Review: Deadpool #43

So I thought I’d take a slight break from DC to pick up one of my favorite Marvel characters: Deadpool!  Like usual, beware of possible spoilers!

To start, please please please bare with me here.  It’s been a long time since I’ve picked up anything Deadpool.  Furthermore, that means I sort of jumped into this story with my only clue of what happened last issue being the couple pages I glimpsed over at the store.  Also, this will be shorter than my average review mostly due to that (though that might actually be a good thing).

Pretty much, we get Deadpool trying to hide from the crazy doctor that helped him escape from a London prison.  Oddly enough, she finds him and made her own version of his outfit (which isn’t really flattering on her).  Deadpool, scared out of mind of this chick because she’s crazy takes her down then runs for it in his brand new escape vehicle.  Which happens to be a small three wheeled vehicle barely big enough to fit one man inside and soon ends up taking a ride with the queen herself which the artists manage to never actually show (why, I’m not sure…).

This is an entertaining comic and contains some classic Deadpool moments.  After all, who in the Marvel universe besides him can manage to sneak his way into the Queen of England’s carriage and spend almost six pages chatting with her?  Its good, possibly better for people who actually read the previous story that went into this, but not one of my favorite Deadpool moments.  Mostly, it didn’t seem to have as many off the wall Deadpool moments as I tend to like (aka: not a lot seemed to really happen in this issue).

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

9 thoughts on “Review: Deadpool #43

    • Yeah, I kind of figured on the Queen bit. I also kind of wish Deadpool did a bit more than just mostly talk nicely with her too, but again I think that can be chalked up to the fact they didn’t want to go too far to upset a Queen or her country.

  1. Finally got around to reading this one.

    It’s a shame this was your reintroduction to Deadpool because I think it was the weakest issue for a while. Not that it was all bad.

    I actually didn’t like the way DP treated Dr Whitby in general. She’s obviously keen to be his “Harley” and he doesn’t want any part of it but I’d like to see a better explanation as to why. It wasn’t that long ago he was porking (excuse the crudity) a yellow space hippo named Orksa.

    That said, DP’s mission to commit suicide by enraging the Hulk and then his eventual imprisonment/committal in the sanitarium-prison has been quite entertaining.

      • I think there’s only been a couple of flat spots in this whole run (since Secret Invasion). I really enjoyed Merc with a Mouth too, which was a hoot for the full 13 issue run.

        I finally stopped buying all the tie-in minis, though. I felt kind of abused by Marvel on that, which might be a bit of the reason why I haven’t been getting many Marvel titles lately … even accounting for the huge increase in DC consumption thanks to the New 52.

        You hear that Marvel? Don’t treat your fans like crap, serving slop to cash in on a fad, or bear the consequences. I just feel dirty that I rewarded the behaviour with my money for as long as I did.

      • Yeah, wasn’t Deadpool kind of fluctuating in what he was in and such? Then he got pretty famous and out of the blue he has six or so different ongoing series? I mean yikes!

        Still, Marvel does better I think at advertising their stuff (mainly the movies, which really helps bring people to comics) than DC has.

      • At first it felt like a joke that you were in on with Marvel – “Hey, Deadpool is suddenly famous, so we should oversaturate him while he’s got his 15 minutes and it’ll be funny.” Wink, wink, nudge, nudge.

        The quality was a little variable, but most of the stuff was still at least a bit of fun to read.

        Then the joke became a bit laboured and it felt like they were printing any and all DP drafts that came past their desks … then it kind of felt like the joke was on me – “Hey, let’s see how many crappy DP comics we can get these fools to buy before they finally realise we’re milking them.”

        Then it just seemed like a naked cash grab and there wasn’t any joke of any kind ever, just greed.

Leave a Reply

