Review: Red Hood and the Outlaws #2

I had mixed feelings with the first issue and ultimately labeled it a “guilty pleasure”.   I enjoyed much of it, but Starfire’s over sexualization mixed in with seemingly forgetting (explained basically as not caring) her entire past on Earth did not sit well with me.  This issue doesn’t really explain the latter part, but it shouldn’t be upsetting anyone.  At least it didn’t for me.

This begins with a slight look at Jason’s past.  I’m a little confused on timeline portions actually, but the big thing for me is apparently not quite a year and a half ago he became Red Hood.  Before that though he had some really kick ass training by the All Caste.  He even made some friends!  Aww, how cute of Jason seeing him taken out in a second by a 2 foot tall extremely old woman!  From there we see Roy chilling with Jason in first class.  He’s apologizing profusely for sleeping with Starfire… Jason apparently doesn’t care, or at least is extremely tired of hearing Roy not shut up about it.  And for a note, this actually is taking place now about 3 hours before the end of issue 1.

Back on land we see Starfire pick them up in a limo.  And get this, she’s fully dressed!  Quite a bit of leg showing, but the skirt is a lot longer I think than what a lot of teenage and 20-something girls I see wear.  Beyond that, no cleavage and her arms are fully covered, oh and some 80s looking glasses that I question a bit.  Anyone shocked here?  I’ll admit I was for even ignoring last issue, Starfire’s does enjoy showing skin (Raven even said so in TT v3).

Taking a quick trip to a safehouse, Jason has to kill people (it really was him or them) and interestingly enough he shows some remorse about it.  A sign that he’s not quite the violent Red Hood he use to be – though we still know he’s not against killing at least yet.  After a bit more time (and a look at one really cool gadget Hood has), we catch up with the ending of issue 1.  We get another note that Hood really cared about those people and that he at least won’t resort to flat out killing right off the bat.  He also wasn’t as alone as he appeared in the end of the first issue, for Starfire and Roy are there to help him.

So in closing, this issue was good, even if it felt a bit slower than last issue.  Art is amazing which is done by Kenneth Rocafort.  Starfire, she only made one comment that can be taken as sexual, and that was more so Starfire not really knowing human ways.  No excessive scenes of her arching her back all over the place though or wearing a string bikini.  No sex scenes either.  My only complaint is we got no better explanation for her supposed lack of all things Earth.  No hints that she is faking it, no hints that something happened, no clue that what Jason said was really true (I still hope that isn’t the case).  At least in this issue though, that bit doesn’t really matter.  Besides the slight bit at the start, there was no dwelling on the past for anyone of them.

Batman #2

Birds of Prey #2

Catwoman #2

DC Universe Presents #2

Justice League #2

Nightwing #2

Supergirl #2

Wonder Woman #2

more on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

5 thoughts on “Review: Red Hood and the Outlaws #2

  1. So I guess everyone forgets what kind of costume Starfire wore in the 80’s, 90’s, and most of the 2000’s. I guess people also forget that she broke Dick Grayson’s heart by being an intergalactic whore. I guess people also forgot this isn’t Cartoon Network and Starfire fanservice is nothing new.

    • Funny you comment this here and not my #1 review or my post specific look on Starfire in the first issue, as those were the two things of mine that really get at how Starfire is portrayed.

      Anyways, I don’t think comic fans at least forgot how she liked to not wear a lot of clothing and that she tended to be eye candy. How it use to be portrayed though, vs to how it at least was portrayed in the first issue is a big difference.

      Also, when was Starfire “an intergalactic whore”? I know I don’t have a great and outstanding knowledge of all things Starfire, but I was under the impression she wasn’t a whore. So please, enlighten me on that one.

      You are correct though in stating this isn’t Teen Titans on Cartoon Network (or now, Boomerang). As the show still airs though and was at least a really big hit when it first aired, well I think DC probably missed a good opportunity to get some fans who enjoyed Starfire in that series by overly sexualizing her – again – especially in the first issue.

      I will now direct you though to another blog that seems to know much more about Starfire than I do, and relays what I thought were very good arguments against this new portrayal of Starfire.

      http://theragingfanboy.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/deconstructing-red-hood-and-the-outlaws-part-2-starfire/

Leave a Reply

