Justice League: DOOM (movie review)

“I’ve carefully studied every Justice Leaguer, past and present, and created contingency plans to neutralize you should that become necessary.”  ~Batman to the Justice League

SPOILER WARNING!

This is an animated movie of the comics Tower of Babel and I heard one other one.  Sorry, I can’t recall which one at this moment.  Comic adaptation or not, this could almost fit in with the DCAU’s Justice League series.  Of course if the Flash was Wally instead of Barry, and Green Lantern wasn’t Hal but John.  This comes with the old DCAU cast though, which simply is amazing.  Joining it would be Bumper Robinson as Cyborg.  I have to admit when it was shown Flash was Barry, it made hearing Michael Rosenbaum in the role seem a little off for the rest of the film.  Him having voiced Wally West for all those years teamed up with the rest of the DCAU cast just came off a little wrong to me.  Also, I wish they got Khary Payton from the Teen Titans cartoon for the voice. A gain though, it may be for my time watching the TT cartoon that stuck his voice as Cyborg.  Not that Bumper did a bad job, I just think Khary’s voice is a little deeper which, personally, I feel fits the character a little better.  Plus, I’d have loved to hear TT Go’s Cyborg in a little more of a serious role than he typically got in the series.

That’s enough on the fine cast of voice actors though.  The story of course is gold, after all the DC animated films tend to go for some of the better stories that came from comics and transform them to fit into a movie.  Basic premise being anyone who knows a little about comic Batman, or even just watched the old DCAU should have heard Batman has a contingency plan for just about every hero.  Well we get to see those very plans stolen and used by Vandal Savage and his Legion of Doom to take out the Justice League.

As already stated, the story is gold.  Action wise I find it peaking in the middle with the Justice League members dealing with Batman’s contingency plans for them.  Things after just didn’t come across as quite high stakes.  Considering what they were up against though, maybe it wasn’t suppose to.  In the end, this finishes with a cliffhanger that will probably never be answered in a DC animated movie.

Special Features:  I’ve always enjoyed the special features on these.  Sadly I have to get back to an assignment and sleep soon so I don’t have the time to check through everything right now.  There is a preview for a “Superman vs. the Elite” movie which of course sounds amazing.  The other one I got to peeking at was the “Cyborg: His time has Come” feature.  It talks about the character and his creation, and that they actually kept him toned down in terms of his power and why.  Marv Wolfman and Geoff Johns both are prominent speakers in this, and Johns even goes into why Cyborg was added in as a member of the Justice League for DC’s new 52.  Even those not too high on anything beyond the movie, I highly suggest you at least check that one out.

Features also include “Bruce Timm’s top picks” being the Wild Cards episodes of JLU, audio commentary, a Dwayne McDuffie story, Batman and the JLA look, Tower of Babel preview, and of course trailers.

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

5 thoughts on “Justice League: DOOM (movie review)

    • I apologize for that, and have tweaked the review a slight bit to try and not ruin things for future readers. If you’ve enjoyed DC animated things in the past though, I still would say its worth checking out. Nothing else, seeing the plans set up for each member of the League I’d say is worth it.

  1. Finally got around to watching this yesterday. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t my favourite of the animated films. I don’t think I’d buy it, which is my measure for real success with these animated films.

    • I enjoyed the first half. Once each of them had dealt with the things designed to take them out, it tapered down in terms of how much I enjoyed it. Still, if you have access to the movie I’d at least suggest you check out the ending. I’m sure both of you can pretty much figure out how it goes, but still seeing Batman mouth off to the rest of the Justice League is entertaining.

Leave a Reply

