As a Note

Hello, faithful reader(s)!  Cal here.

Normally, it being new comics day, you’d be seeing new reviews popping up pretty soon.  Unfortunately, a recent trip to the ER has rendered me unable to drive and, uh, well, basically broke.  I’ll still be posting up reviews from time to time, thanks to some help from a few friends, and with hope, our other fabulous reviewers will help fill the void.

However, I’ll be starting another column here, titled THE UNREAD CANON.

No, I’m not talking about the canon of either the Marvel or DC Universe.  I’m talking about the CANON.  The stories that you say, “You have to read this!” to your friends whilst waving a stack of floppies about like a mad(wo)man.  I’m talking about the stories that define a character, the runs that set up titles as meaningful or important.

I’m sure you can think of a dozen… and I’d LOVE to hear recommendations.  Right now, the three that will probably be coming up first are Garth Ennis’ Punisher MAX, Robert Kirkman’s The Walking Dead and Brian Michael Bendis’ Ultimate Spider-Man.  Initially, I’ll be examining them one arc at a time, but we’ll see how that pacing works.

I’m focusing on things I HAVEN’T read before, or at least that I haven’t read much of, which is why some classics you might love aren’t on the list.  Of course, they also could be missing because I haven’t heard enough recommendations to go check them out.

Have a favorite?  Sound off in the comments and let me know what books you think I should look at next!

I hope you all have a fantastic week!

– Cal

3 thoughts on “As a Note

  1. Sorry to hear about your condition….

    And for your ne column:
    – Alan Moore “Swamp Thing”
    – Grant Morisson “Animal Man”
    – Kirkman “Invincible”
    – Robinson “Starman” (must read!!!!)
    – McKeever “Spiderman loves Mary Jane”
    -etc.

  2. Creep, I’ve read (and loved) Animal Man and Starman, so I won’t go over those – though perhaps one of my companions here will – but Swamp Thing and Invincible are both definitely worth going over here, and Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane is a pretty inspired choice.

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

