Review: Batman: Battle for the Cowl #3

Batman: Battle for the Cowl #3 (of 3)

Perhaps your enjoyment of Battle for the Cowl depends on your opinion of Tony Daniel’s art. I find his art to be mediocre and forgetful, which is pretty much how I’ve felt about Battle for the Cowl, up to this point. This issue made me realize that BFC is indeed bad, very bad. But this series is still boring to talk about, so I’ll try to keep it entertaining:

On page two, look at how Black Canary and Huntress are standing. Who stands like that? Huntress is practically turning her torso completely around to look at us. No, Daniel is just giving us unnecessary ass-shots. Thanks, Daniel. I think I creamed my pants.

Nightwing sees “Too Late” and the bat symbol on fire. Oh, how I love that trick. I would rather see Jason Todd taking the time to write out those words and the bat symbol, using gasoline. How can he write so legibly? What a waste of time, just to make one panel look “cool.”

Tim Drake speaks paragraphs worth of words to himself, even though Daniel used captions earlier in the issue. Maybe Drake is schizophrenic?

Spoilers! Jason Todd falls to his “death” in the water. How original.

Every character is so generic. None of them have any voice whatsoever.

Daniel’s art is extra bland. At least in “Batman RIP” he rendered some memorable images. Nothing is striking at all in this issue.

Spoilers! There is no good reason for Dick to put on the cowl, not even from a story sense. Earlier in the issue, Dick explains the reason why he didn’t become Batman, because Bruce told him not to, and then at the end, he just said he realized that he was Batman.

Spoilers! There is no good reason for Damian to become Robin. He doesn’t even get a cool moment. You just see him standing there, it’s not even clear that he is the new Robin.

Anyway, this issue was bad and boring. I suppose there’s a few good things about it, but I certainly would have been fine if I never read it. Oh, and I would love it if DC used the quote: “Thanks, Daniel. I think I creamed my pants.” That would really promote the series!

Grade: D

For more comic goodness, go here.

4 thoughts on “Review: Batman: Battle for the Cowl #3

  1. Hmmm. Well after all the hype I decided to buy this issue to find out who was putting on the cowl. I enjoyed it, but then again I haven’t read the first 2 issues, and my excitement was all self induces excitement, not story induced.
    I think Alfred should be the new Batman. Or 2 face.

  2. Well, Alfred and Two Face would be a bit more interesting, eh?

    It’s fine that you enjoyed it, but as a longtime Batman fan, it’s just a waste of my time.

    I mean, Spoilers!!!!!

    Nightwing and Damian being the new duo was already shown in Morrison’s recent run. We knew Damian would be Robin at some point because of Batman #666, and we saw Nightwing holding the Cowl after it was lost in Batman #681. This was completely unnecessary.

    Thanks for reading!

  3. ahh, well i’m not a Batman fan. I really appreciate the Bat-family but I have very little time for Bruce. I also didn’t know about Nightwing and Damian as I don’t read the Batman books, which i think probably helped me like this issue.
    I’m just glad it’s not Tim, why on earth he felt the need to put on the bat suit after his experiences with evil future Teen Titans I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

