An iconic DC character to come out as gay?

I heard this as a rumor, and through searching I found this Bleeding Cool bit and a few others that seem to point that it isn’t just a rumor.  Didio apparently has claimed that an iconic and major character in the DC Universe is going to be coming out as being gay.

To begin, well it sounds like it is not going to be one of DC’s characters already established in this new 52 universe.  After all, Didio has apparently said that DC will “reintroduce a previously existing DC character who was previously straight”.  Due to the word “reintroduce”, well it shouldn’t be Bruce Wayne, Clark Kent, Oliver Queen, or even someone like Dick Grayson or Tim Drake.  Still that leaves the question, which iconic/major DC character hasn’t arrived yet in this relaunched universe?

I admit, I’m a bit worried.  Mainly, any news coming from Didio scares the crap out of me.  Really, I’m no means a fan and personally, I don’t think he’s a fan of me.  After all, I did try a few times to friend him on Facebook so I’d be able to see what news he was posting on Facebook.  Five times he denied me… But that is kind of a different story.

Anyways, maybe my fear is misplaced.  DC could do a great job with this, though they will have to tread carefully.  Especially depending on which character ends up being gay (seriously, I hope its not Wally West).  This could also be another rushed decision though made by DC, as many fear this is mostly a publicity stunt to counter the upcoming gay marriage in Astonishing X-Men #51.

Rushed or not, I hope DC is smart enough with this to actually take their time planning everything involved…

Update: Just in case anyone is worried that my take on “reintroduce” is wrong and that it could be a character already in the new 52, Snyder at least has stated on Twitter that it is not Batman.

read/RANT

4 Responses to An iconic DC character to come out as gay?

  1. Rumor has it that it’s Alan Scott.

  2. My vote was for Ra’s al Ghul, but ‘eh’ you win some you lose some.

  3. xxadverbxx says:

    Ra’s? I could see him being bisexual, but him purely gay could put a damper in the mother of Damian and all… Why did you want to put your vote on him?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

