Review: Hulk #11

Hulk #11 (Variant Cover Edition - Art Adams)

(****)

Perhaps this is your first time visiting read/Rant. If it is, please look around. Just hit that Frank Cho art at the top of the page. Even if you don’t care for my reviews, there are others who post their opinions. So if you have never read one of my Hulk reviews before, it may surprise you that I don’t hate the book. What’s that? This is Internet; why aren’t I bashing Jeph Loeb. I know. It’s shocking. But I have to tell you, for what this book is, it’s a lot of fun.

The last comic I read was Alan Moore’s From Hell. A much better comic than Hulk, but a much darker and dense read as well. What a breath of childish glee this comic is. Jeph Loeb, the worstest horrible icky man ever, according to the Internet, is channeling his inner Stan Lee in this new arc. It’s kind of a remake of Contest of Champions. We got the setup last issue, so naturally we get an all-action smash party here.

The Defenders have been plucked out of time, fighting for their loves, while the Offenders are a bunch of jerks. Basically, if you’re tired of all the darkness that now plagues our superhero titles (I’m looking at you, Dark Reign), this is the book for you. It’s jam-packed with splash pages, groin hitting, and twists that would make M. Night Shymanalan squeal. Oh, and did I mention that this is the book Ed McGuinness was born to draw? So if you’ll let it, Hulk can be a hell of a good time.

7 thoughts on “Review: Hulk #11

  1. Heh. You and your Hulk. I know you love it, and it amuses me. I think it’s fine that you enjoy it, but, well, after explaining Hulk to non-comic fans even, they were wondering what the hell was going on. Yeah, I got non-comic readers to hate Loeb’s stuff. Well, not all of it. Some Loeb stuff is okay, which makes the stuff I dislike stand out even more.

  2. What’s going on? Cosmic Gods using Earth’s champions to eliminate their boredom, The Defenders, back together, fighting for their loves, facing The Offenders, a perfect villainous match, in a fight to the death, of course. Fun is going on!

  3. I really love your reviews, and as an up and coming review site, we were wondering if you would link us if we link you?

  4. Thanks for the kind words. Unfortunately, the man who created this site is MIA. So, I’m not sure we could link you.

    Seventh, what do you think?

  5. We already link to a number of interesting webcomics and review sites and the like, so I see no problem in adding you to the Blogroll. A number of the blogs on the ‘Roll are dead anyway, so it could use a remodel and a trimming… assuming, as Bruce mentions, we can do so.

    That said, toss a link up in this preview and Bruce and I will take a look at the site.

  6. Pingback: Review: Legion of 3 Worlds #4 « read/RANT!

  7. Pingback: how many calories in a turkey sandwich mayo

Leave a Reply

