Gundam Age, a look at the newest Gundam series

I’m a pretty big Gundam fan and before the fourth episode aired, I thought I’d give a quick look at the newest Gundam series.

Plot:  So with only three episodes so far, the plot isn’t too thick.  What is out there so far has come off rather promising though.  Like many Gundam series, our main hero at least is a teenage boy.  He actually helps build the Gundam and when the Unidentified Enemy (UE) attack, he ends up being forced to pilot the Gundam to help protect his colony.  I admit I was reminded a little of Gundam SEED, but only slightly.

Characters

Flit Asuno is the main character here.  14 years old, he apparently comes from a family who are renown for building Gundams.  In fact we actually see him at age 4 or so when his colony was destroyed by the UE and being given the blueprints for his family’s latest Gundam.  I find his family a bit odd.  Obviously they were rich, but instead of a family photo or one of the “heads” of his family is a picture of a Gundam.  Either way, Flit was orphaned but managed to survive the UE attack.  Not sure if he’s just a ward of the state or what, as if anything I’d guess he’s living in some form or dorm.  He helps with building the Gundam that is shown above.  I’m not a big fan of his hairstyle, and it took me a moment to grow past his design.  Really look at his hair, looks like he has horns!

 Emily Amonde is one of Flit’s friends.  She goes to school with him, and I think has also helped with building the Gundam a little.  Or she hangs out with Flit and her grandfather as they work on the Gundam.  I’m not entirely sure at this moment.  She also seems to have a thing for Flit, or she may just care a lot about him.  Hard to tell, but nothing is definite at this moment.  Either way, I’m sure she’ll be around through the series and I hope her role will grow beyond just being someone for Flit to protect (like some characters pretty much were in SEED).

Vargas Dyson is Emily’s grandfather who looks a little bit like Dr. Eggman from the Sonic series.  If the icon isn’t enough notice, he’s one of the more cartoon-styled characters in this series.  Seems after the more serious Gundam 00 series, Age is going with at least a younger look even if their story hasn’t shown too much of a children-geared anime so far.  Anyways, he is one of the head developers it seems in working on the Gundam, though Flit actually outranks him.  Something we see early on as Flit actually scolds the old man for testing one of Gundam Age’s arms.  As a note, his name to me sounds like “Balgus” like the swords master in Escaflowne, but everyone else lists him as Vargas so who am I to go against the rest of the internet?

 Dique Gunhale is another friend of Flit’s.  Also, one of the more cartoonish looking characters in the series.  He helps Emily around in the second episode by driving her around, but otherwise there isn’t a lot to say about him at this moment.  If he sticks around, like I”m assuming he will through the series, I hope he’ll pick up some role so he won’t just be moral support and yet another person for Flit to worry about protecting all the time.

 Yurin L’Ciel gets saved by Flit in the second episode.  There is something off about her.  Literally, she appears to have some sort of ESP.  She knows exactly what way to send Flit so they can get out of the colony before it gets destroyed, and when more UE are coming to attack.  She even seems to have a way to pass this on a bit to Flit, or maybe she is opening some sort of Newtype ability in Flit.  She could also end up a love interest for Flit.

 Grodek Ainoa captains the ship Diva that is used to help save the colony’s residents from the UE.  His character is a bit mysterious though and it is unclear what his motives are.  Basically, is he a good guy or a bad guy?  He does some questionable things (to put it nicely) to become the captain but I still wonder if he did it for he has some motive behind it or was it simply because he wanted a change in position?  After all, he did help protect the colony and seemed to really be trying to for that matter.

 Lion-O!  Yes, I’m lying.  His name is Largan Drace, I just think he looks a good deal like Lion-O from Thunder Cats.  He’s a Mobile Suit pilot and I’m assuming he’s suppose to be good.  But the UE took him out in less time than it took Flit to board and start up the Gundam.  I’m sure he’ll have a better role later on.

 Gundam Age is the Gundam built from the designs Flit’s mother gave him before she died.  Despite Flit coming from a prestigious line of Gundam designers, at this moment it seems this is the only Gundam out there (not to mention the only machine capable of fighting the UE).  It has a neat feature where it records fights to link into a device that literally can make a new weapon capable of better taking on the enemy in less than a minute.

 Unidentified Enemy (UE) is so far at least the antagonist in this show.  Extremely strong with a dragon flight mode.  It is unsure if these things are alien (which seems to be the general thought) or humans in well designed mobile suites.  After all, these things do seem to be suits and not actual beings.

 Haro!  He’s become the mascot of Gundam series.  Kind of like moogles in Final Fantasy.

Gundam Age currently airs on TBS (Tokyo Broadcasting System) at 5pm Sunday if I’m not mistaken.  That’s 3am Sunday morning U.S. Central time.

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

6 thoughts on “Gundam Age, a look at the newest Gundam series

  1. It took me a bit to get over the character designs being so retro, but I’m starting to like them. Also, from what I understood from the first few episodes was that the Asuno family was just a line of Mobile Suit designers, not necessarily any of them being a Gundam.
    As for Flit, I like that he is more proactive in his being a pilot, at least so far. The fact that the Gundam is his “baby” is at least a more solid reason for him to be able to jump in and pilot it than most others.
    My biggest concern, though, is how they are going to move from Flit, to his son, to his son in the length of ~50 episodes without breaking momentum or having the UE become a stale enemy (assuming they stay the enemy the whole 100 years).

    • I never read the manga, so all this is new to me, but I’m sure they have a way. Or perhaps they’ll do one season (26 eps) with Flit, then a next season with his child, and next with grandchild…? I’m sure they have that figured out though.

      And I see your thought on his family just being good MS creators, but then that wouldn’t really explain the mural his parent’s house had of the Gundam and the story of it being some white knight basically.

      • The 100 years spanning 3 generations is from the promo material. Just from past experience with Gundam I’m expecting it to be ~50 episodes, but who knows what they might pull out especially since the split 00 into two seasons and a movie.
        As for the Gundam portrait, it’s because of its status as a sort of saviour that I’m hesitant to believe that the family built Gundams with any kind of frequency. This also leads me to speculate that Flit’s mother may have known something about the UE and that is the reason she was making plans for an MS based on the legendary Gundam. Either way, only time will tell.

  2. I really hope Yurin end up as Flit’s lover, I can’t stand Emily, she is as annoying as Flay in Seed(hope her die too like Flay).

    • I don’t mind Emily yet, but at this point she really has no point but to be a love interest. Which if that is all she really remains, then she’ll be almost as bad as Flay. Who was horrible.

Leave a Reply

