CW 4 Show Crossover Review

arrow-flash-legends-supergirl-poster.jpg

Last post still applies, but I couldn’t resist typing up a quick review for this crossover.  For really this was extremely disappointing!  Beware spoilers

It has moments.I enjoy the “Is it just me or is she hot” between Mick and Sara as well as Ray (Brandon Routh who played Superman once) noting that Supergirl looks like his cousin.  The fight scenes were pretty good too except the last one fell a little short.

 

The bigger issue I have though stems to a few bigger things, and then a few smaller bits.  One being it wasn’t as inclusive as it should have been to really make it great.  First is Supergirl really was not tied into this at all unless a couple failed breaches appearing counts and the showing of Cisco and Barry showing up which I really do not count for how brief it is and that we see it again start of Flash anyways.

 

Second comes the show set up.  While the story between Flash/Arrow/Legends breaches together, they all mostly follow their typical routines.  Flash focused mostly on the Flash crew and Barry doing his thing.  Arrow while instead of a flashback/real world did a jumping back and forth of real and fake reality they were trapped in.  One that followed the typical vibes these often hold of hints they were trapped so they could eventually break free.  Legends stuck to needing to time travel to do something to save present day.  I guess it’s a safe play, but if it would have been nice if they broke it up and mixed things around a little.

Third is I’m a bit sad they did not run more of a Flashpoint and Barry fixing things causing Supergirl to be pulled into the same universe as the rest.  It was a great set up for it.  Barry makes Flashpoint.  He “fixed” it but things aren’t all great yet so something could have caused him to finally try to fix it again merging the Earths eventually.  I don’t know, maybe they want to keep Supergirl (and Superman) out mostly from the other shows?  Or perhaps they’re saving it for the season finale?  After all they at least gave her a way to jump into their universe whenever she needs it and to call over.

Then the little things is the alien invasion seems to have come out of nowhere.  Unless I missed it, NONE of the shows had any buildup or hints towards this happening.  Each show’s supporting cast mostly stuck to that show (Wells and Wally in Flash, Captain Lance Arrow, etc.).  I especially was hoping Wally  would finally suit up for this.  Instead he just gets set up for actual training now.  Oh, and lets not forget the aliens not being that recognizable.  Looking them up they don’t seem to appear in comics a lot outside of one story arc.  If they hit a race more would recognize it would maybe up the stakes more.
Overall its entertaining, but still a let down.

 

~xxadverbxx

 

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a comment