DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Parts 24 and 25

 

Since there was only one ongoing this week and I was disastrously behind with last week’s reviews, I’ve just rolled them together in one article.

As usual, each comic is scored out of five.  From here on out, I’m only going to update the leaderboard once a month – at the end – to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain (excluding reviewed one-shots and mini-series).

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead, although I try to avoid them.

The Shade #5 (of 12)
Wow, this maxiseries has been consistently surprising, and this issue – in which The Shade visits a heroic vampire to whom he has a close personal connection –  is as interesting and entertaining as any of predecessors – 4.5

Batman – The Dark Knight #6
The “worst” thing about this issue is the cover, which features Bane doing some amateur chiropractoring on Batman and announces “The Rise of Bane”, which kind of takes the surprise out of the reveal – even though it was pretty predictable once Venom is mentioned, if not before – and made me think Bane had been completely rebooted (“The Return of Bane” might have been less confusing), otherwise I thoroughly enjoyed it. – 4.5

The Ray #3 (of 4)
The villain – an obsessed moviemaker who can reshape reality at will – is a bit goofy for my liking, but this issue handles it all quite masterfully … pointing out the absurdity of his plans but not underselling the danger he represents – 4

All Star Western #6
Bringing the story back on track after last month’s misstep, this was a very satisfying conclusion to the story arc (and all those owls didn’t escape my notice)  – 4

Justice League Dark #6
Nearly a home run, I enjoyed how this issue bound the heroes together even though they’d like nothing more than never see each other again, but the end leads into a crossover with another title … one of my least favourite things in comicdom – 4

Green Lantern – New Guardians #6
Pretty much an issue-long brawl with the extremely powerful Archangel Invictus, there were some fun scenes but not a lot of depth in the story – 3.5

Teen Titans #6
Introducing Grymm, a powerful new villain, writer Lobdell seemingly wanted to poke a bit of fun at the clichéd villainous monologue, but really the whole plot of this issue hinged on it, which kind of made him the butt of his own joke – 3.5

Blackhawks #6
Solid, though not overly spectacular, this issue maintained the title’s better-than-average quality as it nevertheless marches towards cancellation in two issues’ time – 3.5

Aquaman #6
“A funny thing happened to Mera when she went to the store to get dog food” kind of sums this one up … a bit of a weird story that had some entertaining elements, but felt a little clumsy overall – 3.5

The Fury of Firestorm #6
About halfway through this issue I thought, “Wow, I’m digging this”, as the young heroes struggle with the events of the previous issue and are confronted by Russian “Firestorm” Pozhar, but it drops its bundle in the last seven pages, in which Ronnie and Jason start fighting each other again (I think I’ve been on this merry-go-round already, I want to get off) – 3.5

I, Vampire #6
I think this issue, set amid a giant vampire brawl, would have been a lot more entertaining if not for the presence of Batman (which I cynically suspect is a desperate bid for increased sales) and the completely moronic and nonsensical actions of one of the supporting characters – 3

Justice League #6
This felt like a rushed, anticlimactic and – at times – dumb end to the story arc, in which Darkseid didn’t really get enough exposure or the respect a threat of his magnitude deserved, but as an all ages-friendly, easy jumping on point, I guess it’s okay … at least it’s pretty – 3

The Flash #6
Maybe it’s just me, but I’m finding this title to be one of the most frustrating and disappointing of the New 52, as it feels like it needs a good, strong writer (or at least co-writer) to help steer it … the hero’s fight with a souped-up Captain Cold is just okay, whereas I wanted it to kick ass – 3

Superman #6
The good: Superman, seemingly gone crazy, beating the tar out of Supergirl; the bad: some mumbo-jumbo about alien nanotechnology to explain it all; and the ugly: it’s all still too damn wordy for my liking – 3

Legion – Secret Origin #5 (of 6)
A pretty straight forward tale of the formative period of the Legion, in which they attempt to make contact with Clark Kent before he becomes Superman … nothing too awful, but nothing particularly interesting or exciting either – 2.5

Voodoo #6
I found this one, with all of its clones and people attacking their own side, a little harder to follow than previous issues, which were pretty straight forward … ultimately, I just don’t care that much about the continuing adventures of Voodoo – 2.5

The Savage Hawkman #6
The winged warrior faces off against the Gentleman Ghost (who seems a lot scarier than what I’ve seen of him before), but Hawkman is sooooooooo stupid that I found myself rooting for GG – 2

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #4 (of 6)
Last month (see Part 19), I couldn’t even bring myself to read #3 of this miniseries, and sadly there was nothing in the pages of this issue that could draw me back in, so once again I don’t think it’d be fair for me to give it a score – No Score

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and ones from earlier this month:

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

LEADER BOARD

1.  Animal Man  4.3  (4.5)  6

2.  Swamp Thing  4.3  (4)  6

3.  Batman  4.2  (4.5)  6

4.  Resurrection Man  4.1  (4.5)  6

=5.  Batman and Robin  3.9  (4)  6

=5.  Justice League Dark  3.9  (4)  6

7.  Aquaman  3.9  (3.5)  6

=8.  Batwoman  3.8  (4)  6

=8.  Birds of Prey  3.8  (4)  6

=8.  Blue Beetle  3.8  (4)  6

11.  Batman – The Dark Knight  3.7  (4.5)  6

12.  Green Lantern  3.7  (4)  6

13.  Batwing  3.7  (3.5)  6

14.  Stormwatch  3.6  (3.5)  6

=15.  Green Lantern Corps  3.6  (3)  6

=15.  I, Vampire  3.6  (3)  6

17.  Suicide Squad  3.5  (4.5)  6

=18.  Batgirl  3.5  (4)  6

=18.  Demon Knights  3.5  (4)  6

=20. Blackhawks  3.5  (3.5)  6

=20.  Teen Titans  3.5  (3.5)  6

22.  Justice League   3.5  (3)  6

23.  Supergirl  3.4  (3.5)  6

24.  Wonder Woman  3.4  (2.5)  6

=25.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.3  (4)  6

=25.  Justice League International  3.3  (4)  6

=27.  Action Comics  3.3  (3.5)  6

=27.  Captain Atom  3.3  (3.5)  6

=27.  Catwoman  3.3  (3.5)  6

=27.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  3.3  (3.5)  6

=27.  Nightwing  3.3  (3.5)  6

32.  Detective Comics  3.3  (2)  6

=33.  Deathstroke  3.2  (4)  6

=33.  Superboy  3.2  (4)  6

=35.  Mister Terrific  3.1  (4)  6

=35.  O.M.A.C.  3.1  (4)  6

37.  Red Lanterns  3.1  (3.5)  6

38.  The Flash  3.1  (3) 6

=39.  All Star Western  2.9  (4)  6

=39.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.9  (4)  6

41.  Men of War  2.9  (3)  6

42.  Voodoo  2.9  (2.5)  6

43.  DC Universe Presents  2.8  (3)  6

44.  Legion Lost  2.7  (4)  6

45.  The Fury of Firestorm  2.7  (3.5)  6

46.  Static Shock  2.6  (1)  6

47.  Superman  2.5  (3)  6

=48.  Green Arrow  2.4  (3)  6

=48.  Grifter   2.4  (3)  6

50.  Hawk and Dove  1.9 (1.5)  6

51.  Savage Hawkman  1.7  (2)  6

52.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.6  (2)  6

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

5 thoughts on “DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Parts 24 and 25

  1. I had flipped through Teen Titans on the shelf and it did not seem worth it. And while I loved the art and a lot going in the Flash, it didn’t stick on as one of the few 52 I kept with for I realized the story itself wasn’t doing it for me. After a month I often forgot what happened in the past issue and would have to flip through the last one to know what was going on in the current.

  2. Interestingly, I worked out that, if I included it in the leaderboard, The Shade would be equal third with Batman. I’m really digging it.

    Also, I can’t believe The Savage Hawkman isn’t last anymore … I really loathe that title. Doesn’t say a lot for Legion of Super-Heroes.

    • It took awhile to get into, but The Shade is definitely in my top 3-4 current DC books. It’s selling REALLY poorly, though. At one point, Robinson even expressed worry that it would be canceled before the mini-series ended.

      • That would be a real shame. I think the timing was probably bad. I didn’t pick it up because my order more than tripled in size with the New 52 relaunch already … I couldn’t justify another book even after I really loved the first issue. Then there was the fact that there was no build up or promotion of the book, I didn’t even know it was coming out until it was out. Sometimes I think comic book publishers shoot themselves in the foot.

Leave a Reply

