Review: Batgirl #2

I feel like one of the few who enjoyed Simone’s Batgirl #1,

Luckily, this issue has the detective going after The Mirror instead of the slightly odd ending of her being extremely focused on Batgirl while Mirror was still in the room brandishing a gun at them.  Despite that, she still yells at Batgirl when she chases after Mirror when he grapples away (yes, he had a grappling gun too).

Oh, I should mention that all this time Babs is mentally beating herself up for freezing like she did and as she takes pursuit that she is still too out of practice and out of the chair to really be doing this.  Yet she is, and gets taken for a fool by the Mirror nearly falling to her death.  Oddly, the cab she crashes into yells at her to go to Metropolis to chase “Larry Luthor”?  Umm… okay?

BACK IN THE HOSPITAL (we literally get a tag informing us that if the panel’s image wasn’t proof enough) we see the detective refusing to be examined until Gordon shows up and tells her to do it.  Right as he is about to leave though the detective informs him that she needs a second warrant for the arrest “For Batgirl.  She’s back.”  This leaves me with a few questions like why does Jim seem surprised to hear that Batgirl is back, or is it just for the detective wants a warrant for her arrest?  That matter, how long was Batgirl not around for to be “back”?  I’m wondering if that means there was a gap between Steph quitting as Batgirl before Babs jumped back in, or if it means Steph was never around in this new universe to ever fill the role of Batgirl?  Oh man, I really hope it isn’t the latter, especially as Simone has stated before she’d still like to use Steph if allowed.

Anywho back to the story, we see Babs follow Mirror (man that is an odd name…) to a cemetery.  We find out a few things here.  One is that Mirror is strong as hell and can actually fight.  Strong enough in fact to nearly take out Babs in one punch.  The other main thing we get to see is that the inside of his cape is lined with mirrors.  They seem like normal mirrors and nothing magical or special so I guess the only shock value is the fact that his cape is lined with mirrors?  He finally runs off though as sirens come (apparently this is the last cemetery in Gotham and comes with security cameras that are watched) and Barbara is too beaten up to follow.

Heck, Babs is so beaten up she barely stumbles home and has to rely on ringing the doorbell and the roommate.  A roommate that I don’t really know anymore if I should like her or not.  She first threatens the doorbell by claiming she has a bat.  Then she patches up Barbara (who at least changed clothes) and puts her in her bed.  After that it comes to telling her not to get comfy, to set up her room, then suddenly going all woman avenger and asking if a boyfriend beat her.  Yep, her first instinct is a boyfriend did it.  At least we get a name for this roommate: Alysia Yeoh.

Another slight skip, we have Babs on a lunch date with her physical therapist; as far as I know at least a new character named Gregor who Barbara asked out (poor Nick and Dick).  More happens of course in this issue like Babs figuring out who Mirror is and a set up for next issue.  But it really isn’t a set up to Batgirl #3, instead the issue ends with “Next: Nightwing” so somehow this story will be branching into Nightwing, and I’d guess by the preview covers that Nightwing’s story will soon be branching as well into Batgirl’s soon.

How do I feel about this comic as one of the few actually wowed (in a good way) by the first issue of Batgirl?  Less impressed, though I still enjoyed it.  The sudden add on character Gregor for her to date I thought was a bit out there especially as pre-relaunch she was sort of seeing Nick and I’ve also always enjoyed Dick/Babs.  The Mirror is kind of a crappy villain if you ask me, especially after we find out his full M.O. but he serves his purpose well enough.  The roommate is extreme to the point she annoyed me this issue at least.  Mostly though, the time spent at least on Gregor I wished would have been better spent informing us either what happened with Stephanie (still hoping she’s part of this universe) and how Babs got her legs back.  Oh wait, her date with Gregor did sort of imply the use of her legs was just… some random miracle?  No no, that can’t be right.

Simone, you’ve been one of my favorite writers in the past and I really enjoyed the first issue!  But this one I feel is a step down from the last.  If you by chance happen to read this, please I’m asking you here to better explain how Babs is walking beyond it being chalked up as a miracle and more so explain where my beloved Stephanie Brown is!  I do appreciate that this issue had less awkward lines in it than the first, but I will hope for a better villain soon.

Batman and Robin #2

Superboy #2

The Shade #1

More on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

5 thoughts on “Review: Batgirl #2

  1. You and me both in being bummed about this issue. I’m really hoping the tie in with Nightwing will help bring things up. Hopefully too after the Mirror is out things can pick up.

    • Starting to seem that way. I figured issue one did enough addressing the fact that Killing Joke still happened at least (which I’m assuming meant she was Oracle) and how Babs was adopting to having legs again. This gave us nothing new though besides showing just how pathetic a villain Mirror is (he had some hopes issue 1). But yes, she really needs to get to answering that. Assuming that is she’s not being bared by editorial Didio…errr mandate.

  2. I rather like the Batgirl line. It is not a great comic, but I find it solid and I like the current story. My issue with the “issue” is actually the Mirror. Comics have this knack for creating a villain, making them difficult and unbeatable for a few issues and then you never hear of them again.

  3. My biggest problem so far is the narration. The plot is fine, but Simone normally writes such fantastic voices for her characters, whether its narration or dialogue, and here the narration especially is just really, really off-putting to me.

  4. I would have liked to see more time dedicated to the Brisby Killers, with Mirror perhaps foreshadowed and built up.

    The problems with Mirror, for me, are that he has been rushed, some aspects of the character botched and his motivations don’t ring true (even after the big reveal in #2).

    I think he could have been an excellent antagonist – like a twisted take on the Punisher, who projects his survivor’s guilt onto other survivors instead of perpetrators – but more needed to be invested in the character.

    Also, I think the whole “Mirror” thing doesn’t serve the concept very well, since he isn’t really showing his victims anything about themselves. It feels like a misnomer that detracts from what this character should be or even what a villain with a proper Mirror theme could be.

    On the flip side, I liked the fight scene, except for the punching through the statue. I liked seeing Babs take on a physically superior opponent. That was one of the bright sparks in the issue.

Leave a Reply

