  – 2.5

 

Superman #3
Yeesh, the start is just a wordier recap of Action Comics #1 (and an arguable spoiler of Action Comics #4) … as for the rest, it’s not exactly subtle in making its point over and over and over again – I get it, Superman is a blessing and a curse for Metropolis because his presence draws threats to the city – but I did enjoy Aussie artist Nicola Scott’s pencils – 2

 

All-Star Western #3

This felt like it had a lot of filler in it, as the story kind of stalls after resolving the cliffhanger ending of the previous issue, and the back-up El Diablo story didn’t really interest me at all – 2

Legion – Secret Origin #2 (of 6)

For Legion fans only … and I’m not sure they’d particularly like it either – 1.5

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #1 (of 6)

Having not read the original mini-series (I might check out the first issue to see if it grabs me), I had a hard time making heads or tails of this issue and didn’t find any of it particularly entertaining – 1.5

 

The Savage Hawkman #3

Unfortunately this issue was boring rubbish, just as the previous issues were boring rubbish, and reading it made me wish I was reading a better comic, like Hawk and Dove (which isn’t to say H&D is good, but rather emphasise how bad Hawkman is) – 1

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and previous weeks from this month here:

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

LEADER BOARD

1.  Swamp Thing  4.33  (4.5)  3

2.  Animal Man  4.33  (4)  3

3.  Batman and Robin  4  (4.5)  3

4.  Aquaman  (4)  3

5.  Resurrection Man  3.83  (4)  3

=6.  Batwoman  3.83  (3)  3

=6.  Justice League Dark  3.83  (3)  3

=8.  Detective Comics  3.67  (4)  3

=8.  Justice League   3.67  (4)  3

=8.  I, Vampire  3.67  (4)  3

=11.  Batman  3.67  (3.5)  3

=11.  Birds of Prey  3.67  (3.5)  3

=11.  Wonder Woman  3.67  (3.5)  3

14.  Green Lantern Corps  3.67  (3)  3

=15.  Batwing  3.5  (3.5)  3

=15.  Blue Beetle  3.5  (3.5)  3

=15.  Supergirl  3.5  (3.5)  3

=18.  Demon Knights  3.5  (3)  3

=18.  Green Lantern  3.5  (3)  3

=20.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.33  (3.5)  3

=20.  Blackhawks  3.33  (3.5)  3

22.  Static Shock  3.33  (3)  3

=23.  Mister Terrific  3.17  (4)  3

=23.  Stormwatch  3.17  (4)  3

=25.  Suicide Squad  3.17  (3.5)  3

=25.  Teen Titans  3.17  (3.5)  3

27.  Batgirl  3.17  (3)  3

=28.  Action Comics  3.17  (2.5)  3

=28.  Nightwing  3.17  (2.5)  3

=30.  Catwoman  3  (4)  3

=30.  Batman – The Dark Knight  3  (4)  3

=32.  Captain Atom  3  (3.5)  3

=32.  Deathstroke  3  (3.5)  3

=32.  Justice League International  3  (3.5)  3

35.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  (3)  3

36.  The Flash  (2.5) 3

37.  Red Lanterns  2.83  (3.5)  3

38.  Superboy  2.83  (3)  3

39.  Voodoo  2.67  (3)  3

40.  O.M.A.C.  2.67  (2.5)  3

41.  DC Universe Presents  2.67  (2)  3

42.  The Fury of Firestorm  2.5  (3.5)  3

43.  Legion Lost  2.5  (3)  3

=44.  All Star Western  2.5  (2)  3

=44.  Superman  2.5  (2)  3

46.  Men of War  2.5  (1.5)  3

47.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.17  (2)  3

=48.  Grifter   2  (2.5)  3

=48.  Hawk and Dove  2 (2.5)  3

50.  Green Arrow  2  (2)  3

51.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.67  (1.5)  3

52.  Savage Hawkman  1.67  (1)  3

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

7 thoughts on “DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 12

  1. Diablo comic… I must not have paid much heed to it. Not that I expect to.

    Superman – your words have made me glad I passed over it.

    Flash – I thought there was movement, even if there wasn’t a lot of it. I enjoyed it.

    GL – the guardians… have they always been this stupid? Or at least have they in recent years? For my only real experience is with Ganthet before but yikes, I keep thinking these guardians can not be more stupid and yet I’m proven wrong! And the oddest thing is they seem to act very emotional and quickly for beings who have supposedly tossed away all emotions a long time ago.

    Teen Titans – I’m generally with ya here

    I Vampire – like Superman I passed it up. But due to your wording I’ll at least take a peak at it next time I hit the shop. Don’t think I’ll actually continue on with it though.

  2. I may be being hard on The Flash, but I think it really needs to be up there in terms of quality. I don’t quite understand why The Flash isn’t a franchise book, like Green Lantern. When they did Rebirth, I foresaw The Flash being joined by a Speed Force ongoing that focused on Wally and the other speedsters (a bit like GLC). But Rebirth wasn’t quite on the money and the ongoing was only just okay. I actually think the New 52 Flash is another step down in quality from the pre-Flashpoint title. I really liked the plane scene, but I’m not digging the superspeed thinking or clone storyline.

    As for the Guardians, they’re getting more and more ridiculous. Johns has turned the title Guardian into an ironical name. When you read New Guardians and see Larfleeze bust in and kind of view him as a one of the good guys against the sinister Guardians … well, that pretty much sums it up.

    I, Vampire is a book that I could easily skip, but I think it’s achieving a pretty high level of quality. The only thing I haven’t liked about it is that I have found parts of #1 and #2 a bit hard to comprehend … #3 didn’t have any such issues and I thought that made it a very worthwhile issue. I very nearly rated it the best of the week/fortnight (The Shade not far behind it too).

  3. I knew my Aqua love would put me on a different page to some r/R regulars.

    I enjoyed the flashback, Mera fighting and the pseudo-science with that – clearly crazy and soon to be more relevant – marine biologist.

    The idea of the denizens of The Trench acting out of a need to survive rather than evil makes them more interesting to me.

  4. TT3 I wasn’t crazy about. Not that I really found it bad, mind you. Either way, sometimes I feel like I’m being too rough on the series and the changes to characters from Volume 3. Also, our new character wasn’t bad in this issue, but I can easily see them going overboard with gay stereotypes in later issues.

    I also decided to pick up BB3 and RH/O3 after all due to nothing else to grab this week. Haven’t read BB3 yet but RH/O wasn’t bad. Starfire is actually showing she at least still has some brains (though that doesn’t excuse I think her over sexualization in issue 1). I’m really not sure how to take Jason leaving behind what was taken though :/

    As for the guardians, I really hope they stop with this mess. I mean seriously, it only makes me want more and more for Sinestro to go and slaughter all of them! I mean really, he was a bad guy I liked before, but now he’s starting to become a bad guy I really want to win and lay waste to what use to be the good guys!

  5. I think my enjoyment of the GL titles right now is proportionate to the amount the Guardians appear in them … the less Guardians the better because I’m just not enjoying the current storyline with them.

    I don’t see how something like the GL Corps could exist (well, at all, really … but I digress) without a managing group like the Guardians. Besides being the providers of the technology used to weild the green light of willpower, they are primarily administrators. So why are they being demonised to the point that readers can’t view them in any positive context? It undermines the whole notion that the Corps is a force for good. It reduces them to the status of a gang, in my view.

    Right now, Atrocitus and the Red Lanterns seem more virtuous.

Leave a Reply

