DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 32

I rated the last four comics I read this week all 4 or over … which was a relief because before that, only one issue had attracted as much as a 4.  So it was a hard slog through the start of this batch, with a strong finish at the end. 

As most of you will be aware, I’m going to wrap-up my One Sentence Review series with next week’s last batch of #8s.  I’m currently a full week behind and the leaderboard concept kind of flies out the window with the first round of cancellations and new titles coming online.

I expect to be blogging/reviewing less, at least for a little while, as I’ll be starting a new job this month and want to focus some energy on creative writing projects.  I’ve written the first two scripts for a comic book and want to write at least six issues, and I have a long-neglected novel in the works that I must reacquaint myself with.

I’ll post read/RANT articles when and if the bug bites me, though.

Anyway, as usual, each comic is scored out of five. 

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead, although I try to avoid them.

Nightwing #8
I’m amazed that the best of the first wave of Night of Owls comic isn’t Batman #8, but this issue, in which Nightwing races to save the mayor, is a genuine home run – 4.5

Batman #8
A fairly straightforward beginning to the Court of Owls event, as a mass of Talons descend on Wayne Manor … I hope I enjoy the event as much as I’ve enjoyed the build-up – 4

Supergirl #8
A very, very different rake on Silver Banshee, but a very interesting one, in an issue high on character and drama – 4

Red Hood and the Outlaws #8
Some bits, like a scene between Jason and Tim Drake, feel a little off, but otherwise this is quite an enjoyable issue and I’m genuinely looking forward to the next one – 4

Wonder Woman #8
Still a bit kooky but, like last issue, the weirdness is welcome, as you really don’t know where Wonder Woman’s trip to the Underworld in search of Zola is going – 4

Catwoman #8
This issue starts off fairly boring and predictable, with the protagonist teaming up with a super-powered – and somewhat reckless – thief named Spark, but takes a more interesting twist about two-thirds of the way through – 3.5

Birds of Prey #8
Plenty of action, as a team of villains (or maybe not villains) turns up to arrest Black Canary for a alleged murder, but the story is thin and mostly predictable – 3

Blue Beetle #8
Villain Stopwatch is an interesting character, but not much happens in this issue, other than the appearance of one of the most prolific guest stars in the New 52 on the final page – 3

Legion of Super-Heroes #8
More accessible and enjoyable than other issues for this title, but still a long way off my sweet spot … I did appreciate more attention being given to Cosmic Boy, Saturn Girl and Lightning Lad – characters I’m a little more familiar with – 3

DC Universe Presents #8
The next chapter in the Challengers of the Unknown feature, I found this issue a lot more relatable and engaging … it’s still not quite to my tastes, but at least I ‘got’ this one – 3

Captain Atom #8
This title seems to work best when CA is portrayed as the New 52′s Doctor Manhattan – who ironically was reportedly partially inspired by CA – and while this issue, which features the hero interacting with his future (alternate?) selves and travelling forward in time to stop an impending apocalypse, seems Manhattan-y it doesn’t quite hit the mark – 3

Green Lantern Corps #8
I have always found the political aspect of the GLC – usually involving the Guardians – my least favourite part and this issue has it in spades, along with a healthy helping of Alpha Lanterns, who I also dislike … and on top of all that, it’s such a dull issue that writer Tomasi had to throw a pointless bar fight in to inject some action – 2.5

Justice League #8
Other than the last three pages this issue was just too dumb to be enjoyable, while the Shazam back-up story has also taken a bad turn – I didn’t like it when elements of the Age of Apocalypse started leaking over into normal Marvel continuity and the same goes for Flashpoint concepts – 2

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #6 (of 6)
I stopped reading these a long time ago, sorry – NA

 

If you haven’t already, check out the reviews and from earlier this month:

Part 26

Part 27

Part 28

Part 29

Part 30

Part 31

7 Responses to DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 32

  1. wwayne says:

    I know it’s the umpteenth time I write an off topic comment, but I had an interesting “conversation” about comic readers, and I wanted to know what each of you thinks about it:
    http://ridiculouslyawesome.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/justice-league-and-cheerios-go-perfect-together/#comments

    • ikeebear says:

      Absolutely agree that the comics industry needs to market itself better. I think breakfast cereal is a good avenue for doing it.

      Here’s a question – what’s more profitable Angry Birds or the Justice League comic? I marvel over the fact that AB costs very little to get but it’s not hard to see that millions of people paying $2 each is better than 250,000 people paying $5 each.

      I think comics, especially digital, aren’t pricing themselves very strategically and bigger circulations would create more revenue opportunities (e.g. advertising).

      • xxadverbxx says:

        … I got Angry Birds for free… Who is paying $2.00 for it?

        As for cereal, well are a lot of these comics now really kid friendly? I think of advertising with comic-based cereals (or any other type of cartoon character) and I always view it for younger kids. Mostly elementary based level, and a lot of the comics I at least peek at are not that suited for such a young demographic.

      • ikeebear says:

        The first time I got Angry Birds for my wife’s phone it cost $2. I assume it becomes free once they hit a certain number of sales and then they just view it as a promotional tool for the next release. I’m not sure quite how they do it, but the point still stands that they are making a lot of money out of something with a very small to non-existent price point.

        As for age-appropriateness, I think that’s why Johns’ Justice League is remarkably “simple” … it’s a push to make it more appealing to younger readers, in my opinion. I’m not sure if that’s the right strategy. I think you can tell good, accessible stories that aren’t dumb. Until that ill-advised Omega-Thingy crossover, Avenging Spider-Man was doing a great job of it.

  2. wwayne says:

    @ xxadverbxx: Totally agree. It seems that DC writers know that a large part of comic readers is aged > 20 years, so they don’t even try to make their stories intelligible for a younger public. We could say the same for DC movies: Batman Begins and The Dark Knight are wonderful, but I doubt that even a smart kid could perfectly understand their plot, or watch some of their scenes without being disturbed.

    • ikeebear says:

      But that’s cool because there was also The Batman and then later Batman – Brave and the Bold … so if you do snag the kiddies with those, then they have some deeper content to explore as they mature.

      No doubt DC want to broaden their appeal, but I also see why they cater for an older audience – one that has greater disposable income. As I said above, though, I think Johns’ Justice League is evidence of them trying to cater for that wider audience (is it working).

      • xxadverbxx says:

        In terms of Angry Birds, I thought I heard someone say you had to pay for iPhone, for apple can be dumb like that. That matter, I heard it said iPhone had to pay for a lot of stuff that Droid users got for free…

        Don’t forget too Batman TAS. It was simple and while there was fighting, not a lot of gruesome violence. It was (along with Spiderman and X-Men) what I grew up with watching as a kid to first get me into comic characters. Story there was pretty simple too, at least for most the episodes.

        As for Justice League though, kind of figured that was just for while Johns can have some really good ideas and (in general) stories, I don’t think I’ve ever really read anything by him that was that complex. Either way, I can see teenagers getting into a lot of the stories, but I still would view cereal again with cartoons on them (no matter what the cartoon) to be more a push towards kids younger than teens. And younger than teens it may still be a bit much for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

