DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 20

Okay, this is it.  This is the week in which all of my One Sentence Reviews will be genuine, single sentences.

Every week I bend, twist, break, coerce, violate and traumatise the English language in order to squeeze most of what I want to say into mega-mutant sentences.  I don’t apologise for indulging myself in this way because I enjoy it too much.

But this week, just to prove that I can do it, I’m going to play by the rules.  I have no idea what next week will bring.

As usual, each comic is scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain.

I have also reviewed the mini-series issue from this week but it isn’t included in the leaderboard.

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

 

Justice League Dark #5
It took a little too long to get there, but the conclusion of JLD’s first story arc is highly satisfying and Janin’s art is simply beautiful – 4.5

Aquaman #5
I’m sure ‘Aquaman in a desert’ has been done before, but probably not as well as this, with four almost wordless opening pages perfectly summed up by one little speech bubble – 4.5

Batman – The Dark Knight #5

Finch really steps up with the artwork in this issue, which maintains the recent improvement for this title and features an entertaining Superman guest appearance – 4

Blackhawks #5

I hope writer Costa gets a higher profile gig soon after this title is cancelled because he’s done a great job of making characters and situations I initially didn’t care about consistently entertaining – 4

Justice League #5

Lee’s Darkseid looks amazingly badass and Johns’ Green Lantern is a massive frakkin’ moron, and that’s more or less how the previous issues of this high octane, blockbusting – but not too bright – title have been – 4

Teen Titans #5

Basically just a giant brawl, this issue has plenty of action; but a very predictable change of heart for a certain character is a little rushed and its trigger not overly convincing – 4

Green Lantern – New Guardians #5

As should be expected from this title’s mismatched group of ring-slingers, there are some interesting character interactions in this issue, in which the ‘Skittle Squad’ tries to unravel the mystery of the Orrery – 3.5

I, Vampire #5
One of the first comments a fellow read/RANT reviewer made about this title was the awkwardness of having it set in the DCU, and this issue highlights that point with a guest appearance by Batman that never quite feels right – 3.5

Voodoo #5

An interesting twist, in conjunction with the simple plotting and fast pacing that have been hallmarks of this title so far, made this issue better than average (full review here) – 3.5 

The Flash #5

I’m glad to see the back of the ‘Mob Rule’ story line, even though – as with some previous issues – outstanding artwork and some cool ideas for how The Flash uses his powers saved this issue – 3.5

The Fury of Firestorm #5

This was one of the better issues of the series so far, with some delving into the characters of the two heroes and examination of the whole Firestorm situation, but it still hasn’t won me over yet – 3

All Star Western #5

After an improved #4 and a strong start, I was disappointed when this issue suddenly and inexplicably turned into a bad remake of The Descent, and the back-up story didn’t push my buttons – 2.5

Legion – Secret Origin #4 (of 6)

From what I know about the Legion’s origin this is so far a standard rehashing of how the young heroes came together, so what exactly is “secret” about this miniseries – 2.5

Superman #5

I wonder if there is anyone out there who really loves Perez’s exceptionally wordy writing style, because – while it was 1am and I was admittedly sleep deprived and I’d just endured Hawkman #5 – this issue literally put me to sleep – 2

The Savage Hawkman #5

Ah, my old sparring partner, The Savage Hawkman … while this is one of the least loathesome issues of the title so far, it’s still a crap issue of a terrible comic book series – 2

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and those from earlier this month here:

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

 

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

 

LEADER BOARD

1.  Swamp Thing  4.4  (4.5)  5

2.  Animal Man  4.2  (4.5)  5

3.  Batman  4.1  (5)  5

=4.  Aquaman  (4.5)  5

=4.  Resurrection Man  4  (4.5)  5

6.  Justice League Dark  3.9  (4.5)  5

7.  Batman and Robin  3.9  (3.5)  5

8.  Batwoman  3.8  (3.5)  5

=9.  Batwing  3.7  (4)  5

=9.  Green Lantern Corps  3.7  (4)  5

=11.  Birds of Prey  3.7  (3.5)  5

=11.  Blue Beetle  3.7  (3.5)  5

=11.  I, Vampire  3.7  (3.5)  5

14.  Stormwatch  3.6  (4.5)  5

=15.  Green Lantern  3.6  (4)  5

=15.  Justice League   3.6  (4)  5

17.  Wonder Woman  3.6  (3.5)  5

=18.  Batman – The Dark Knight  3.5  (4)  5

=18. Blackhawks  3.5  (4)  5

=18.  Teen Titans  3.5  (4)  5

21.  Detective Comics  3.5  (3.5)  5

22.  Batgirl  3.4  (4)  5

23.  Supergirl  3.4  (3.5)  5

24.  Demon Knights  3.4  (3)  5

=25.  Action Comics  3.3  (4)  5

=25.  Catwoman  3.3  (4)  5

=25.  Suicide Squad  3.3  (4)  5

28.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  3.3  (3.5)  5

29.  Nightwing  3.2  (3.5)  5

=30.  Captain Atom  3.2  (3)  5

=30.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.2  (3)  5

=32.  The Flash  3.1  (3.5) 5

=32.  Justice League International  3.1  (3.5)  5

=34.  Red Lanterns  3  (3.5)  5

=34.  Voodoo  (3.5)  5

=36.  Deathstroke  3  (3)  5

=36.  Superboy  3  (3)  5

=38.  Men of War  2.9  (3.5)  5

=38.  Mister Terrific  2.9  (3.5)  5

=38.  O.M.A.C.  2.9  (3.5)  5

41.  Static Shock  2.9  (2.5)  5

42.  DC Universe Presents  2.8  (3.5)  5

43.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.7  (4)  5

44.  All Star Western  2.7  (2.5)  5

45.  The Fury of Firestorm  2.5  (3)  5

46.  Legion Lost  2.4  (2.5)  5

47.  Superman  2.4  (2)  5

48.  Green Arrow  2.3  (3)  5

49.  Grifter   2.3  (2.5)  5

50.  Hawk and Dove  2 (2)  5

51.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.7  (1.5)  5

52.  Savage Hawkman  1.6  (2)  5

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

8 thoughts on “DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 20

  1. Teen Titans I felt almost bad for while Tim at least got a moment to shine and actually (finally) prove his worth to the others, Batman in Justice League still is just a joke. Also I know its a word but “This lasso is a grift from the gods” by WG really came off awkward to me when I read it.

    • As someone who is more on the Johns’ side of the Johns vs Morrison divide (I’ve been in more than a few online debates on the topic), I sometimes feel like I’m trying to defend Michael Bay movies. But, with the exception of The Rock and maybe Bad Boys, I really don’t like Bay movies. There’s no doubt that Morrison is capable of amazing stories and Johns’ work is generally pretty shallow. But on average, I find more of Johns’ comics entertaining than I do Morrison’s.

    • I actually think of Johns as being more like Cameron than Bay, but the point is the same (Cameron is just a lot more skilled than Bay).

      That said, I think Johns has been off his game for the past year or so. Flashpoint was quite disappointing and really suffered if you compared it to the Age of Apocalypse.

    • I would agree with that, although I actually quite liked Blackest Night (the core story, not the infinite tie-ins).

      I agree with the free reign comment too. It’s like Bendis over at Marvel. Too much influence.

Leave a Reply

