X-Men thoughts (rant)

x-logoFinally catching up on comics.  Still a bit behind, but figured I’d jump in to list off some thoughts on various things happening in the X-Men world.

WARNING!  There will be spoilers if you aren’t up to date.
WARNING!  This will probably not have much coherency in terms of order.
WARNING!  Expect mild language.

All New X-Men, it was a neat thought.  Okay, not really.  I don’t recall being a big fan of the idea.  Beast was a complete hypocrite ass more or less for doing that.  Especially as he got them all STUCK there.  Plus, the All New Jean Grey is a bitch!  I will admit there aren’t many comics I have actually read that had Jean alive (excluding Ultimate uni, but that’s a different uni), so most of what I know from her came from the 90s cartoon.  But still, I find it hard to believe Jean in the early comics was such a BITCH!  She invades EVERYONE’S mind, ALL the time.  She seems so damn cocky about it as well that she doesn’t bother to hide it most the time.  I wish Emma had her psychic powers to whip her a new one.  Really, I keep hoping the Stepford Cuckoos will mentally bitch slap her sooner or later.  They’ve come close a few times, but not quite there.  Either way though, I seriously find nothing sympathetic about All New Jean, and it really annoys me when it seems they try to write her up as sympathetic.

 

Speaking of All New X-Men, its hard to believe how big of a boy scout All New Cyclops is.  Seriously, I think he’s grown more delusional as the series has continued.  You’d think the more he stayed in current time, the more he’d come to realize he can’t sit around telling police he’s a good guy.  Not to mention the giant love… penta… whatever shape it has grown into.  Scott and Hank after Jean, and possibly even Warren?  Jean running to basically anyone it seems who will give her attention (but Quire).  Scott and Laura.  Hank and Eva.  Bobby hitting on anything female…  I’m sure I’m missing at least 10 more of these.  Sure I get its troublesome for them, and they are younger more hornier versions of themselves, but that is INSANE!

 

Ugh, wish they’d just end this “All New X-Men” already.  I mean it seems they’re finally bringing the “Superior” Spider-Man to an end (which lasted far longer than it should have), I’m hoping this All New business will figure out  it needs to end as well, and do that soon.  Some reason though, I feel this will go on for a while.

 

Wolverine and the X-Men has been a bit strange lately, too.  Did they seriously graduate half of their main kid chars?  Sure some make sense as Quire I believe is in his later teens somewhere.  Pixie though?  Why is she suddenly there graduating when I don’t think she was shown (save maybe one brief cameo) at the school in Wolverine and the X-Men until this point?  Seriously too, I coulda sworn she was an X-Men since before Schism…  They also seem to have graduated some of the newer mutants/students?  By the way, is Quire really dating Idie?  I think one of the Hellfire oriented issues stated she was 12 or something, and she’s dating Quire who I don’t know the general age of but I’m sure, as stated earlier, is in his later teens.

 

And this recent current time/future time.  Its neat, but are they really building out yet another potential future?  And seeing how young Idie looks, why does Logan look so old?  Is this due to his powers somehow failing recently in the comics (which I’m confused, did I miss something in one of the dozen other comics Wolverine stars in that I don’t read)?  Even if it is, he seems to have aged quite a lot compared to Idie.  Not to mention the destruction of the Phoenix by Hope/Wanda at the end of AvX apparently was meaningless as Phoenix is back.  Well okay, we all should have expected that one as its hard for things to stay dead in the Marvel world, especially the Phoenix.  Still feels a bit early (even if its future time) to be stating the Phoenix is still going to be around.  Oh and another future dilemma with this.  All New X-Men recently just did a “This is the future…” crap, and as far as I can tell the Wolverine and the X-Men future we’re seeing does not tie in at all with the future painted just before in All New.

 

Its been rather annoying.  I did get some enjoyment though.  One thing I have not been shy about in past blogs is I’ve hated in AvX and since how they have painted Scott as such a criminal.  And its been a rather recurring theme, especially from Logan.  It was nice to see Logan and Scott sit down finally and have a talk.  Sure, it still annoyed me how Logan was during much of it, but it still ended nice.  I mean Scott finally got to bring up what I’ve mentioned quite a bit.  Jean always got a pass when she did bad (and far worse) things while controlled by the Phoenix.  And he got to say this to Logan who has done horrible things in his past and also got to be redeemed, many times actually.  While I don’t really agree that Scott isn’t the same man, I did like Logan’s lines of: “You ain’t the man I used to follow.  And we need that man again, Scott, we need him bad.  Let me be the one Jean was scared of.  You be the man she fell in love with.”

 

~xxadverbxx

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

