Review: Young Avengers #1

YA1

I’ll try not to spoil things but it could happen, and I warn this will be short too.

Not a lot goes on in this issue.  We get introductions.  Quite a few introductions, very slight bit of action.  A couple romance actions even.  Basically we meet what seems to be the starting roster, and a slight hint at their upcoming opponent.  Art and panels, especially the 4th/5th page vaguely reminds me of Hawkeye.  This is definitely not what I was expecting, but the team does a good job setting up that roster, so hopefully things will get moving a bit more next issue.

read/RANT

5 Responses to Review: Young Avengers #1

  1. wwayne says:

    I love slice of life moments in superhero comics, so, from what you wrote, it seems that Young Avengers lands right in my comic book reading sweet spot.
    DC is still monopolizing my pull list, but next month I’m going to order some Marvel issues, after a long period during which Daredevil was the only Marvel comic book I used to read. Next month I will order 5 DC issues and 3 Marvel ones, and the teams would be level, if I bought Daredevil and Young Avengers month by month instead of waiting for the trade (Young Avengers) or for the italian version (Daredevil). I’m such a complete trade waiter.
    Now you may be curious to know which are the 5 DC issues and the 3 Marvel ones. I’ll tell you that:

    Batman Beyond Unlimited # 15
    Green Arrow # 19
    Katana # 3
    Legends of the Dark Knight # 7
    Swamp Thing # 19

    FF # 6
    Hawkeye # 10
    Thunderbolts # 8

    I’ve been considering giving Thunderbolts a try for a very long time, and after months of indecision I was finally convinced by a review describing this series as a comic book version of The Expendables. That was meant to be an insult and therefore to make readers avoid it, but in my case it had the opposite effect. I love action packed comics, on condition that they have some story in it. And, knowing mr. Way, Thunderbolts # 8 won’t be 100 % action and 0 % story.
    Thank you for keeping this awesome blog alive. This is where I started my 10 months long experience as a commentor, so it would have been very painful for me to see it dying. : )

  2. xxadverbxx says:

    Until Cal gets internet and comes back (if he does) and/or Lebeau gets more time and back into comics, I am read/RANT right now it seems. At least until I get a better off somewhere else ^_^

    Anyways, I do enjoy those slice of life moments, I was just not expecting most of a starting Marvel comic to be like that. Or that matter a fairly new character (late 2011 debut I believe) remind me of Cassandra Sandsmark. It was enjoyable, but really not what I was expecting. I’ll give it a few issues before deciding if I’ll keep up or not.

    My list right now though is quite large. I really need to narrow things down, and hopefully by mid February. This week alone I picked up…

    Deadpool Killustrated
    Young Avengers
    Ultimates
    Avengers (will probably drop)
    Deadpool (may drop)
    Winter Soldier (depends how the new team does)
    Wolverine and the X-Men
    Uncanny Avengers (snuck into my pull list somehow)

    Nightwing
    Superboy

    Other weeks its generally 3 or so issues, but I really won’t be able to keep up with all these a little further in the semester.

    • wwayne says:

      I have a narrow budget too, and this is one of the reasons why I often wait for the trade: I can’t afford to buy all the comics I like month by month. Another reason (the main one, actually) is that I can follow the plot a lot more easily, if I read a story arc in a single session rather than in a 5 – 6 months period.
      Nightwing is one of my favorite comic book characters, so congrats for reading his series.
      Everyone loves Wolverine and the X – Men: in a normal situation, an X in the title would be enought to make me leave it on the shelves, but all this hype is making me consider giving it a try.
      Thank you for your reply! : )

      • xxadverbxx says:

        Scott Summers is one of my favorite characters (even after the mishandling of things in AvX) so X titles often are good for me, especially if they feature him. Nightwing is one of my favorite DC characters, and if you like him I’d suggest you give Winter Soldier a try. It started a little slow, but really picked up well. Plus the character reminds me of Nightwing (some say more like Jason, but I disagree there).

        In terms of comics, trades are nice, but so is keeping up with things as they come out. More so, its one of the ways I decide how good a comic actually is. If, in the next month, I can remember what has been going on, well its a good thing. If I can’t and need to pop open the last issue or read the recap, I’ll drop it. Good example for me is Flash. I was, to a degree, enjoying it and loving the art, but I could never remember what happened in the last issue so I stopped reading. Basically if the story can’t stick with me, its not worth my time.

        Plus, I’m still upset over the lack of Wally West.

  3. wwayne says:

    Thank you for the recommendation, I will probably give Winter Soldier a try! : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,856 other followers

