CGS Super Show Thoughts

Yesterday I got back from a nice weekend in Reading, PA hanging out with geeks aplenty, spending money I shouldn’t have and generally enjoying the hell out of myself. Here’s some highlights.

I picked up a bunch of sketches, but decided that the ones I preordered simply weren’t enough. I added two Galactus sketches to my haul, one by Dave Wachter (www.davedrawscomics.com) and one by the artist behind the Mumblepuss webcomic (www.mumblepuss.com). I also got Ken and Buz from The Living Corpse (www.corpsecomic.com). Pictures of some of the sketches (because my scanner has kicked the bucket) will be at the bottom of this article, as well as on my own blog, Musings from The Alpha Primitive.

I bought stuff. I decided to get the Tori Amos Comic Book Tattoo anthology from Image, which is a whale of a book that could easily be described as a tome. The thing is nearly a foot wide and tall, and close to two inches thick. I’ve read parts of it, and it’s gorgeous. I also picked up a signed copy of the first Mousegard hardcover with a little sketch from David Peterson in it. Haven’t cracked that one open yet; I’ll probably wait until after the move.

Wild Pig Comics was also there with 48 feet of table space full of long boxes. I grabbed issues 2-5 of Trinity, some early issues of a few Marvel Classic Illustrated stuff to try them out (Iliad and Picture of Dorian Gray), as well as some other random stuff to fill in some recent holes. And all of it was fifty cents apiece. I would honestly say that one of the only things I’m going to miss after I move is the fact that I can’t easily make it to the twice annual Wild Pig sales in northern New Jersey.

I also sat in on my first podcast, as myself and my roommate were invited to join Ian Levenstein’s Super Show episode of Comic Timing. We talked about the show for about two hours, and there was a lot of guests and madness and drinking and laughing our heads off at one in the morning in a Days Inn hotel room in Wyomissing, PA. I also threw in a little plug for read/RANT at the end there. It’ll go up as episode 72, and knowing Ian’s posting habits, it might be up by October of 2012.

Charlito (co-host of Indie Spinner Rack) performed a fifteen minute musical about Peter and Bryan of CGS. I can’t really explain it, and I don’t know if I’m ever going to be the same again.

Many other things happened, but I’m not going to write about those things. It was a great time, and a hell of a lot more fun than Wizard World Philly, so by default it was the best con of the year for me, and I can’t wait for next year.

Now, on to the sketches!

Dave Wachter’s Galactus:

The Mumblepuss Galactus:

Ken and Buz’s Mar-Vell

4 Responses to CGS Super Show Thoughts

  1. I love the Mumblepuss Galactus! Aw, devouring worlds has never looked so cute!

  2. Peter says:

    “It was a great time, and a hell of a lot more fun than Wizard World Philly,…”. That is so cool to read!

  3. Ian L says:

    For your information, it’s out today, not 2012! Ha! ;)

  4. Jamie Fickes says:

    Hey buddy,
    Glad you liked the Mumbleactus!
    Thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

