Pi’s Comics – October 6th

Well, this is an exciting time. A new month and thus the comic cycle repeats and I can get the next issues of my favorites. The reviews are also up now, as of Wednesday at 11:56 PM (EST), so check ’em out!

Chaos War #1

Of course, I can also get the first issues of new things too. While I missed out on Prince of Power #4 (because the comic shops didn’t have it, not because I didn’t want it), I do know Herc is apparently back, and I am at a loss for the new event. I really don’t know what to expect from Chaos War, maybe because I know next to nothing about it. All I know is that it is Herc doing stuff written by Pak and Van Lente. Review here.

Deadpool MAX #1

I honestly don’t know what to expect from this issue, so I really can’t say anything about it. It’s a MAX issue? It will be violent and obscene? I really don’t know. I’m hoping it will be funny and won’t try and overdo the violence just because it can. Review here.

Deadpool: Pulp #2

The second of three Deadpool related issues this week, and the only one that is part of a series before this week. The first issue of Pulp was, well, weird. I haven’t read any of the Noir stuff (like Spider-Man Noir or X-Men Noir), so I have no idea how related to those it is. There’s still the Way voices (aka the yellow box and the other one), but it really isn’t the same. Maybe it’s the art, which is in a style I’ve never liked. There’s far too many seemingly pointless dots and lines everywhere and it really is annoying. Oh well. It’s Deadpool. I’m getting it. Review here.

Taskmaster #2

I didn’t get Age of Heroes #3 which apparently ties Taskmaster into this, so I might have to get that at some point. All I can say about this series is get it. It’s awesome. The first issue was awesome. Just fantastic. I love Taskmaster and he is so great here. Taskmaster once trained the Black Choppers, whose description is: A motorcycle gang comprised solely of extraterrestrials doing the arcane bidding of some unknown conspiratorial organization. That is amazing. Or there’s the Militiamen: Fringe survivalist group seeking to remake the United States “as the Founding Fathers intended,” i.e., with 18th-century-level technology and culture. Taskmaster is great in it. When the groups come after him, while he doesn’t remember a lot, he still is able to kill them all, while slightly witty. He’s not a comedian, but he still is a great talker. Just get the series. You won’t regret it. Review here.

Uncanny X-Force #1

It has Deadpool. That’s enough for me. Although there are other reasons too. I do like Fantomex, despite his silliness and my general dislike of Grant Morrison. The owner of the comic shop I go to here in Troy got a preview copy (probably because today is Uncanny X-Force day, whatever that means) and he really liked it. Plus, the plot is them trying to kill Apocalypse. That’s pretty cool, right? Although, I will admit that Fantomex bears a passing resemblance to Storm Shadow. Review here.

Young Allies #5

I’ve gotten the entire series so far, but I haven’t always gotten on time because I keep forgetting about it. I think it’s because it makes me think of some World War II style-esque comic based off of the fact that there was a team called the Young Allies back in the 1940’s. I’m reading the series because I love Gravity, and he is in this series. The series itself is decent, although I’m just wondering why nobody else can stop the Bastards of Evil. I mean, I realize that the Young Allies are teaming up and that they would do this in their own series, but seriously? It doesn’t make sense given the scale of the attacks described. Where are the Avengers after the Radioactive Man rip-off blows himself up at Ground Zero? There was a ton of controversy over the building of an Islamic community center a few blocks away from Ground Zero because it was Islamic and there are some Muslims who are terrorists. The Bastards are terrorists and he literally blew up on Ground Zero. There should be far more heroes looking for the Bastards (heck, villains too maybe, considering the Spidey 9/11 issue with Magneto, Doom and Kingpin crying), and not just Gravity, Arana, Nomad, Firestar and Toro. Sigh… It’s an okay series if you want to get it, but I’m pretty much only getting it because of Gravity. Review here.

Secret Six #26

This is a great series. Period. I love Secret Six. I may not be a fan of Calafiore (his art is atrocious and I hate it more and more every time I look at it), but Gail Simone is a fantastic writer and I really enjoy the characterizations that arise when she writes. While I don’t necessarily keep up with the rest of DC, I do keep up with Secret Six. If you aren’t reading it, and you enjoy good comics, then shame on you. Pick it up. Review here.

COMICS I AM NOT GETTING

Avengers Academy #5

I’ve heard good things about the series on this blog. I just don’t think I can care about any more new teen superheroes who are inexperienced and thus trained in how to use their powers by the people who think they’re right. Avengers: The Initiative, the book this is a sequel to (in the same way that Avengers is the sequel to Mighty and Secret the sequel to Dark) was good because it showed how bad things were with the Initiative. Oh, sure it showed some successes that the program had, but more often, it showed the teachers or students messing up royally. The first 12 issues are great for seeing the transformation of Cloud 9. Then, it tried to do the same thing. Again. And it was less interesting. And now I don’t care about the premise anymore.

Orson Scott Card’s Ender in Exile #5

Let me explain something about Ender’s Game. I think that it is merely okay. Really. Sure, Orson Scott Card wrote a book that people loved, but I merely think it is okay. I read Ender’s Game and liked it. I even picked up Ender’s Shadow, which is kind of like a sequel, but more than that, it is a companion book to Ender’s Game. I even read the next few books in the Shadow series. But eventually it got boring. I’ve read Ultimate Iron Man, both parts, and it’s been meh. I enjoyed Shadow Complex’s game aspect, but the story was merely meh also. I may get flak for this, but I don’t think Orson Scott Card is a great writer. He’s okay, and he’s successful, but I don’t think he’s great. I think Ender’s Game should have ended with Ender’s Game. That is a good story in and of itself, but shouldn’t be more than just one book. It had a beginning, a middle, and an end and was a complete story. I want them to stop milking the Ender story for all they can and just let it be. Sigh…

Spider-Man: Back in Quack #1

Sigh… Really? Really? Where do I start? You know what, no. I’m not going to do this. I am a small fan of Howard the Duck (oh god, the movie was retarded, but the comics were, well, interesting), and I really have to say that this looks okay, but more stupid than anything. Then again, it’s Howard the Duck. Oy.

About pilovesdeadpool

I love Deadpool far too much for my own good. I like other things too, though. If you really want to know something about me, just ask. I never liked these, because I never know what to say.

3 thoughts on “Pi’s Comics – October 6th

  1. X-Force was great. This is how I like Deadpool, the comic relief and not being overexposed. Bringing back Holocaust next issue only enhances my enjoyment of this.

  2. Yes, it was. It was my most enjoyable comic this week, with Taskmaster coming in a close second. Deadpool was much better in Uncanny X-Force than in either MAX or Pulp. Although I’d have to say that another book for him to be in does kind of qualify as overexposure, although he wasn’t overused in the book itself.

  3. I actually only picked up this and PULP (I forgot Slott’s Spider-man one-shot came out this week) and have to agree it’s sort of a bizarre story. Maybe a little dull at worst but it feels unique.

    Of course the reason I picked it up was that Stryfe was in it but I’m lost to why they look alike as well since they aren’t brothers in the story.

Leave a Reply

