Review: Static Shock #2

Spiderman, eat your heart out.

SPOILER WARNING!

Did anyone miss issue 1?  If you did, well I’ll spoil the ending of that by stating Static got his arm cut off.  But then, you get to see that play out again at the very start of this issue.  Very interesting thing here is after Static’s arm gets sliced off he seems to instinctively send blasts all across the area he was over, one that hits and at least does some damage to Virule and more importantly his gun.  Actually, it may be that Static instinctively reached out and absorbed the power of the area around him for places black out and in an extremely interesting move Static’s arm reattaches itself.  Confused as how that happened?  Yeah, me to but then that’s okay for Static is too.  So arm back together Static makes a makeshift cast just to be safe before confronting Virule who ends up running away after he realizes his gun is broken.

So with Static safe, we get to see the bad guys in a panic.  They are shocked Static lived but Piranha claims they failed and that Static being able to reattach limbs apparently was just an excuse for their failure.  This section does hint that after Static this group plans to attack someone they consider to be the “most sophisticated, most powerful adversary” they will likely ever face.  Who that could be is unknown for they apparently need to deal with Static first and they come up with a pretty easy sounding way to figure out his identity.

So now what is up with Static’s arm?  Well he gets diagnosed and he has some swelling and a hairline fracture.  Nothing more nothing less.  The computer even tells him that he doesn’t even need a cast!  And he really has a neat computer as it offers him ways to improve his health not to mention that it would print out excuses to get him out of PE class and any physical labor at work.  And back at home his sister apparently has a doppleganger and both think they are Sharon…  I’m actually quite confused on this so I’ll jump ahead.

We get a short peek at Static in school and basically stumbling upon some information about his attackers, just to find himself soon following them later that day which ends up being another trap set up for Virule to face him.  This round Virule is better prepared and just as Static seems to gain the upper hand, Virule pulls things around and we end on another cliffhanger that seems Static’s life will soon end.  McDaniel’s writing here stays strong and Rozum and Owens art and coloring is nicely handled.  Must say I’m really surprised at this comic so far for while I enjoyed Static with the Titans, I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy him off on his own.  As stated though, so far I’m loving this and will definitely keep reading.

Action Comics #2 (lebeau’s take)

Action Comics #2 (Cal’s take)

Detective Comics #2

Justice League International #2

Men of War #2

OMAC #2

Stormwatch #2

More on the New 52

read/RANT!

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

Leave a Reply

