Review: AvX Consequences

Those who have kept up with my AvX reviews should know that I was not entirely pleased with the series.  The idea was good, but the execution was flawed.  More so, I was rather upset with how they treated Scott at the end of everything.  Consequences on the other hand has been handled absolutely wonderfully.

Spoiler Alert

As should be expected, this five issue series deals with things after the Phoenix has been dealt with.  We see how Wolverine’s school is doing, a bit of what the Avengers are up to.  What some of the other X-Men are up to.  A little more time is spent  on Hope’s life.  Trying to have a normal life for a while before going hunting for Nathan and ultimately being treated like a child (“go home”) by Captain America.  Really, has Steve always been such a condescending prick to others in 616?

The bigger thing is we get a focus on Scott.  Yes, most of this series deals with him.  His jailing, power reduction, and interaction with a new mutant, and Logan.  Scott and Logan’s interactions are just perfect.  I’d… Well I’m not really sure how else to bring them up right now without going over them in detail.  Their interactions alone are enough for me to buy these five issues.  If you don’t have them, I’ll say its enough for you to hopefully buy the trade when it comes out.

Beyond their talk, Scott meets up with a new mutant in jail.  One he becomes close with and takes under his wing.  Here would be my second favorite part of Consequences.  At least if Marvel Wikia is any indicator, Scott is suppose to be highly skilled in both Judo and Aikido.  Most the time, we don’t actually get to see that.  This is not the case here, though.  Scott is seen on a couple occasions almost effortlessly taking on groups of human inmates (one who completely outclasses Scott in terms of size and muscle).  Personally, I found it to be a treat seeing how he handled prison, and his ability to fight even without his powers.

Things get interesting in the final issue.  While for a moment I thought Scott would actually go through trial, he ends up breaking out.  Not just that, but doing a few things I’m a little shocked about.  Releasing prisoners, having a couple specific inmates brought to hell by Magik, and having Danger scar one of his jailors while leaving a note to Wolverine that he doesn’t need to be a better man for once in his life, as long as Logan is.  Even with how he’s changed, I find those actions a little un-Scott like.  At the same time, they were handled well enough that for now, I’m okay with it.  Kind of depends how things go from here, and hope that Scott Deaux is right that Cyclops would make a great villain for a short period.  And I do hope its a short period.

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

