Review: I, Vampire #1

I, Vampire #1

When DC first announced the New 52, the fan community had a number of burning questions.  Among them: “What on Earth is this ‘I, Vampire’ and why is it being published?”  Even with the awesomely eclectic collection of ‘Dark’ titles DC announced alongside it, I think I, Vampire stood out to people as a particularly odd addition to the new DC Universe.  Initially, I wasn’t sure what to make of it either, but once I read writer Joshua Fialkov’s excellent crime-thriller Tumor, it jumped up on my list of titles to get excited for.  And I have to say: it was worth the excitement and the confusion.  I, Vampire #1 is an excellent new book.

In the early 1980s, J.M. DeMatteis and Tom Sutton created I… Vampire as a back-up in House of Mystery, one that briefly became very popular but then faded into obscurity as the supernatural became less and less in demand.  It followed Andrew Bennett, a vampire whose former lover was waging a war on humanity, as he tried to undo the mistake he made when he turned her into his kind.  It’s a powerful concept, and one that Fialkov and Sorrentino borrow from heavily in this new book.

Andrew is one of the most powerful vampires in the world.  Mary is one of the most vicious.  They were once in love, but now they’re driven apart by a bloody conflict engineered by Mary herself.  The book follows two separate story threads.  In the past, Mary tried to convince Andrew to join her, while Andrew tries to talk her out of it.  In the present, Andrew is forced to confront Mary’s bloody revolution for vampire independence, and decides to fight it – no matter what the cost.

With lush, gorgeous art by Andrea Sorrentino (and respect given to Marcelo Maiolo, who does fantastic work coloring Sorrentino’s art) and a striking premise, Fialkov has turned in one of the stronger openings for the New 52.  I, Vampire #1 is a beautiful book that defies your expectations at every turn.  Ignoring the bombast, the horror and the action that have defined many relaunch titles, it’s an exciting, understated character piece, one that will leave you clamoring for more.

- Cal Cleary

All-Star Western #1

Aquaman #1

Batman the Dark Knight #1

Blackhawks #1

The Flash #1

The Fury of Firestorm #1

Green Lanterns New Guardians #1

Justice League Dark #1

The Savage Hawkman #1

Superman #1

Teen Titans #1

Voodoo #1

more on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

13 Responses to Review: I, Vampire #1

  1. xxadverbxx says:

    I enjoyed this book and was very surprised at it thinking some crap garnered towards the Twilight crowd. It was a tasteful take on a classic look of vampires but with some tweaks like being able to move in the sunlight which I’m thankful did not include sparkling of any sort. Still, I’m having a hard time excepting this into the DC Universe. At least not as something that will last long. Vampires waging war against humanity while Andrew (basically DC’s version of Blade) goes against them? Something like this doesn’t seem like it could escape the superhero community.

    So yeah, it was lovely but tossing this into the DC Universe makes me feel it won’t last or fit in well in the long run. Maybe as a short event series, but not an ongoing series.

  2. Good review, I will buying the issue now for certain. My main wish for the series though is for there to be some interaction between the vampries and the main DC superheroes.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I’d at least assume it would happen. After all, it sounds like a vampire war against humans will soon be starting, so unless Andrew can end it soon and before it gets too big then I’d find it odd to not draw attention from DC heroes.

    • Cal Cleary says:

      One of Andrew’s main arguments AGAINST starting a war on humans is that Superman and the Justice League will stomp that revolution down right quick, and Mary suggests that she’s ready to deal with that.

  3. That’s good to hear, right i’m off to read issue #1 now :)

  4. lebeau says:

    I wasn’t as enthusiastic about this book. To be honest, I was sleepy when I read it and I had a hard time following the shifting time lines. Most of the story is told through captions and the only indication of which character is speaking is the coloring of the caption. And to my sleepy eyes, those colors were not distinctive enough.

    I certainly enjoyed the art and the uniqueness of the book. And I plan to give it a second look when I am better able to concentrate on what I am reading. In a way, it’s a compliment that the book challenged me and required more than a surface reading.

    I can’t say I’m clamoring for more. In fact, I’m a little concerned about the vampire/super hero conflict which seems to be coming. But I am impressed enough to stick with the book a while longer.

  5. M.Maiolo says:

    Thanks a lot, Man. It is really nice when readers see that there IS a colorist in the book! AHAUYAHAUHAA

  6. itsjosiahdavid says:

    I heard this and other NEw 52 horror books were doing very well

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

