Pi’s Comics – November 24th

Okay, so back with actual reasons this week, here’s what I’m getting!

Astonishing Spider-Man/Wolverine #4

Well, Marvel has this listed, but Diamond doesn’t. I honestly don’t know why. It’s kind of weird more than anything. I’m getting this though because it’s really good. I love the Spider-Man Wolverine dynamic. They both are popular, sure, but they also hate each other. Spider-Man thinks Logan takes everything too seriously and is too willing to kill, while Wolverine thinks Peter takes stuff too lightly and isn’t able to go far enough to get the job done. Plus, Spidey’s Marvel’s perpetual young guy in that even after 58 years, he’s still the new kid on the block. Certain things have tried to semi-rectify this, but he’s still the newbie. Wolverine on the other hand is the guy who was doing this before anyone and he’s the grumpy old man. This series is basically them bickering while they try to prevent the end of the world. It’s fun if you like Spider-Man arguing with Wolverine.

Avengers Vs. Pet Avengers #2

The first issue was fun, and I still love the Pet Avengers. I know it’s absurdly gimmicky, but it’s fun. Somehow, it finds that perfect medium of not being and being in continuity. It references modern things, while keeping, to an extent, with the old. For instance, they referenced the Illuminati and hiding the Infinity Gems, something much closer to modern continuity, but then had Thanos come in, Thanos having been dead at the time. It’s not in continuity, from what I can tell, but it’s still trying to show that they know the continuity, to an extent. Really, though, I read it because of Lockheed. I freaking love Lockheed.

Chaos War: Alpha Flight #1

Congratulations, Carlos the Dwarf. Your beloved Alpha Flight returns. I’ve never cared too much for Alpha Flight, but I still like the team and am getting the Chaos War tie-ins. Um, yeah. Woo.

Deadpool #29

Oh, come on! I really don’t need to explain this, right? Still, this arc has been both annoying and fun. Some of it shows Way cares about Deadpool, but part shows that he doesn’t care about past continuity and he wants to do his own thing. It’s kind of annoying, but what can you do?

Deadpool Pulp #3

Okay, this one is listed in Diamond, but not Marvel. Hmm… Well, I’m getting it because it’s Deadpool, but Pulp hasn’t been particularly good. It’s been pretty meh in fact at best. It’s trying too hard to copy Way’s style of Deadpool with a noir kick that really doesn’t work at all. For Way’s way to work, it has to be Way writing it, and even then it only works some of the time. His having two voices is really stupid, and something I haven’t been a fan of. It’s something started in Way’s stuff and has spread from there, including to this. It’s annoying. I think a parody of noir could work, but this is trying too hard to be both a parody of noir (with Deadpool’s craziness and insanity) and an actual noir (with the much darker tones and colors). It fails in that it ends up being neither funny nor dark, but stupid. But it’s Deadpool…

Deadpool Team-Up #887

Thor? F-yeah! This looks to be entertaining. Hopefully, it won’t be messed up too badly, but we’ll see. I honestly don’t remember the Captain Britain issue they did with the exact same creative team (well, artist and writer, anyway), but hopefully it works.

Secret Avengers #7

This’ll probably be dropped soon. The newest arc hasn’t been impressive so far. Shang Chi was never a character I really liked a whole lot. In general, I think I was most annoyed by his beating up Spidey back in the day, when Spidey should have mopped the floor with him. I don’t care how great a fighter he was, he shouldn’t have done as well as he did against Spider-Man. Oh well.

Uncanny X-Force #2

Really looking forward to this. This was the best Deadpool story I’ve read in a while. It was just spectacular, with pretty good art and a non-stop talking Deadpool who was always trying to be witty. Plus, it’s Wolverine, Deadpool, Fantomex (and Psylocke and Archangel, but f-them) against Apocalypse, where they’re trying to kill him once and for all. That’s pretty cool. I really hope the series keeps up the good work.

About pilovesdeadpool

I love Deadpool far too much for my own good. I like other things too, though. If you really want to know something about me, just ask. I never liked these, because I never know what to say.

One thought on “Pi’s Comics – November 24th

Leave a Reply

