Review: Invincible #58 – Spoilers!

Invincible #58

(****1/2)

Again, I have to make this a spoiler review because I would just repeat myself if I always have to just talk about how great it is. This issue had a 16-panel grid page structure so a lot was packed in. That made this is a fantastic issue!  So much so, I’m doing a page-by-page review. Enjoy!

Pages 1-2: I’m not the only one who thinks Oliver is going to go bad, am I? This first page provides another creepy moment. “You’ll be faster than me in no time” and then an interesting look on Kid Omni-Man’s face. Then a smoking hot Eve walks out of a prison. I wonder what she did for Mark. Stay tuned!

Pages 3-4: Man do I love Monster Girl! She’s so awesome! Robot may have found a cure? That’s great! The faster the disturbing thought of Robot and Monster Girl having sex gets out of my head the better. Immortal and Dupli-Kate are buying a place together and they may have children? Um, first of all, he’s really old. Does his plumbing still work down there? Second, what happens to Dupli-Kate and pregnancy? Do all of her dupes get pregnant too? Or if only one does, how many does Dupli-Kate want? I guess that’s an easy way to have two kids quick. But what if she has twins? I hope Immortal has the cash!

Pages 5-6: Wow, Eve looks hot again! Sorry, but Ottley’s art is fantastic and FCO’s colors make things phenomenal! Then we check up on Aquarus? Why was this here? I mean, I guess Kirkman is planning to do something with him soon, but this seems like Kirkman abusing the format. He could have made this page better.

Pages 7-8: Eve has a surprise for Mark (What is it already?) and Eve’s nemesis sucks (Which was kind of funny), moving on.

Pages 9-10: Invincible finds out about the surprise (And we still don’t know what it is). Shapesmith tricks Art the tailor. Now that was funny.

Pages 11-12: Darkwing feels bad about killing. So I guess we’re supposed to root for Cecil’s team too, Kirkman? Ah, finally, we learn what this surprise is all about. Invincible is now a hero for hire. Working for prisons and stuff he’ll get money to buy a place for his woman. That’s cool.

Pages 13-14: Mark lays Eve down by the fire. Does this mean we’ll see Allen the Alien? Damn it! No Allen on the next page, it’s just Oliver and his teacher. Was this moment creepy or do I just have a dirty mind? His teacher talks about how much she likes the kid and how she’ll never stop teaching him. That’s ok. He then says “I like you, too”. That’s still fine, but then she asks “Where is your mother?” Doesn’t that sound a bit perverse?

Pages 15-16: Invincible catches one of those Angstrom Levy balls. We then check up on the astronaut with all the squid-aliens. Heck, he even says “soon”. I told you there was a lot in this issue.

Pages 17-18: So this is where Monster Girl supposedly gets cured. But see, I always think of Robot as a villain. Remember when he was all sinister for a moment there? And maybe it’s also because I just read Secret Invasion where the Wasp got something that supposedly helped her, but it then almost killed everybody. I just have a feeling that something bad will come from this.

Pages 19-20: I love the page with all the alternate Mark’s. They all have familiar color schemes. So I guess we’ll always like the same colors no matter what reality? There’s a full on Viltrumite Mark, complete with a mustache. There’s like a burned one, and a non-superhero one, and an Omni-Man one. I think my favorite might be the Morrison/Quitely-esque Mark with the Travis Bickle (From Taxi Driver) hairstyle. And then of course we get the full-page-splash of Angstrom with a funky new costume and he says the classic villain line, “It’s a start”.

Leave a Reply

