Review: Batgirl #3

Simone, what’s happening here?

SPOILER WARNING!

So I opened it up, read the first line, and I was appalled.  It starts off with Batgirl thinking how proud she was for having tracked down a killer all by herself for a moment and that she figured she was hot stuff for it.  If someone out there doesn’t know why that would appall me, well it just came off as a HUGE backwards step for the character.  Yes it has been a while, but she’s been Batgirl before.  This is not her starting adventure!  Beyond that, she worked around 3 years as Oracle (as of now, I’m still assuming Oracle is a part of history) and on a daily basis was figuring out dozens of things including helping people like the Birds and even Batman to track someone down.  So yeah, the starting lines gave me a sour taste for this issue, but it at least picks up a little.  And I mean a little.

Batgirl basically rushes off to find the bomb and save the guy.  During this entire time her inner monologue decides to tell us EVERYTHING about Mirror from his motive to who he is and blah blah blah.  Basically, all the crap we learnt about him in issue 2 is being told now.  It’s so heavy and the fact that it basically is letting us know what went on just the previous issue seems pointless and bores the hell out of me.  I suppose if someone decided to start off Batgirl at this issue it may be good, but I digress.   Ignoring all that, the action at least is pretty good in this section, though it leaves us on a cliffhanger.

To cut away, we get what I feel is pretty much a pointless page about our good Detective McKenna.  Basically begging to come back early just to get a no.  I suppose the fact that she’s apparently going to look into the background of Batgirl is the point of this scene though.  Interestingly enough, she’s going to be doing it on three computers that appear like they’re from the early to mid 90s.  I’m sorry, but that doesn’t help the argument against this relaunch being a return to the 90s image comic days some people have >.>  Seriously, just one current computer would be better than 3 that seem like they were made nearly 20 years ago.   Back on track, this also swings us right into Babs going to talk to her dad.

With the lunch date turned down though, we cut away to a new night.  Batgirl is getting back her bike from the first issue out of the impound lot to have Nightwing show up.  Not a bad scene I guess, though I say that mostly for Babara’s thought that having Nightwing wrapped around her is nice.  Yeah, I’m a fan of the Dick/Babs relationship.  This also brings in something interesting.  “I didn’t like him when I first met him, a few years ago.  Not really.”  Babs’ internal monologue.  Apparently a few years ago she met him the first time?  Maybe I’m just looking too literally at the word few typically meaning 3 for that would place their first meeting around the time she got paralyzed.  Was he still Robin then, just a few years ago?  Did he help set her up as Batgirl now, like he had in Batgirl Year One?  She mentions working with him and Batman, so I would only assume Dick was Robin just a few years ago.  But she also thinks of that as them being kids.  Who thinks back three years and considers themselves a kid?  I know I don’t but oh damn you relaunch for all these questions you bring me!

Their little reunion goes on kind of nice for a while.  With a flash back even to them as kids (which looks much further back than three years ago).  Part of this reunion though is for Dick was a little worried Barbara was overdoing it.  Heck, her father was earlier in the issue and he doesn’t even know about her being Batgirl.  Barbara soon goes to being upset about this to the point of actually fighting Dick.  Something that seems to start off generally playful but soon goes into Babs taking things too far and really getting upset about Dick being concerned.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t get it and thus I didn’t like this.  This issue then ends with Dick basically being told to bugger off.

I’m sorry Simone, but you are losing me here with this new Batgirl.  Maybe I didn’t read enough things with Babs in it before the relaunch, but this version seems too angry and willing to lash out.  The villain plainly is rather stupid and sucks.  This issue at least was filled a bit too heavily with text to explain things to us.  Previous history (specifically time) comes up that only served to pull me back and confuse me.  So sorry again Simone for I’ve really enjoyed your things in the past, but this series hasn’t done it for me since the first issue.  A part of me actually hopes Barbara goes back into the wheelchair to be Oracle again and to get back Stephanie Brown as Batgirl!

Frankenstein: Agent of Shade #3

Superboy #3

more on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

3 Responses to Review: Batgirl #3

  1. Anonymous says:

    I keep reading this because I’m a batgirl/barbara gordon fan. But the characterization of batgirl reminds me of Dixon’s batgirl year one. It’s the same, trying to prove a point batgirl. It’s a characterization that works for a new hero but not the barbara gordon of late, the one that has been batgirl then oracle.
    but of course even if they did not retcon killing joke, DC has been mum whether babs was just a differently abled civilian or was oracle.

  2. lebeau says:

    I’m right there with you. This book isn’t bad, but it’s extremely disappointing. I get the impression DC still hasn’t decided whether or not Babs was Oracle. Basically, I suspect we’re not getting answers because the powers that be haven’t made up their minds yet. Sad.

  3. I enjoyed this issue, I am a Nightwing fan, as well as a fan of Babs. I was hoping this issue would give me a little more insight into the timing of everything. Every answer gives me two more questions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

