Review: Superboy #3

Superboy #3 is here and though I think its a bit slower than the last two issues, it still is a great issue!  Lobdell is not disappointing with this one.

SPOILER WARNING!

So we start with a super market getting robbed.  The ones doing the robbery has nothing to do with Superboy or the issue after the third page, so my only guess is they’ll make an appearance in an issue or two.  Superboy though, he’s stuck a mile or so under the surface of the Earth.  This doesn’t just serve a point of “How will Superboy escape?” but it actually gives us more insight on his powers.  Mainly, there is a weakness to his powers.  While Superboy is doing this, NOWHERE is wondering just where he is.  There is also an interesting telekinesis conversation between Rose and Red before Rose jumps down I’m assuming to track Superboy.  I have to admit I’m a little curious if the conversation was due to Red’s abilities, or if Rose got a power change in this relaunch.  I’m guessing Red, who people still think is Fairchild, despite the fact that Rose starts the conversation.

From there though, bring in the sex!  Yes, DC’s theme of sex hits Superboy int his issue!  Well, not quite for the girl and guy only seem to have their tops off (and she still has a bra on) when Superboy comes crashing out of the Earth.  This part does add some confirmation to the weakness Superboy seemed to have earlier, and also to basically show that Superboy is very unsure when talking to people outside of a V.R. Simulation.  Also, the girl some reason decides to flirt with Superboy.  That is until he scares her by bringing her back to town near-instantly and she suddenly seems to change her mind about him.  She doesn’t have much time to call the poor boy names though when he gets attacked.  I admit, I don’t know who this villain is or her powers.  So I’m not sure if she is new or old, but no name seems to have been given for her.

The fight doesn’t last too long and after a rather confusing double page scene where Superboy learns he is part Kryptonian and part human he decides to try and find out more.  So with the mystery villain at least seemingly killed, he tracks down Red at her place and tries to threaten her for more information about himself.  Nice scene for at least part of Superboy’s reasoning is because he wants to better know his own powers so he will be less likely to hurt people.  The other is Red bulks up ripping off her clothes – underwear does stay on at least – and lifts Superboy up by the neck to give us a cliffhanger ending.

Maybe its Lobdell’s writing, or just the fact that Superboy got a complete reboot that has made this one work so well, or just a mix of both.  Either way, he is doing a great job.  Silva’s art is good too, though as stated I was, and still am, confused about how that double-page scene plays out.  Either way, this is one comic I’m going to stick with in this relaunch.

more on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

One thought on “Review: Superboy #3

  1. I thought this issue was terrible on a multitude of levels. I would give it one star. But I just read issue #4 and decided not to remove Superboy from my pull… not yet anyway.

Leave a comment