Dear DC,

I’m moving to Marvel.

[read more]

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

2 thoughts on “Dear DC,

  1. I can’t say I blame you. I will say, though, that I think Marvel is prone to some of the same issues at times. In my experience, the best long term options in terms of quality and consistency are creator-owned comics. All big company titles experience creator changes that make them highly inconsistent … and that’s not even considering big, crazy editorial decisions like the New 52 (and burdensome crossovers, which I hate). My philosophy with Marvel/DC is to follow creators (especially writers) I trust, enjoy titles while they are enjoyable and be ready to move on when it all sours.

    In terms of Marvel, right now I’d recommend Avenging Spider-Man, Daredevil and, of course, Deadpool. Punisher isn’t too bad. Most of these are early into their current run, so they’d be relatively easy to jump onto (which is why I’m reading them, I guess). I steer clear of X-Men books. I used to read them obsessively, and I think I burnt out the part of my brain that X-Men comics appeal to.

    • I’ve been reading Avenging Spiderman. I’ve really enjoyed it, but it feels too thin for a 3.99 price tag (unless part of that price actually is for the second digital copy – that I then feel upset they are forcing it on me). Wolverine and the X-Men has been really fun so far, and Deadpool has yet to let me down. I have a few other Marvel titles I’m picking up now too that I’m less sure of.

      And yeah, follow writers. Like Snyder hasn’t let me down yet, and I’ll be keeping an eye out for more of Brandon’s stuff now. Simone has sadly really been letting me down with the new Batgirl and part of that is the writing, but part may be that no matter how good it is I don’t know if I’d ever be convinced taking Babs out of the chair and removing Steph as being Batgirl was a good decision. In the opposite side, I’ll keep away from anything that lists Didio as a writer or that has Liefeld anywhere tacked onto it.

Leave a Reply

