Review: Legion Lost #1

Legion Lost is one of the many new comics in DC’s relaunch, and one I have to say I found good but a bit confusing.

SPOILER WARNING!

So I’m not that familiar on any Legion based stuff and as such, am entering into this comic basically as a fresh reader.  The comic enters on a good note of not really action, but seeing doctors trying to help someone who basically is being belligerent against them as he has some grudge against humans (and who the doctors cannot understand) and before we know it, the clinic blows up.  We then get put to the outskirts of the town, a small town in northern Minnesota (why there I have no clue at all), and we soon get treated to the Legion team’s space/time bubble entering and crashing.  Nicieza generally does a nice job of introducing us to the entire team with both names and at least what their basic powers are, and only in a few spots does it really come off as awkward or unnatural.

We find out that more than just their pod seems to be damaged and that some members are having problems adjusting to the current time due to this, but as all good heroes they soon head off to try and track Alastor who apparently was the injured man at the clinic.  One member – T Wolf –  who ran off on his own manages to catch up with Alastor just after he faints… Or maybe it was due to Wolf that Alastor passes out.  I’m unclear to which one it is.

We then jump back to the rest of Legion who apparently had all decided to let Wolf run off alone and are just focusing on fixing their Time Bubble or recuperating from the crash.  And of course as one of them finally decides to head off to help, Wolf appears with Alastor.  We then find out Alastor had brought back some pathogen that he released into the world and Legion’s best plan of action to combat it?  Take Alastor out and back to the future to slow down (but by no means stop) the spread of the pathogen that is never detailed what it will do.

On their way back, Alastor transforms, causes the Time Bubble to be destroyed, and though a telepathic shield is put up around some members, two members end up dead and Alastor is no where to be found.  This leaves Legion stuck in an unknown time, possibly infected with the unknown pathogen, and trying to figure out what to do.

Generally this is a good issue written by Fabian Nicieza and with art by Pete Woods.  As I mentioned before, Nicieza does a good job introducing the Legion team while mostly making it flow as he does it.  Pete Woods’ art is amazing, and Brad Anderson’s colors only add to it.  I’m a little confused why Wolf (I’m a little unclear I’ll admit to what his full name is) was allowed to run off completely alone when they went there as an entire team to retrieve Alastor.  A bigger confusion to me is just what time period did Alastor go back into the past and release this pathogen?  I kind of wonder if we’ll see any hints of this issue in other DC comics as I would guess that part happened present day so I would expect to, but we may not know until a couple issues have come out.  Another thing that I feel seems odd is that Legion went after Alastor knowing he had plans to release a pathogen but they seemingly had no hopes of stopping this besides just keeping it from being released in the first place.  Just sounds like poor planning to me, and mostly on the writer’s end unless he addresses that bit in the next issue.

So the bottom line is the comic is good, but partly due to the questions I was left out of it failed to fully real me in.  Another reason why it probably failed to grab my attention is besides maybe the pathogen, it doesn’t really feel like Legion Lost will have any consequences on any other comics in this new 52.  I could be wrong and plan on giving this a few more issues though before fully making up my mind if I’ll continue with it or not.

Batman & Robin #1

Deathstroke #1

Demon Knights #1

Frankenstein, Agent of Shade #1

Green Lantern #1

Mr. Terrific #1

Red Lanterns #1

Resurrection Man #1

Suicide Squad #1

Superboy #1

More on DC’s new 52

read/RANT

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

4 thoughts on “Review: Legion Lost #1

  1. I’m probably going to give it a few more issues before making my mind if I keep going or not, but if those questions don’t get an answer or even if it does yet they don’t seem to have any consequences with the rest of DC at all (if it were present time that the events happened) then I’ll probably drop it.

      • Yeah, that was all. It was just a passing reference but it was interesting given it’s role in launching the New 52.

        All in all, this issue was a pretty flawed offering, but there was enough interesting stuff and potential for future stories that I enjoyed it and want to read more.

Leave a Reply

