Who is Hawkeye?

I’m getting excited about the up-coming Avengers movie.  First, Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy the Friggin’ Vampire Slayer) signed on to direct.  Then we got some pretty exciting leaks of concept art for Cap and Thor.  Now, Entertainment weekly is reporting that “The Hurt Locker”‘s Jeremy Renner is close to signing on to play Hawkeye.

How’s that for casting?  Perfect, says I!  Renner has the intensity to play Hawkeye.  But he also has the charisma to make the sometimes unsympathetic character likable.

4 Responses to Who is Hawkeye?

  1. YWz says:

    Renner was awesome in the hurt locker. Good choice. Did you hear about nathon fillion as hank pym.

  2. lebeau says:

    I’ve heard rumors. But nothing concrete. I’m a big Fillion fan. (Not big enough to watch Castle, but almost). I’ve never really cared about Pym in any of his identities. But I’m all for Fillion being in the movie.

    Honestly, in my book, Whedon could fire everyone else and just fill out the cast with his regular actors and I’d be thrilled. Whedon + Avengers = win.

  3. YWz says:

    Yeah I haven’t seen Castle either but Firefly is one of the best series of all time. Has whedon been officially confirmed for avengers?

    • lebeau says:

      Castle looks harmless enough. If I liked that kind of TV show, I’m sure I’d enjoy it just for Fillion.

      I didn’t take to Firefly right away. It wasn’t until I watched it in re-runs on the Sci Fi channel that I came to appreciate it (and Fillion). I enjoyed Serenity. I was shocked how much I liked Slither. I even enjoyed Fillion on Desperate Housewives even though he was woefully underused. And of course, Dr. Horrible was awesome.

      Based on the way EW presented the story, it sure seemed Whedon is attached. But I missed the announcement if they made one.

      All the trades seem to be calling it Whedon’s Avengers. But at one point I was looking forward to Whedon’s Wonder Woman and that tragically fell apart.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

