Batman Inc. in the eye of Leviathan #1

Batman Incorporated is back and in full swing within the new 52 universe.  And it now comes with 100% more Batcow!

While my fellow ranter Cal has touched upon this issue in his “This Week in Comics” I still felt the need to touch up on it far more than he did, and perhaps even counter a few of his points.  To start, this did remind me a good deal of the pre-relaunch titles.  Its in the art, its in the title, and hell its probably in the writer working the dynamic duo team here.

We see a side of Damian that hasn’t been that strong since the start of Batman and Robin vol 2.  That being a Damian challenging his father; even claiming things may have been better if Bruce never came back.  Preference is mentioned to how things were with Dick in the mantle, and a snippet of just how smart Damian is by dealing with some Wayne Technologies finances is brought out. There was one comedic moment there, so I think Cal’s pushing it when he stated “a number of solid jokes” is in this title, but he was right about great banter.

What else can I say though?  Well, while I enjoyed the story and thought it solid and entertaining, I’m not placing it as high up as Cal seems to be.  A few notable things would be mention that the Outsiders still exist in this new 52 and that yes, unlike Leviathan Strikes that despite the release date just seemed a pre-relaunch story, this issue states outright with the mention of Nobody’s recent death that it is indeed part of the mainstream relaunch universe.

I do have one main beef with this issue though and its not the story, the writing, or even the art.  It just seems an odd time to me to be releasing this.  We’re midway through the Night of the Owls crossover that covers Batman and his family, so it seems odd to bring this out at such a time.  At least pre-relaunch, Batman Inc. was more or less another crossover covering Batman and his family (plus world wide allies), so why start such a thing back up that should be requiring the attention of Batman’s allies for both events?  It just seems a bit of bad timing to me is all.

read/RANT

9 Responses to Batman Inc. in the eye of Leviathan #1

  1. Cal Cleary says:

    Just off the top of my head, there was Bat-Cow, the look on Batman and Robin’s faces when Leviathan dropped a dude headfirst in front of them, and the secret location of ‘Batcave West’. All three got a solid chuckle from me, and three fairly solid gags is more than some sitcoms can manage, let alone most Batman comics. It’s not hysterical, but it is possessed of a lively wit.

  2. Cal Cleary says:

    Also – it is bad timing, and I’d imagine in an ideal world this would be launching sometime in September. I don’t know that DC predicted so many books would fall in sales so quickly. The timing with the whole ‘Night of the Owls’ thing is definitely a little unfortunate, but, honestly, it’s also refreshing. The books were getting too bogged down in it, and needed a little pop flash returned to them.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I was still enjoying them, but I won’t disagree that Night of the Owls (save Nightwing’s line) has been dropping in terms of enjoyment for me since when it started. I wonder if it’ll be ending soon though, never really checked on how long it should go on, but if it does end very soon then it won’t be much of a problem.

      And yes, the Batcave West was a bit of a chuckler, and I absolutely loved Batcow (favorite part of the comic, really).

      Also for a lack of willingness to make an entire post on this, its sounding like Dwayne the “Rock” Johnson is going to play Lobo. The Movie Pilot article I read didn’t state what it would be in, but I can see him easily as Lobo.

      • Cal Cleary says:

        That wouldn’t shock me really at all, especially since I’d imagine the success of the Avengers means DC badly wants to step up production on its own flailing film franchises.

      • xxadverbxx says:

        Been hearing about a possible Lobo film for a while. But unless he’s being tossed into a Superman movie, well I think Lobo on his own is not going to help them, even with a name like Dwayne behind it.

        At least DC has Batman (soon to end) and considering the director, I have good hope for the new Superman film.

      • Cal Cleary says:

        Marvel has a very formulaic approach to their movies – which has paid off, for them, in dollars, if not in creativity. DC is extremely scattershot, probably because Warner execs don’t really give a crap about the comics. Sometimes they get a Dark Knight; sometimes they get the travesty that was the unsold Wonder Woman pilot episode.

        I’m not a big Snyder fan – he missed the point of Watchmen so thoroughly that, even though it was at times a scene-for-scene recreation, it still flopped – but I hope the movie does okay, because Superman is due for a revival. I don’t have high hopes, though. Snyder’s aesthetic is flash over substance, and Superman is a character of great substance.

        A Lobo movie would be… an interesting choice, at least. I’d hope for a Wonder Woman movie at some point, but DC and Time Warner seem to have no idea what to do with her at all, and it’s really damaging the character’s brand at this point.

      • xxadverbxx says:

        Wait, Snyder? Bleh, I was thinking someone else was directing. Well there goes some hope for the film. I’ll probably still watch it of course, but now I’m less enthusiastic.

        And Wonder Woman really does need some love, and it makes sense for her to get it. So would either a Trinity film or Superman/Batman (both would be much easier to reach than a full on Justice League movie). Granted, DC/WB does have troubles. Scripts and ideas tossed aside or taking so long to be looked over/discussed that they are lost and their opportunity missed…

      • Cal Cleary says:

        Yup, Snyder. Inexplicably.

        I definitely understand that Wonder Woman is a tough character to write for, but it’s far from impossible. She’s one of the most famous women in pop culture history – they REALLY need to get their shit together on this. And yet, I’d be dollars to donuts the first we see of the character on film or in television, it’ll be some model who can barely act, tits hanging out, gossiping about boys and clothes.

  3. Although I’ve enjoyed Snyder’s Night of the Owls crossover I like Morrison’s reintroduction of Batman, Inc at this time because it’s nice to have a break from the court of owls. That being said though, I did enjoy Morrison’s references to the character building that went on in Batman & Robin. It was nice touch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

