Review: Hulk #12

Hulk #12

Oh, lord. This comic will upset people. It shouldn’t, but it will. As I’ve said several times, Loeb is writing a modern Stan Lee comic, full of bombastic action, corny lines, cool stunts, and fun. This is, as I’m sure Loeb will agree, fun fluff. It’s not hurting or helping anyone, just trying to entertain. As someone who reads about 20 books a month, I feel these types of comics are necessary. They’re a good, quick ice-breaker.

Something about that upsets people. I don’t know why. If you were upset when Rulk punched Uatu (Rulk even mentions that in this issue, a bit of a wink to the reader), you are going to be steaming after this. As you may or may not have known, Hulk died last issue. What? You didn’t hear about that in the news? No, because we’re dealing with a cosmic game of chess between gods. Anything can happen, and I do mean anything. Rulk pushes the limits of what he can achieve. Oh, it was also revealed that Rulk can absorb energy. That’s why he’s so powerful.

We’ve been promised the big Rulk reveal in the next installment, Incredible Hulk #600. I’ve thought for the longest time that Rulk is this guy. We get a lot of clues in this issue:

Rulk has known Hulk for a long time

Hulk left Rulk with a broken heart

Hulk made “us all suffer,” said Rulk

I haven’t read a lot of Hulk. Anyone want to piece that together? Anyway, get your fluff where you want to, but with the zany antics and the beautiful art, Hulk isn’t a bad place to get your fluff.

Grade: B

For more comic goodness, go here.

15 thoughts on “Review: Hulk #12

  1. Well, and I know we’ve discussed it before, but I like even my fluff to either not fit into continuity (where they can do almost anything and it is okay) or it just doesn’t break from the pre-established events. So, I’d rather get fluff in Wolverine: First Class, which isn’t serious, lots of fun, and has art that I really like, and is completely out of continuity, but generally keeps things the same (like characters and how they act) then from Hulk, which is similar, but being in continuity, also just makes no sense and defecates on the pre-established events. Sure, it’s fluff, and the defecation can be funny, but, well, I like my fluff defecation free.

    Anyway, what I wanted to say was that I am really pissed, because, being the fan of Deadpool that I am, I have to pick up Hulk in August (and whenever else) because he is going to be in it. I really don’t want to pick up Hulk again, but because of Deadpool, I’ll do almost anything. I even picked up Wolverine: Origins with Steve Dillon artwork (which makes me throw up in my mouth whenever I see it) because it had Deadpool. So I guess I have to read the comic that killed Jeph Loeb as a writer for me again.

  2. Oh, lord. You missed my point. The point was to not criticize fluff comics. There’s no reason. I’ve read Wolverine: First Class. I think it’s a useless comic, but I wouldn’t say that because it’s just harmless fluff. There’s no reason for it.

    Yeah, I saw that on Hulk #14. Too bad it’s Churchill on the art and not somebody better.

  3. No, I understand that you don’t want people to criticize fluff. When it actually is in continuity, however, it means it can’t completely be fluff. Fluff in its purest form is just fun, with no context for the story, and where anything can happen, but since it is out of continuity, it is okay. What if? stories are good examples, I think. Phoenix can destroy the universe, and it’s fine. Loeb, though, can do things like kill off the Abomination, have a red Hulk and a blue Abomination, have Rulk punch Uatu, have Rulk lift Thor’s hammer, and people have to take that into account when writng other things.

    Basically, I think you can criticize fluff in certain contexts. This is one of them.

  4. So we should all criticize Stan Lee comics?

    Magneto lifted Thor’s hammer.

    Plenty of goofy shit went on in Lee’s books, and his comics are the foundation of continuity.

    You can get mad at fluff, but it seems silly since we all love some sort of fluff. To me, even the Hulk stuff is harmless. Believe me, continuity can be followed or forgotten. I can almost guarantee you that most, if not all, of the Hulk stuff will be ignored in continuity.

    And remember, some elseworlds can become continuity, like Kingdom Come. Every DC book is headed in that general direction.

  5. When Stan wrote, no comics were serious. As comics have evolved as a medium, they have gotten more serious in general. So, in that vein, Loeb might be trying to stay in the past (while of course ignoring the past). Oh, and please don’t start with DC. One main reason I read Marvel more than DC is the continuity stuff in DC (not only main reason, just one).

    And again, I wouldn’t get mad at full-blown fluff, but would at semi-fluff that is in continuity. Or, I’ll get mad at semi-fluff from today, when more comics are serious, then at semi-fluff from the past when everything was semi-fluff.

  6. I don’t think it’s fair to criticize Hulk for not being as serious as other comics. After all, how do you think comics got serious in the first place? Comics will get silly again when it’s popular enough.

    And I wouldn’t say Loeb ignore continuity in Hulk. His latest arc was a remake-of-sorts of an old comic, and he specifically referenced continuity that a lot of fans have probably forgotten.

    Your constant continuity upsets makes you a Brainiac. To find out why, and hopefully have a good time, read this:

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=21274

  7. No matter how comics started to become serious (it is irrelevant), the fact remains that they currently generally are. So, with Hulk, it is annoying. Loeb doesn’t ignore, as much as pick and choose. Now, I can’t say what stuff he has done recently, as I haven’t read Hulk, but from what I can tell, Loeb takes a small thing and makes it a lot bigger. A small, insignificant event turned into something bigger. Which would be fine if he didn’t ignore more of the bigger stuff.

    I am not a Brainiac. I really am not. Yes, I want things to be in continuity, but, well, if you see how I read comics, you’ll know I don’t keep things in pristine condition. I don’t know everything, just a lot about things in general. Plus, I love comics that aren’t serious. I really do. But, none of the ones I love really are in continuity, or do stupid things that mess with continuity. Oh, and please do not cast me into stereotypes, because I can almost guarantee you that I don’t fit into them.

  8. I just hate stupidity. I like silliness, but not stupidity. I’ve found recent Loeb stuff to be stupid. I also get annoyed very easily. I know what I am trying to say, and I believe I understand what you are trying to say, but there seems to be some failure to communicate. Oh well.

  9. In the immortal words of Strother Martin:

    “What we have here is a failure to communicate.”

    Apparently so.

    I’m not trying to convince you to not hate Hulk. Let me clear that up.

    All I said first was to not criticize fluff.

    You don’t feel that way. Fine.

    Then I tried to diffuse things, and I just called you a Brainiac and posted that article because I thought it was interesting/

    Then you came back with “Don’t stereotype me.”

    I never meant to do any such thing, or even argue, really. Hulk, or any fluff for that matter, is not worth arguing about.

    Grant Morrison on the other hand… 🙂

  10. That whole post was rude, unnecessary, and untrue.

    Please, take your weird-looking comments elsewhere.

    Loeb > Your Mom

  11. Remember that “No” Captain Picard gave in First Contact?

    Here’s the youtube link:

    Anyway, in response to your comment:

    Nooooooo!

Leave a Reply

