Review: Legion Lost #5

It’ll sound like a bad pun, but I’ll say it anyways.  Legion Lost, you have lost me.

So after the first issue, I had been enjoying this series.  Nothing great, nothing I absolutely could not wait until the next issue came out to continue the story. The story has mostly been steady, and as a new reader to the Legion group I’ve been enjoying how Nicieza has focused mostly on one member per issue.

So what has the series done to lose me?  Well, its a number of combinations, and the first I’ll mention (and very minor bit) being I’m just not a fan of Tellus so far, and he was the focus of this story.  A far bigger part is something I have hinted a bit in a couple of comments at least that in a week or two I will make a full post on.

Otherwise, its the lack of death!  The first issue started with a team of seven.  Though issue 1 was my least favorite issue by far, Nicieza at least set some stakes by killing off two of the characters at the end of the issue!  Even if I didn’t really care about the deaths myself, it helped set some meaning, and was something that carried with the next few issues.

Then the end of issue 4 brought back one of those supposedly killed members.  That char at least needs some help getting out of her situation.  This issue though brings back the other ‘killed’ character, and he just shows up shouting “LIKE SPROCKIN’ JUPITER” like he’s just popping by from a slight vacation.  Maybe it fits the character (I don’t know), but it really kills the meaning of death in this series for me.  That matter, it won’t help me in terms of deaths for the rest of DC, despite what Blackest Night was suppose to have done.

The only saving grace this comic may have (and that may cause me to flip through the next issue on shelves) is Martian Manhunter’s appearance.  Still, he oddly announces himself in third person which kind of kills any epicness his arrival really had for me.

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

