RANT: Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe

What can I say?  The title tells all you really need to know about the concept, so what can I say?  Well, I will say that so far this has been a disappointment.

Beware of spoilers here (in case the title doesn’t spoil things already).

Seriously, when I first heard about this early summer I was stoked.  I went to my comic book shop and told them to put it on my pull list and was apparently the first to do so as they hadn’t even heard word on this at the time.  I’ve enjoyed Deadpool for years, and seeing him rip apart everyone in the Marvel universe would be an amazing spectacle.  Not to mention, the weekly release through the month of August would be a thrill for me.  Well, it could have been if it was done right.

The first issue mainly sets things up.  Deadpool being brought in to some world renown shrink who accidentally(?) changes him to a point that he actually decides to go after the rest of the Marvel universe.  To be fair, the first part had some interesting moments, though I’m not really certain a full issue was needed for the set up when this thing is only four issues long.  Not to mention while the appearance of a Watcher adds suspense, when they have it narrating the entire issue, well it bores me to death.  Besides, this is Deadpool!  While the concept of what changed in him and how it happened to bring this about was interesting, well I don’t really think Deadpool needs much of a reason to just start killing everyone.  Not to mention, it seems to kill much of what made him so fun to begin with.

That’s right, his voices are gone.  What made him so unpredictable also helped make him so fun.  In its place the two voices end up replaced by one that drives him into this.  Makes him more focused, makes him deadlier.  All the same, it takes away a lot of what makes Deadpool his crazy self that’s so fun to read.  What really makes this so lackluster to me though isn’t that.  Its the fact I was expecting some pretty awesome fights coming out of this.  Maybe I was foolish to think that when everyone needs to die in four issues…

Each fight is really short.  Lackluster.  One opponent taken down in four (well really three) pages, another group in three again, five if you count the final man standing taking up two pages by themself.  And three more for the Hulk.  The Hulk who is killed in such a way that I didn’t even think was possible!  Seriously, things are being brushed over so quickly that it spoils the fun for me.  I was hoping to see crazy fights like when Deadpool went up against Punisher, or Hawkeye (well, Bullseye as Hawkeye) even if they were shortened down.

I’ll keep reading, and hoping for better, but I’m sure this will continue to disappoint me.  Just too big an event crammed into too small a space.  A different writer may have been able to handle this better for that matter.

read/RANT

IGN’s review holds rather close to mine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,867 other followers

