Pi’s Comics – November 10th

Another week of comics comes again and I give you my list of the comics I’m getting this week. Fun! The art below is by Chris Giarrusso, the guy who made Mini-Marvels, and while this was copied from his website, it actually is a crayon sketch I own and is special as it is the first piece of Deadpool art I’ve gotten.

Ant-Man & The Wasp #1

What is this? It’s Eric O’Grady and Hank Pym, the Irredeemable Ant-Man and the man who was originally Ant-Man but has since taken his dead (for now) wife’s name and become the Wasp.  They have very little in common (pun not intended) except for that Hank (well, technically Skrull-Hank Pym, but whatever) created the Ant-Man suit (the G.I.Ant-Man suit) and Eric stole it (well, someone else did, but he eventually stole it from him), leaving me to believe that their meeting up would consist mostly of Hank being pissed that Eric (a generally horrible human being) is going around with his former name. Hopefully, it’ll live up to its premise.

Chaos War: Thor #1

Okay, let me be honest, I’m getting this because it’s a Chaos War tie-in. I’m not necessarily too fond of Chaos War as there are certain things that annoy me about it, but this could be interesting. Still, I don’t have high expectations, so you know, whatever.

New Avengers #6

This has been my favorite title since the Heroic Age for a couple of reasons. First, it’s not Secret Avengers, which is a team book lacking in making the team interesting, making it not a book that really intrigues me very much. Second, it’s not Avengers, which is a book that had a ridiculously complicated, convoluted and crazy plot that really annoyed me mostly because of time travel. Instead, this has been a book that has had a great team dynamic and great characterization with Bendis really making each character feel unique and with a certain attitude. Also, the plot, while somewhat convoluted and crazy, isn’t a stupid time travel one that I don’t understand what’s going on, but one where we just don’t know the villain for most of it, and now we’ll get the big fight that it’s been leading up to. That’s why it’s my favorite Avengers comic in the Heroic Age.

The Thanos Imperative #6

Well, I can’t say that the ending of Thanos Imperative 5 really shocked me, considering how much I’ve praised the writers for knowing Thanos. After he finally had peace, all he wants now is to go back to that, which makes sense. So of course he’s going to side with the bad guys if the bad guys can end up killing him. It’s ending in this issue, but I really don’t feel it’s near a conclusion. I still don’t know how they’re going to resolve Galactus being in both this and Chaos War and being important to both, especially considering how much power he’s been putting into fighting the Galactus Engine and the Cthulhu-like many-angled ones and stopping them from getting into this dimension. Hopefully, it’ll have a good ending and lead Marvel to not make another cosmic event for a little while so that everything can cool down and they can hopefully make an event in the future that is like Annihilation in that it’s really good. Marvel’s been failing to copy Annihilation for a while now, and hopefully this’ll be their last attempt for right now.

About pilovesdeadpool

I love Deadpool far too much for my own good. I like other things too, though. If you really want to know something about me, just ask. I never liked these, because I never know what to say.

2 thoughts on “Pi’s Comics – November 10th

  1. I’ve given up on Spider-Man for right now. BND and OMD just made me give up on Spider-Man. If I had more disposable income, then I might try out Spider-Man, but I don’t care enough about Spider-Man’s comics right now to really try. I’m getting the Chaos War tie-in and the Ant-Man because they’re limited, but Spidey has far too many comics out for me to consider getting his ongoing.

Leave a Reply

