DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 16

As foreshadowed last week, I’m still playing catch-up on my comic book reading/reviewing, but here is last week’s (the final week of the #4 issues) New 52 One Sentence Reviews.

Each comic is scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain.

I have also reviewed the mini-series issue but it isn’t included in the leaderboard.

Warning, there could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

Batman – The Dark Knight #4

I REALLY enjoyed the overarching theme of this issue, which focuses on how Bruce’s mission affects the people in his life (and not for the better) and his fear of hurting the people he cares most about … it’s something I could relate to, even just from the perspective of trying to balance work and family life – 4.5

I, Vampire #4

One of the real surprise packets of the New 52 for me, this title continues to impress with #4 as we’re further reminded of just how special Andrew is … although I’m hoping for some escalation in the conflict with Mary soon, as this was the second issue in the row that felt a bit like a “meanwhile” storyline (although a very good one) – 4

Teen Titans #4

Part of me doesn’t want to enjoy this title (I’m not fully sure why), but regardless I am digging it … writer Lobdell could have dialled back the “Wow, she/he is really hot, but I have to punch her/him in the face” inner-monologues during the Wonder Girl-Superboy fight, but I’m finding his take on Kid Flash to be very entertaining – 4

Green Lantern – New Guardians #4

We’re slowly working our way back up to the high standard set in #1, as this issue pushes the storyline forward and even makes it seem plausible that this wildly disparate group can (and should) work together, and I get a sense that this title is going to be VERY important to overall GL continuity with it directly addressing some of the wackiness the Guardians have been demonstrating recently – 4

Justice League Dark #4

I was really hoping for this issue to escalate (I’m getting good use of this word this week, but it’s 5am and my two-week-old daughter is waging a personal war on my sleep cycle, so no apologies) matters but it seems to me that the threat Enchantress presents is more or less the same we saw back in #1, with the team very, very, very slowly being drawn together to respond to it … don’t get me wrong, I’d still eagerly recommend this title, but I now want writer Milligan to get on with it – 3.5

All Star Western #4

The strongest issue for this title so far, it has all of the strengths of #1 without the bloated narration that really annoyed me – 3.5

Aquaman #4

While still being relatively entertaining, this was a disappointing conclusion to the Trench storyline, as – Aquaman’s moral dilemmas aside – there wasn’t a lot in it for a reader wanting more than just a fairly obvious ending – 3.5

Blackhawks #4

This title continues to be very consistent and frequently entertaining and, while the artwork has been better in previous issues, #4 raises the stakes and ramps up the action for the New 52’s GI Joe wannabes – 3.5

Voodoo #4

The best part of this title so far is its simplicity and writer Marz seems to understand that and is delivering consistently entertaining issues … it’s not a comic I especially want to read, but I never dislike reading it – 3.5

The Flash #4

While Manapul’s artwork is top-shelf, I feel like this title is one of the biggest disappointments of the New 52, as I thought it was time for the character to step up as a major player in the DCU (and gain similar prominence to Batman and Green Lantern) … the Mob Rule storyline hasn’t really delivered that despite occasional cool ideas and scenes – 3

Legion – Secret Origin #3 (of 6)

While I haven’t really connected with any of the Legion books since the relaunch, this was one of the better ones, with the “formative days” allowing it to showcase the key characters without getting lost in the vastness of the full cast – 3

Superman #4

I’ll admit that I’m not a big Superman fan, but I’m really not enjoying what writer Perez is doing here … it continues to be overly wordy (and consequently boring) with too big a focus on the media and relating themes – 2.5

The Fury of Firestorm #4

I almost wonder if this title is purposefully nonsensical, as the inherent coolness of the Firestorm premise (even with the radical changes that they’ve made with the establishment of two Firestorms) and any hope of solid characterisation are lost in a confounding tangle of international scientific intrigue … plus it’s always a bit meh when the hero/es aren’t particularly special and we’ve seen a heck of a lot of “Firestorms” in the first four issues – 2

The Savage Hawkman #4

I think I actually hate this title – 1

 

If you haven’t already, check out last month’s reviews and those from earlier this month here:

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

LEADER BOARD

1.  Swamp Thing  4.38  (4.5)  4

2.  Animal Man  4.13  (3.5)  4

3.  Batman and Robin  4  (4)  4

4.  Batman  3.88  (4.5)  4

=5.  Batwoman  3.88  (4)  4

=5.  Resurrection Man  3.88  (4)  4

7.  Aquaman  3.88  (3.5)  4

8.  Blue Beetle  3.75  (4.5)  4

9.  Birds of Prey  3.75  (4)  4

10.  I, Vampire  3.75  (4)  4

11.  Justice League Dark  3.75  (3.5)  4

=12.  Green Lantern Corps  3.63  (3.5)  4

=12.  Wonder Woman  3.63  (3.5)  4

14.  Batwing  3.62  (4)  4

=15.  Demon Knights  3.5  (3.5)  4

=15.  Green Lantern  3.5  (3.5)  4

=17.  Detective Comics  3.5  (3)  4

=17.  Justice League   3.5  (3)  4

19.  Batman – The Dark Knight  3.38  (4.5)  4

=20.  Stormwatch  3.38  (4)  4

=20.  Teen Titans  3.38  (4)  4

22. Blackhawks  3.38  (3.5)  4

23.  Supergirl  3.38  (3)  4

=24.  Captain Atom  3.25  (4)  4

=24.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  3.25  (4)  4

26.  Batgirl  3.25  (3.5)  4

27.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.25  (3)  4

28.  Catwoman  3.13  (3.5)  4

=29.  Action Comics  3.13  (3)  4

=29.  Nightwing  3.13  (3)  4

=29.  Suicide Squad  3.13  (3)  4

=32.  Deathstroke  3  (3)  4

=32.  The Flash  (3) 4

=32.  Justice League International  3  (3)  4

35.  Superboy  3  (2.5)  4

36.  Static Shock  3  (2)  4

37.  Voodoo  2.88  (3.5)  4

38.  Red Lanterns  2.88  (3)  4

=39.  All Star Western  2.75  (3.5)  4

=39.  Men of War  2.75  (3.5)  4

41.  O.M.A.C.  2.75  (3)  4

42.  Mister Terrific  2.75  (1.5)  4

43.  DC Universe Presents  2.63  (3.5)  4

44.  Superman  2.5  (2.5)  4

45.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.38  (3)  4

=46.  The Fury of Firestorm  2.38  (2)  4

=46.  Legion Lost  2.38  (2)  4

48.  Grifter   2.25  (3)  4

49.  Green Arrow  2.13  (2.5)  4

50.  Hawk and Dove  2 (2)  4

51.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.75  (2)  4

52.  Savage Hawkman  1.5  (1)  4

About ikeebear

I'm a 30-something father, husband, writer, comic collector, general nerd (in order of significance). I'm a newspaper journalist/editor by profession and currently work in professional communications. I'm also a very ill-disciplined novel writer, having tinkered for too long to produce too little.

Leave a Reply

