Reviews: Penguin and Huntress


I thought I’d take a peak at two limited series that got launched this week; both of which are wonderfully done.

SPOILER WARNING!

The story is pretty simple here so I’ll skip my typical way of reviewing.  You get glimpses though of the Penguin’s life as a child, as well as his life right now.  The low down of what Hurwitz accomplishes with all of this?  That the Penguin is one powerful guy that you do not want to mess with.  If he wants something, he gets.  It doesn’t matter if that would be girls, jewels, what have you.  If you disrespect him by accident, he’ll let you live.  Just be prepared to have your life torn to shreds by every angle possible.

Kudranski’s art is wonderful with amazing coloring that fits the story’s mood by John Kalisz.  And Gregg Hurwitz?  I found this story to be rather simple but wonderfully written.  I will also say about Hurwitz’s writing that despite how good of a job he was doing, I was failing to see why I should continue on with this though.  That was until he brought in Batman at the very end of the issue to give people like me a reason to want to continue on with the story.

To move onto Huntress, well if you were a bit upset at the lack of females being portrayed strongly, we have her.  At least for six issues that I hear will connect into the Birds of Prey.  She shows up in Italy and despite a comment wondering how many corpses she’ll leave behind she starts things off non-lethal as she goes to stop a human trafficking ring which is doubles as a weapon transport.  So she basically is trying to shut down a human trafficking ring and one point after the next things just don’t seem to go as she plans.  To the point even she questions if Batman plans things better or if he’s just luckier.

Paul Levitz’s writing is nice.  As basically already stated he does a good job of writing what I’d at least figure as a strong woman and it is done without constant back arching, a lack of clothes, sex, or tons of scenes focusing on her assets.  Marcus To’s pencils and John Dell’s inks do a nice job with the art too showing an attractive young woman while not oversexualizing her.

Action Comics #2 (lebeau’s take)

Action Comics #2 (Cal’s take)

Detective Comics #2

Green Arrow #2

Justice League International #2

Men of War #2

Omac #2

Static Shock #2

Stormwatch #2

More on the New 52

read/RANT!

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

4 thoughts on “Reviews: Penguin and Huntress

  1. Hmmmm, but is Penguin set on Earth-2 like Huntress has been confirmed to be on the back page write up of all the issue #2s this week?

    • I’d have to check again, but I thought they were just saying the origin of the original Huntress was on Earth-2. I don’t think the Huntress seen in this issue is on Earth-2 at all.

      • I heard that this Huntress mini-series is suppose to tie her into and get her to rejoin the Birds of Prey. If that is true, then Huntress wouldn’t be Earth-2.

        As for Penguin, I don’t know and haven’t heard anything yet.

      • Good ol’ DC. They have 20 people on 20 different pages in terms of what this relaunch is and everyone else just doing what they’re told to while mostly confused like the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

