Review: Winter Soldier #19

WS19“Explosive Finale!” seems a bit of an exaggeration, but its a nice read.

Spoiler Warning

Latour’s run with the series wasn’t long, just five issues.  He didn’t have much time to work with it.  Not to mention he had been left by Bendis a rather… interesting thing to deal with.  Generally, it seemed something Latour mostly ignored.  It was touched upon here and there, but to me at least it never seemed a primary or even secondary issue in Latour’s stories.  Something that really could have been worked with, and dealt with very nicely.  On the other hand, it could also have been focused on and things could have really turned out badly too.  So Latour not focusing strongly on that I find respectable.

 

Respectable or not, safe or not, his story never really dragged me in.  Perhaps it was after following Bendis’ 14 issue run that I found to be completely remarkable.  Possibly that he only had 5 issues to work with here before Winter Soldier Vol 1 here got shut down.  To be honest, I pondered three times in this 5 issue run of dropping this series.  Electric Ghost was an interesting character, though at the same time I didn’t fully like her concept.  And well, in this final issue things just got a bit strange.

 

I really won’t go into more details, mainly as I don’t feel like writing much more on this.  So I’ll finish up with Latour’s run being okay.  Maybe if he got more time to work it could have picked up pace (after all, Bendis’ run took me a few issues to get into).  Either way, the final page was a fantastic ending.

 

read/RANT

 

5 issues

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

