Review: Ultimate X-Men #99 – Spoilers!

Ultimate X-Men #99

(**)

I don’t know what to make of this. This series ends next issue. What is its coup de grace? Unnecessary Ultimatum crap! Seriously, this stuff doesn’t mean anything! Hell, they couldn’t even get the death count right last issue (They forgot to mention Beast’s second death)! Having said all that, I’m a sad panda. Coleite only had four issues of freedom and you know what? They were good. He could have had a terrific run on this series. I mean, Ultimate X-Men hasn’t been great, but I enjoyed it. Oh well, I guess my wallet is happy. So for you Ultimatum completionists out there, let me spoil things to save you money.

-Stryker causes havoc (The word not the mutant).

-Sabretooth, Juggernaut, Rogue and Wraith (Guardian, Vindicator, whatever) arrive to save the day.

-Big fight (I didn’t have to tell you that did I?) and Madrox gets Sabretooth back into Magneto’s crew.

-Juggernaut gets hit in the eye (Through that visor thing) with a poison dart and dies (Again? Kind of? Juggernaut could totally come back in Ultimatum) after being touched by Rogue.

-Rogues goes wild! She “kills” a bunch of Sentinel dudes. Stryker is all “Ha Ha! You murderer! You mutants are monsters!”

3 thoughts on “Review: Ultimate X-Men #99 – Spoilers!

  1. Ah, stupid logic. He blamed all mutants for killing his family, killed mutants, and then blamed her for killing people who were trying to kill her. Other than that, I didn’t find it horrible, just not great. Kind of stupid, but meh. Two people who read (skimmed) my copy while I read other stuff hated it for reasons unknown.

  2. No it isn’t terrible, but Coleite’s freedom seems compromised. Hence my “I don’t know what to make of this”. In fact, I originally rated this three stars, but then changed it. It’s forgettable and pointless. I’ll never read it again. Even the art was mediocre due to Brooks’ lack of pages. Nobody’s heart is in this book, but it isn’t awful. Two stars it became.

Leave a Reply

