Review: Avenging Spider-Man 15.1/16

141299_s0

So I gave up Avenging Spider-Man a while back.  While some team ups I really enjoyed, others not so much and I had to cut comics someplace.  Yet here I am, back again.  16 due to the X-Men team up, and 15.1 because of Eric’s comment on my Superior Spider-Man post.  Be weary of spoilers…

Like I often do, I’ll go in reading order (aka 15.1).  It’s an interesting non-team-up read.  We mainly see Doc Oc tearing apart Peter’s life.  Looking down at the kid, calling him names, etc. etc.  In the midst of all that though, in the middle of calling a robbery petty and beneath him though, he suddenly clothesline the thief without a thought.  Something he surprisingly puts to instinct, but I believe is really explained in Superior Spider-Man #1.  The issue goes on with more mocking of Peter’s life, some updates to Parker’s Spider-Man outfit, and then an eventual fight with Doc Oc’s own lab security that brings about the realization we probably all knew.  No matter how much Doc Oc looks down and finds Parker pathetic, the simple fact is he always was better than Doc Oc.

16 comes across pretty interesting as well.  Spider-Man vs. giant Spider and add in the X-Men as giant Spider has mutant DNA.  While the comic hints at some things to come (possibly not just for our new Spider-Man but maybe the X-Men as well), its not the big thing here.  This is one of the first times we really see Doc Oc’s Spider-Man interact with other heroes.  Ones that he’s worked with before.  While its fun to see him actually beat up Wolverine, it was a little saddening seeing the lack of mind probing by Rachel.  All for he pulled enough Peter-like and a push to that psychic moral rule of “don’t read a mind without permission”.  Even so, some of the X-Men at least seem to notice his acting a bit odd.  Hopefully Wolverine will continue to suspect him.

Anyways, a small note in regards to my rant in my Superior review post.  I still retain that outlook.  Maybe issue 700 (that my comic store was sold out of yet again) really explains it, but 15.1 didn’t really give me any real notion why he’d turn good suddenly.  All that it really seemed to show was just that new chance at life junk as well as Peter’s memories to help guide him.  Maybe something else is helping to guide him, but from what I’ve seen that Doc Oc is aware of, well I’m not really buying it.  Seems just too weak and too sudden.  Especially considering how much negative thoughts he carries about, and how he still seems to look down so much on heroes and heroics still.  Oh well.

read/RANT

2 Responses to Review: Avenging Spider-Man 15.1/16

  1. Eric says:

    Maybe you’ll see why it is once you finally get a copy of #700. Funny, many claim to hate it yet it still keeps selling out. 15.1 builds on it; for the answer to your skeptism you need 700 the most. I hope you manage to get a copy and read it; love or hate it, it’s a powerful issue.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I’m not really a fan of the idea as noted by my rant and the follow up here. I have to admit though, so far I’ve actually been enjoying the Doc Oc Spider comics. Even so, I hope this isn’t a thing that is meant to be permanent (I’m assuming not due mostly to the end of Superior) or last a long time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,866 other followers

