DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 10

Here you’ll find one sentence reviews of each ongoing title released this week.  They are scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain. 

I have also reviewed the mini-series issues but they aren’t included in the leaderboard.

There could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

 

Batman and Robin #3
My favourite New 52 comic of the week and vying with “Batman” as the best Bat-book of the relaunch, this issue pushed the story forward, featured the best art I’ve ever seen from Gleason and continued to give some great action and characterisation (it could almost be called “Batman and Robin and Alfred”) – 4.5 

Resurrection Man #3
Another really strong issue for Resurrection Man, which kept me dangling on the hook (I can’t wait to see Darryl in action) and pushed the story forward with further details of the forces vying for Mitch’s shiny soul – 4

Penguin #2 (of 5)
After reading #1, I said the Penguin wasn’t a character I was keen to explore, but writer Hurwitz and artist Kudranki are doing a fine job of turning that around, as this issue takes us to some even darker places … I like those kinds of places – 4

Mister Terrific #3
While the ending didn’t do a lot to whet my appetite for the next issue, the rest of #3 had a big throw-down with the title’s first major villain and plenty of inner-turmoil for the hero, which I lapped up – 4

Frankenstein – Agent of SHADE #3
It’s hard to figure what to make of this issue, as I really liked this story’s set-up and enjoyed the action but felt let down in key points because either writer Lemire took an easy out (sorry, but Khalis’ big monster-killing blast felt cheap) or the pay-off was a bit predictable (e.g. the clichéd slaying of the spider titan) – 3.5

Deathstroke #3
I admit that I quite like Deathstroke, even if he’s been overused in the DCU the last five years or so, and if Slade action is all you really want in a comic then this issue (like its predecessors) will hit the spot, with a little twist in the tail that elevated it above the previous two issues for me – 3.5

Suicide Squad #3
I’ve already confessed that I like bad guys and, while this is no Secret Six, I do enjoy following the further adventure of Deadshot and his dastardly colleagues even if it’s nothing too special – 3.5

Green Lantern #3
This issue left me feeling really flat, which I’m sure wasn’t the intention of writer Johns considering the final page, but I’ve grown too jaded as a comic book reader to fall for such shenanigans (although I do harbor a small glimmer of hope that it goes somewhere interesting and surprising next issue) – 3

Batwoman #3
A picture can be very attractive even if it’s ultimately a bog-ordinary paint-by-numbers piece of work … that’s what #3 feels like, as I enjoyed looking at the pictures, but it offered very little story progression and even fewer surprises – 3

Batgirl #3
A couple of nice character touches aren’t enough to redeem what continues to be a fairly disappointing new (old?) direction for Barbara Gordon … what should be a great title struggles to rise above ‘meh-dom’ – 3

Demon Knights #3
I’m growing a little frustrated with Demon Knights’ inconsistency, with #3 marking a low point for the title … ultimately not much happens as the characters prepare for the siege that the previous two issues have set up – 3 

Legion Lost #3
As much as I haven’t been particularly enjoying the three Legion titles, this was a much better issue that held my interest until the end (which was, unfortunately, a bit of a letdown since I’m not overly familiar with the characters so the reveal didn’t carry a lot of impact) – 3

Superboy #3
I know other people are digging it, but I’m not as keen on the direction of this hard reboot for the character … it is interesting (which admittedly makes reading it more of a treat than a chore), but I guess I’m one of those whiny fanboys who is afraid of change – 3

Grifter #3
I’m beginning to resent the fact that I feel like I HAVE to read this title for the sake of this review series, which isn’t to say that this issue is terrible … it just didn’t interest me in any way whatsoever and reading it felt like homework – 2.5

Huntress #2 (of 6)
This issue did nothing to change my opinion after reading #1 that this is just an unnecessary comic that doesn’t have anything unique or overly interesting to present – 2.5

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and previous weeks from this month here:

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

LEADER BOARD

1.  Swamp Thing  4.33  (4.5)  3

2.  Animal Man  4.33  (4)  3

3.  Justice League Dark  4.25  (4.5)  2

4.  Batman and Robin  4  (4.5)  3

=5.  Aquaman  (4)  2

=5.  Green Lantern Corps  4  (4)  2

7.  Resurrection Man  3.83  (4)  3

8.  Batwoman  3.83  (3)  3

9.  Batman  3.75  (4)  2

=10.  Birds of Prey  3.75  (3.5)  2

=10.  Wonder Woman  3.75  (3.5)  2

12.  Detective Comics  3.67  (4)  3

=13.  Batwing  3.5  (3.5)  3

=13.  Blue Beetle  3.5  (3.5)  2

=13.  I, Vampire  3.5  (3.5)  2

=13.  Justice League   3.5  (3.5)  2

=13.  Nightwing  3.5  (3.5)  2

=13.  Supergirl  3.5  (3.5)  2

=20.  Demon Knights  3.5  (3)  3

=20.  Green Lantern  3.5  (3)  3

21.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.33  (3.5)  3

22.  Static Shock  3.33  (3)  3

23.  Blackhawks  3.25  (3.5)  2

24.  The Flash  3.25  (3) 2

=25.  Mister Terrific  3.17  (4)  3

=25.  Stormwatch  3.17  (4)  3

27.  Suicide Squad  3.17  (3.5)  3

28.  Batgirl  3.17  (3)  3

29.  Action Comics  3.17  (2.5)  3

=30.  Deathstroke  3  (3.5)  3

=30.  Justice League International  3  (3.5)  3

32.  Teen Titans  (3)  2

33.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  (2)  2

34.  Red Lanterns  2.83  (3.5)  3

35.  Superboy  2.83  (3)  3

=36.  All Star Western  2.75  (3)  2

=36.  Captain Atom  2.75  (3)  2

38.  Superman  2.75  (2.5)  2

39.  O.M.A.C.  2.67  (2.5)  3

=40.  Batman – The Dark Knight  2.5  (3)  2

=40.  Catwoman  2.5  (3)  2

=40.  DC Universe Presents  2.5  (3)  2

=40.  Legion Lost  2.5  (3)  3

44.  Voodoo  2.5  (2.5)  2

45.  Men of War  2.5  (1.5)  3

46.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.25  (2.5)  2

=47.  Grifter   2  (2.5)  3

=47.  Hawk and Dove  2 (2.5)  3

=49.  Savage Hawkman  (2)  2

=49.  The Fury of Firestorm  (2)  2

=49.  Green Arrow  2  (2)  3

52.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.75  (2)  2

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

Leave a Reply

