Avengers vs. X-Men: so far

ImageSo I asked my comic shop to place everything dealing with Avengers vs. X-Men into my pull list, and wanted to give a little info on it.  I’ll be working this like ikeebear’s “One Sentence Review“, I just don’t know if I’ll make a new post each week or every other.

General thoughts is I like this.  Not quite sure I fully enjoy the reasoning behind everyone’s actions, but I am at least enjoying the epic fights going on.  This isn’t something you need to follow every title to understand though as more key scenes are often repeated between issues.  A good thing generally, but it can be rather repetitive if you are trying to read everything like I am to see the same scene five times over from a slightly different angle.  That being said, some issues are also just handled better than others.  If I missed something, please let me know btw!

Wolverine and the X-Men #9
Like the rest of the series, this is wonderfully done starting off with a quick reference to the last issue, to seeing Captain America only manage a B- grade with the Danger Room, and of course seeing Logan’s struggle over what he should do in this situation (among a few other things) – 4.5

Avengers vs. X-Men 1 of 6
If you want just the fights, this seems to be the issue to go to as we see Magneto vs. Iron Man and Thing vs. Namor (the first being by far my favorite of the two) getting to see the thoughts of both characters, as well as getting a few random but still fun facts tossed in – 4.5

The New Avengers #25
I admit I have absolutely no idea who Master Yu Ti is (and that matter, very little knowledge of the Iron Fist) but I don’t care – this issue is easily read by itself with a great story and pacing to it that I just loved – 4.0

Uncanny X-Men #11
This contains an interesting fight between Colossus and Red Hulk that may seem a bit too filled with Piotr’s thoughts, I mostly found it interesting; this issue also contains a very interesting escape of Hope’s and the end having an even more interesting move made pulled off by Scott – 3.5

Avengers vs. X-Men Round 1
This is really where it starts showing us the beginning of things for both sides as well as the actual first punch – or optic blast – being thrown; this also contains probably the most reused scenese across other titles – 3.0

The New Avengers #24
If you’re a fan of Luke Cage, you’ll probably love this issue as it focuses on him – personally though I’m not (at least not this much) and while seeing Steve’s meeting to all the Avengers before going to Utopia is interesting, most of the Cage stuff bore me giving this a – 3.0

Avengers vs. X-Men #0
This is more or less build up for some characters on both sides with the first story being mostly filler followed by an interesting reunion, and the second mostly showing some teenage rebellion – 3.0

Avengers #25
Hardly a thing in this issue deals with AvX, so I feel the banner on the top of the cover is a bit misleading here… suppose it was interesting to see Captain America struggling with his position – 2.5

Secret Avengers #26
Maybe for I’m not a huge fan of most the members (or the art style in this issue) but I just don’t like this story, it feels like something bigger is going to be coming from it in the future, just not in this issue – 2.5

Avengers vs. X-Men Round 2
This could have been a great issue, but part of it feels much like the starting line of Superman #1 – “a throw-back to an earlier age of comics” thats very text heavy with captions trying to describe just how epic the fights are… well it doesn’t work at all – 2.0

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

