Review: Deathstroke #2

This should be short for there isn’t much to say on this besides it is one action packed issue!

SPOILER WARNING!

So his #1 had him out to leave a message, and this follows up on that.  Slade is having a meeting with the man who gave Christoph the job to give Slade.  After the pleasantries, Slade calls him out and shows him what was in the briefcase he was assigned to get (we still don’t see the contents though).  First Mikel (the contact) denies it but Slade calls him out and we find everyone else at the bar was hired to kill Slade if Mikel needed it – and he does.  From this point, the action is non-stop until just before the end.

Mikel runs, and Slade takes EVERYONE out so easily he stays right on Mike’s heels.  Yet, he lets Mikel run just to toy with him.  Just long enough to give him some hope before he blows the road up before Mikel’s vehicle, but the guy had enough time to call in his big guns.  Giant helicopters, heavily armored motorcycle-things, and more suddenly come out.  This time Slade takes some hits but his armor really holds up well before he once again starts tearing things up.  There even is an interesting panel where Deathstroke looks like he could be Deadpool (was this on purpose, or just by chance Bennett?).

Either way, in the end Mikel dies a bloody death and all this destruction brings the news which was just what Slade wanted: to show the world he’s still bad ass.  Christoph of course freaks out over this, but Slade pretty much tells him to calm down for it was all planned, Mikel was a middle-man only, and that he needs to call someone in to help him track down the original people who gave him the job.

The art by Bennett is amazing and Higgins has an almost solid issue here (high end destruction is always nice, especially with an actual body count).  I say almost though for very little really develops in the story itself – unless maybe for new readers who might have doubted that Deathstroke was a bad ass.  So I’m left loving the violence but in the mix of trying to figure out what to drop to save me money, I just don’t know if this has enough story to keep me interested in that regards.

Batgirl #2

Batman and Robin #2

Superboy #2

The Shade #1

More on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

One thought on “Review: Deathstroke #2

  1. For me, OMAC is action packed and fun. Deathstroke is action packed and pointless. I guess I prefer old-school comic book violence to splatter for shock value. I didn’t like this issue at all.

Leave a Reply

