Review: Deadpool the musical (#49.1)

If you want to get into Deadpool and are afraid of jumping in blind – well this is the perfect starting point for you.

I’m really not sure what Daniel Way was thinking when he wrote this issue, but it works.  It also is literally a musical, but it still works.  Of course only Deadpool could get away with doing a musical comic book for though we would probably laugh at an issue of Wolverine: The Musical we would be doing so because it wouldn’t fit and be completely out of character.  Editor Jordan D. White basically plays radio D.J. for the issue for that matter, letting us know what song we should be thinking of at the current moment while reading through this issue so note: It does actually help the flow if you are familiar with the current tune.

So the premise of this musical is rather simple, its retelling the big events that Deadpool has gone through lately.  A recap issue musical that stretches all the way back to Deadpool’s fight vs. Wolverine in Wolverine: Origins #21-27 that started back in 2006.  After that it goes through other major events, all which by the way are at least mostly collected already in a trade paperback.  Only the last few parts of this musical I’m not sure is collected into a trade or not yet, but as I own a good portion at least I will list them for you later.

As such though, if you want to get into Deadpool, this is a great time to do so as it will give you a run through of what Deadpool has been up to since 2006.  And for anyone interested in the trade versions this is collected in or the issues, well here:

  • Wolverine Origins: Deadpool (Wolverine Origins #21-27)
  • Deadpool: Secret Invasion (Deadpool #1-5)
  • Dark Reign: Deadpool Thunderbolts (Thunderbolts #130-131 & Deadpool ##8-9)
  • Deadpool: Dark Reign (Deadpool #6-7 & #10-12) <– this contains maybe my favorite comic fight ever
  • Deadpool: X Marks the Spot (Deadpool #13-18)
  • Deadpool: Monkey Business (Deadpool #19-22 & Hit-Monkey #1)

I’d assume the last few pages of the musical will cover at least most of the issues between 22 and 44 or so.

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

One thought on “Review: Deadpool the musical (#49.1)

  1. I was curious what this issue was about, and truth be told my Deadpool readings have been lax the past several years. I would greatly enjoy catching up so that I can better understand DEAD, so maybe this musical is right up my alley. Great post!

Leave a Reply

