Review: Green Arrow #1

I would like to introduce you to DC’s newest hero: Justin Hartley!  Not really, of course.

SPOILER WARNING!

As a fan of the recently ended show of Smallville, I just want to say WOW!  I haven’t mentioned the costumes before, but I just can’t ignore how much that cover art makes me think about Justin Hartley.  Green Arrow is losing his more Robin Hood styled outfit and seems to be greatly modeled now after the Smallville version.  Even his mask on this cover appears more like glasses than it does a mask to go along with Hartley’s version having worn.  That is a bit misleading though for in the actual pages the mask does look like the classic domino mask.  Even so, I can’t help but think they are trying to appeal to Smallville and Justin Hartley fans with this design.  He even has lost his iconic mustache and beard!

Getting to the actual story though, we start off with Emerson complaining about part of Queen Industries (Q-Core) struggling to compete with Wayne Tech, LexCorp, and Holt Industries.  He then goes into bashing Oliver Queen himself while Ollie is listening in via a satellite link while working as Green Arrow in Paris.  As Green Arrow scopes the city out, he soon comes across three villains who apparently are famous and post videos of themselves on You Tube?  Really, that feels like a weak way to try and get attention from You Tube fans into the series.  Either way, a fight soon breaks out and we see another new thing taken from the episodes of Smallville: a change to Green Arrow’s bow.  I didn’t read a lot of Green Arrow before the relaunch, but I was always under the impression that he hated compact bows.  Here he pulls out a small handle that soon expands itself into a compact bow, again much like Hartley’s Green Arrow from the show.

To get down to it on this issue, the fight never dragged me in.  It never gave me any sense of dread for Ollie or excitement and was filled with quips that never really felt like a home run.  The best thing about it was we got to see some cool trick arrows that the character is known for and a few other devices, but that is about it.  Oh, and I really should mention what seems to be two new characters who support Oliver Queen as Green Arrow.  One is Naomi who sits at a computer all the time helping Green Arrow as she can through computers.  Basically, Naomi felt like Ollie’s personal Oracle and I really don’t know how I feel about that one.  The other is Jax who apparently was hired by Queen mainly to make him cool new gadgets to use and generally seems against the idea of vigilantism.

Basic line, this issue was okay, but nothing grand and like Detective Comics #1 it does not feel like it deserves to be Green Arrows brand new start in this new 52.  At least the comic generally ends on a nice note where Jax is questioning why Queen goes out as Green Arrow instead of throwing police fund raisers and why he (Jax) was hired to make weapons and devices for Green Arrow to use.  Oliver gives Jax the answer that he was hired for Oliver wanted someone designing him new toys who wasn’t doing it just to find new ways to hurt people, and that he does what he does for he doesn’t want to sit on the side lines as people around him get hurt and die.

Action Comics #1

Animal Man #1

Batgirl #1

Batwing #1

Detective Comics #1

Hawk and Dove #1

Justice League International #1

Men of War #1

OMAC #1

Static Shock #1

Stormwatch #1

Swamp Thing #1

More on the New 52

read/RANT!

About xxadverbxx

I'm a fan of comics. I use to love DC, but events pretty much starting with the New 52 had pushed me off of them for years. Lately though titles like Gotham Academy and We Are Robin have brought me back to them. I'm much more still a Marvel fan though at this moment who I moved to since New 52 slowly kept pushing me away from DC. Often a fan of X-Men titles while I've really been loving Spider-Gwen series. Film wise I'm upset at DC though I really really want them to do good. At least their TV series are mostly enjoyable (though Arrow has dipped in quality), while I'm a huge fan of the Marvel films. Also, I still really hate Dan Didio and still view him as at least most of what has been going wrong with DC comic wise lately.

11 thoughts on “Review: Green Arrow #1

  1. Having not read this (and not planning to, as I despise Smallville in its entirety), it sounds like they are trying to mash up Smallville Green Arrow, and Solid Snake.

    Naomi sounds a lot like Chloe Sullivan from Smallville, but also a weird combination of Otacon and Mei Ling from Metal Gear Solid. Likewise, Jax evokes Natasha Romanenko and Sigint from MGS1 and MGS3, respectively.

    • I wasn’t even thinking Naomi as the comic’s Chloe. But then Chloe did kind of turn into Smallville’s version of Oracle… Wasn’t even thinking about Jax in terms of MGS (great game series as it is).

      Either way, I’ll try to give this another few issues though before deciding if I want to give up on it or not. At this rate though I think it will be another that I’ll drop.

      • I thought Jax reminded me of the MGS games the moment I heard the name and what his role in the book is. Naomi is pretty much oracle 2. 0, or maybe Oracle 4.0 after Barbs, Wendy, and Chloe. Funny how Chloe fans are getting angry and upset over Naomi being the new oracle as if she was the first to be Oracle.

        Anyway I like this review, it manages to talk about the book from start to finish literally and capture the key moments.

  2. Couldn’t agree more with your comments sir. I’m one of those guys that’s using the DC relaunch as a way to get into reading comics more regularly (I’m a casual fan at best) so I’m not overly familiar with the character.

    To me the story felt flat, like there was no real threat to Green Arrow during what should have been big moments to hook me in as a new reader. Also while reading this it felt very much like Iron Man mixed with Batman. Not that that’s necessarily a bad thing but for me it stopped the issue from feeling like anything other than a rehash of other ideas.

    I guess the books biggest flaw is that none of the characters really stand out as memorable. Even Ollie’s reasons for doing what he does because of something that happened in his past that he was unable to prevent felt luke warm and tacked on for the sake of it.

    I’ll give it a few more issues to pick up but right now it’s not doing it for me.

    • Yeah, You Tube celebrity baddies was just a horrible idea. I also didn’t bring it up in the post but I just find it odd how Queen goes from being on that conference call to fighting with no notion of him hanging up and almost made me wonder if Emerson and the board was hearing Oliver’s comments as Green Arrow. That was until near the very end when his secretary tosses in the tidbit that Ollie did hang up on the board out of the blue. Makes me wonder if it was a quick add in by Krul as he completely forgot about the conference call or just bad writing.

      In slight defense though for the issue, I do think we got a very slight feel of Queen being a “liberal crusader” in his talk with Jax at the end when they were talking about why Jax was working on items for Green Arrow. As for his reasons behind what he does, I’m not fully sure if it was how it was written or how it was drawn that made it feel so weak and tacked on, but I really didn’t get any sense of emotion out of it like you would expect.

    • It’s early days and the book could definitely improve if given a chance but as you say it would need to do so quickly. With 52 titles due out close to each other people are going to be pretty choosy about what they decide to stick with!

  3. I’ve read quite a bit of post-Quiver GA and I have to say that it seems like they’ve stripped away a lot about what I liked about the character and replaced it with something fairly uninspiring. Not just because they’ve Smallville-ised GA, this issue felt a lot like a television episode … and not the good kind, but the generic kind. That said, there wasn’t anything overly offensive about this issue. It just didn’t stand out in any way.

  4. I truly appreciate this post. I�ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again.

    • Well, sorry it took so long to find but glad we could help! We don’t get around to reviewing every issue, but we do get quite a few out. Plus, there still is the weekly DC “One Sentence Review” though if you want to keep at least slightly up to date.

      That, and we usually try to hit most new #1s that come out at least.

Leave a Reply

