Review: Secret Warriors #1

Secret Warriors #1 (Variant Cover Edition)

(****)

This was a last minute addition. I couldn’t help but be enticed by this CBR review. A huge reveal was promised. Well, it’s not all that. In fact, SPOILERS! These guys have always been controlled by these guys END SPOILERS! Is it shocking? Yes. Do I care? Kind of. Does it make sense? Not really. Does it make me want to purchase the next issue? Absolutely. Even if the reveal doesn’t impress you or if you’re enraged, this comic undeniably succeeds as a first issue. You are eager for more.

Honestly, I had absolutely no idea how much I missed Nick Fury until I read this issue. I’m completely on board for a S.H.I.E.L.D./HYDRA spy comic right now. This series is cowritten by Bendis, but it’s mostly Jonathan Hickman. Not familiar with the name? That’s because this is his Marvel debut. He’s already made a name for himself on Image books like The Nightly News, but this is his first foray into the mainstream. This is my first Hickman experience and I’m quite impressed. He seems to be a dedicated writer that is not corrupted by an overexposure to the medium. I’d wager you can expect some pretty fresh ideas from the man.  In fact, if you’ve followed the NYCC news this weekend (Or if you’re there, you lucky bastard), you’ll know that he is Millar’s replacement on Fantastic Four.

Stefano Caselli is an interesting artistic choice. It’s not a common espionage look. I am fond of it though. It gives the spy genre a vibrant, almost manga-esque qaulity. Although the manga style may be due to the colorist, Daniele Rudoni. This looks like an UDON comic. An odd look for sure, but Secret Warriors is pretty.

As I said earlier, this is a fine first outing. I read an interview where Hickman said something like “If you try the first issue, we have you for the arc. If we have you for the first arc, we have you for a very long time.” That statement is true so far. And hey, this issue also features shadowy Obama! Catch the Obama fever! Because Marvel demands it!

Leave a Reply

