Spider-Verse; happy its finally over!

spiderverse

Spoilers!

Spider-Verse it was… well fairly bad. I’ve read some other reviews on various single issues that were mostly mixed so at least I’m not a minority here. But overall, I didn’t like it. For one, the reason for Spider-Octavius to be there seemed extremely weak. Which don’t get me wrong, I surprisingly enjoyed the start of his time as Spider-man, but felt it ran far too long. But yeah, his involvement seemed merely a way for Dan Slott to get his little “creation” in for a few more issues, though in reality he really didn’t serve much purpose to the story line.

Not my only complaint though. The villains felt weak, as did their motivation for what they were doing. Not to mention their “immortality” felt very Arnold Schwarzenegger 6th Day which is entertaining, but overall not a good thing to be copying. The “deaths” that came about from the fights were mainly from characters we barely got to know so it overall meant nothing. The tacked on after stories to Spider-Man comics were especially bad, introducing us in a few short pages to a variant Peter Parker usually only to have him killed off. The Spider-Verse intros sometimes were interesting, but not always and felt a waste of time reading.

Don’t get me wrong as there was a couple entertaining moments, but I’m happy this event is over and things can move on. Oh, and that Spider-Gwen did come from this.

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a comment