DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 26

Here’s the first wave of #7 reviews.  Lots of 4.5s this week … I must be back on that good medication again.

As usual, each comic is scored out of five.  From here on out, I’m only going to update the leaderboard once a month – at the end – to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain (excluding reviewed one-shots and mini-series). 

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead, although I try to avoid them.

Justice League International #7
Wow, this issue took me by surprise … starting with a bang and delivering genuine drama, as the JLI deals with the chaos of last issue’s explosive cliffhanger – 4.5

Stormwatch #7
As the cover promises, this issue sees the team confront the mysterious and frighteningly powerful Gravity Thieves, and I can’t really think of any way to further describe the craziness in this issue except to say it’s AWESOME – 4.5

Swamp Thing #7
Alec Holland finally accepts his destiny and Swamp Thing is reborn … and this issue is every bit as brilliant as that makes it sound – 4.5

Animal Man #7
Buddy has some quality time with Cliff (and shows what a cool dad he is) and then has a vision of Maxine’s future … all great stuff – 4.5

Men of War #7
Departing from the “soldiers in a world with superhumans” approach of Brandon’s run, both stand-alone stories in this issue are more traditional war yarns – the first about a British SAS who goes hunting a terrorist leader in Afghanistan, and the second about a young US soldier returning home after a tragic end to his final tour – and both are very, very good – 4.5

Static Shock #7
Delivering everything #1 promised before subsequent issues made a huge, confusing mess of things, this issue seems to have benefitted greatly from a writer change … it’s a shame it’s all too late, with next issue being the last – 4

Batwing #7
I fully accept the necessity of fill-in artists to maintain schedules, but I like when the fill-in’s work at least complements the regular’s efforts – like Chrisscross on Batwing #4 or Rudy on a couple of Swamp Thing issues – but Nguyen’s art in this issue jarred me a little, which is a shame since the revelation of The Kingdom’s secret shame was otherwise quite good – 4

Action Comics #7
Returning to the story arc from issues #1-4, this is an entertaining enough issue despite some of Morrisson’s trademark compressed storytelling – which annoys me a lot of the time – as Superman confronts the Collector of Worlds and attempts to save the miniaturised people of Metropolis … meanwhile the Steel-centred back up story is a bit corny, but enjoyable – 4

Huntress #6 (of 6)
This whole miniseries has been adequate but unspectacular, but this one gets extra points for an interesting finish that teases something up ahead – 3.5

Red Lanterns #7
When the new human Red Lantern, Jack Moore, features I find myself more entertained – even though his fight with Guy Gardner was a little disappointing – but the overall story doesn’t really feel like it’s going anywhere especially worthwhile – 3

OMAC #7
A too-short, five-page confrontation with Superman made way for what seemed like a twisted version of Madagascar, complete with a talking zebra – 3

Detective Comics #7
Lots of twists and turns, but overall I didn’t find it especially entertaining – 3

Green Arrow #7
A new creative team seems just the ticket for a title that’s well and truly off target, but I found the dialogue (particularly Ollie talking to himself) wacky and really off-putting, while the artwork was pretty but maybe too busy – 2.5

Night Force #1 (of 7)
A horror-themed mini written by Wolfman and drawn by Mandrake, I was quite keen to read this one, but unfortunately it didn’t do a great job of introducing its characters and giving you a sense a why they’re important … hopefully those details will come in future issues – 2.5

Hawk and Dove #7
It’s good to see that Liefeld has already started practicing drawing Deathstroke, only in this issue he’s called the Hunter … this wasn’t the worst comic I’ve ever read but there was just sooooo much in it that annoyed me (Liefeld’s well-known inability to draw feet, the awful dialogue, the creative bankruptcy of the whole plot) that I couldn’t enjoy it – 1.5

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews:

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Parts 24 and 25

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

14 thoughts on “DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 26

  1. Maybe its just with me, but I’d suggest a slight rewording in your Men of War review. I read “more traditional war yarns” as “more traditional war yawns” at first, and so was surprised to see it listed with a 4.5 and as “very very good” until I took a better look.

    • I’d prefer to teach the world a bit about Australian slang (although “yarn” might actually originate from Britain, I’m not sure).

      “Yarn” equals “story”. “Spinning a yarn” equals “telling a story (especially a fanciful one)”. : )

      Next week, I’ll include some rhyming slang to really confuse you. Hahaha.

      • Oh, I know what yarn means, and I’m pretty sure its British in background. Just I first read that r as a w. Probably doesn’t help I’m working this week through on very little sleep either…

      • It was written with very little sleep too … it should be perfectly in synch. Hahaha.

        If you can translate “He ordered a dog’s eye with dead horse, but it ended in Dalai Lamas because he had no Bugs Bunny. What a Barry Crocker!” I’ll be impressed.

      • Having a “Barry” and “dead horse” are two that I hear the most. I can’t actually remember ever hearing Dalai Lamas or Bugs Bunny. Rhyming slang isn’t that common, although you hear it more in rural areas.

        Having been born in California and moving to Australia when I was about 10, one of my least favourites is “Sepo” (mainly because it’s kind of gross. Sepo is short for Septic Tank, which is rhyming slang for Yank, which is slang for American.

        One thing that’s puzzled me is the Australian traditional of calling red-headed blokes “Blue”. I figure it must just be ironic.

  2. The publishing house owning the DC rights for Italy couldn’t afford to publish 52 regular series, so they chose to print only half of them. Guess what? A lot of rubbish like Hawkman passed their selection, and masterpieces like Animal Man didn’t. On which principle they decided to act like that? Animal Man was a better choice than Hawkman from both artistic and economic point of view. And I could make some other examples: Batgirl and Batwoman won’t be published, while Legion Lost will be, and so on. I know you may not trust such an unbelievable news, so here’s the proof:

    http://www.rwedizioni.it/cmscontent/2012/03/16/checklist-lion-giugno-2012/

    I thought that maybe the series that are not mentioned on this checklist will be published later, and directly in a TPB size. That would be a bad decision as well: the TPB are sold in a fery few copies, and even fewer comic stores decide to invest on them (at least here in Italy). What do you think about the whole thing?

    • The first example made me think it might be a name thing, as Hawkman would (I assume) be the bigger name than Animal Man. But to hear Batgirl and Batwoman be ignored (mostly Batgirl) is odd. Unless they are ignoring Batgirl because the group that decided it were Stephanie Brown fans?

      • I suppose they thought like this: there are too many Batman spin offs, so we have to select only a part of them. Detective Comics, Batman and Robin and Nightwing passed their selection, while Batgirl and Batwoman didn’t. Maybe because they had a thinner connection with the main series. Anyway, the italian publishing house surely didn’t make the most of the New 52.

  3. P.S.: I just finished to read Legion: Secret Origin # 5. I always hated comics set in space, so I picked it up only because I’m a Batista fan. Surprisingly, I found it was a very nice read. Batista, on the contrary, was quite disappointing: I already understood from his work on Robin that he lost his magic touch, but now he reached his lowest level ever. Of course he’s still a good penciller, but he’s not an artist any more. If you want to see how marvellous it was, read Steel: it was one of the best superhero comics published in the 90s, and Batista did a wonderful job in every single issue.

    • I’ve seen Batista’s work in the past and thought it was quite pretty, but I haven’t really been impressed with his visual storytelling in L:SO. Not bad, just not great.

      I’ve found the plotting and dialogue to be okay, but not overly inspiring. I know a fair bit about the history of the Legion because I did some research for a freelance job on Vs System’s Legion expansion … and L:SO just doesn’t tell me anything overly new or in an especially new way. It feels like going through the motions, which is why I give it a lot of mediocre scores. : \

  4. Pingback: DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 30 « read/RANT!

  5. Pingback: DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 31 « read/RANT!

Leave a Reply

